We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Pod Vezi hotel in January 2014”
Review of Hotel Pod Vezi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pod Vezi
Ranked #2 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The staff members were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts were full, tasty and cozy.
Location of this hotel is very good.
Rooms are pretty big, but the walls are thin (we've heard our neighbors, and they've probably heard us)...
We've staid during January 2014.
Charles Bridge is just 20 seconds away from the hotel - but the hotel itself is in a quiet zone.
Hotel has two buildings - both seem to be equally good.
The tram is 2 minutes walk away, and closest metro station is 6 minutes of walk from the hotel.

We definitely recommend to consider this hotel - as a best value for money option.

Room Tip: rooms at the end of hallways are quieter. Since the windows are big, higher rooms have more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koganam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 2,859 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

My family of 3 stayed for 4 nights over Christmas. It was our first time traveling at Christmas and we weren't sure how it would be to be away from home. We felt right at home! Our double deluxe room was a corner room with 4 windows, bright and clean. Best of all it had a separate small room with sliding doors, perfect for our teenage daughter.
Staff was warm and helpful, and there were special Christmas treats in our room each day.

Location was amazing. We felt right in the middle of all the holiday merrymaking in a very good way. We could all just come and go as if we were at home, as we were steps away from everything! Walk to old town and easy tram to the Castle. Could not have been better.

Prague is an absolutely beautiful city. I would love to experience Prague and to stay at the Pod Vesi in every season!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This is a second part of what I have to say about my all-went-wrong night in Prague. For the first and on the whole shocking bits see my "Amour Hotel Residence" entry.
My girlfriend and me found ourselves stuck at Prague airport after having missed our flight to Venezuela. Middle of the night, foreboding sense of having wasted good deal of money and time, cold and drizzle.. you see the picture.
So we took off to the city to find a quiet place to spend the night and try to fix whatever is left first thing in the morning. After rather disconcerting experience at Amour Hotel Residence doorstep, which in itself made for the last straw that night, we stumbled across Hotel pod Vezi. From the first minute, the staff there went an extra mile to make us feel o.k. At the reception desk, whilst checking in, I told the receptionist about the mess we were in. He listened and his reaction was along this line: oh my goodness, that's awful. Let me see what I can do for you. He then checked his computer and went: listen, you guys look like you need an extra nice place tonight. I can upgrade you to one of the best rooms we have, since it's not taken. Same price.
And it was very nice. So was the breakfast, so is the location of the hotel. Now, one tends to take this for granted, after all that's what you get for your money. If you do get it, it's o.k. and you don't necessarily feel the urge to brag about it. If you don't, you feel you were cheated. That's just life, and you don't boast about it either. What makes the difference is the warm touch. That kinda you-guys-shut-the-door-have-a-bath-and-cup-of-tee-and-go-to-bed-and-we'll-be-here-to-look-after-you feeling. And that's what the staff at Hotel pod Vezi were incredibly good at. Eventually I checked out after two nights, and when leaving this place, it was like I stayed with welcoming, supportive yet unobtrusive friends, people who take pains to give you a homy base whilst you're dealing with whatever brought you to Prague. We were already preconditioned by the troubles on our hands, but I can easily see that things may happen to anybody on holiday. And that's to sum up my experience. If you're after the feeling of a human touch in a very nice hotel, there's pretty good chance you get it here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miroslavchabica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Prague was the last stop for NYE 2013 - Pod Vezi was in a prime location, just slightly back from Charles Bridge, walking distance to tonnes of restaurants and sights!

The staff though were the highlight! So helpful and accommodating, assisting us with organising a private tour to Cesky Krumlov and telling us the hot spots for New Years and the places to avoid. Always very friendly, willing to help and make you feel right at home.

Breakfast was great. Had everything you could really ask for. And the coffee was delish! And weren't restricted to the push button coffee machine, the staff would always ask if you wanted a proper coffee (cappuccinos, espressos etc), and you weren't restricted to just one coffee for the morning either! Oh and the bubbly at breakfast on New Years Eve morning was a real treat too.

The room was spacious and very clean. Having fast wi-fi was a pleasure. And the NYE bubbly and fruit platter was a treat as well as a plate of yummy shortbread biccies they left another night. I'd definitely return to Pod Vezi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The location couldn't be better, just steps off the Charles Bridge in the Little Quarter, convenient to every attraction. We chose the double deluxe room which was very spacious. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was high quality, and both times we ate lunch in the restaurant, the food was great. We also enjoyed a glass of wine one evening on the outside balcony at the top of the hotel, overlooking the rooftops of the town. Staying here definitely contributed to our overall wonderful time in Prague.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel and your best bet if you're in Prague to see the sights of the Old Town and the Palace / Cathedral (right by the Charles Bridge). It's a lovely boutique hotel without the pretensions / blandness of larger hotel chains (but without compromising on quality). The hotel is split across a few buildings, we stayed in the U Biskupa restaurant building and the rooms here were tastefully decorated and spacious. Hotel staff were all really helpful too, including suggestions on what to visit with the time we had.

Room Tip: Rooms in the U Biskupa restaurant building are spacious and have been freshly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amichaels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Location - at the Charles bridge beneath the lesser tower. Very convenient but the courtyard is very quiet with no interference from the passing crowds.
Room- spacious, very tasteful and well appointed. The building is in beautiful restored condition and a pleasure to be in. Wi-Fi available free throughout the hotel.
Restaurant - we had breakfasts and a meal at the crepe restaurant. Very good quality and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Fresh squeezed orange juice and espresso a feature of breakfast
Staff - a real highlight! All staff, check-in, restaurant and cleaning we're very friendly and so helpful. They are the main reason why we will stay at this hotel on our next visit. Language not a problem as all staff speak English and understand Australian :) A big thank you to all of them.
Tip- allow the hotel to book your taxi transfers from and too the airport, totally stress free and only CZK 600.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 648 in Prague
3,262 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 648 in Prague
1,798 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 648 in Prague
748 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 648 in Prague
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Vezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Vezi

Address: Mostecka 58/2 | Prague 1 - Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £75 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Vezi 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pod Vezi is 4* boutique hotel and it is set in two historical neighbouring buildings: It is located in the city center right beside the famous Charles Bridge! Despite it is located in the most attractive and visited area of Prague it is proud of its unique quite and calm charm. Free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities are at your disposal in all rooms! All important sightseeings and "must see" like Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Cemetery, National Theater, etc. are in walking distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pod Vezi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing