We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location”
Review of Hotel Pod Vezi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pod Vezi
Ranked #2 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Nice, small clean, intimate and a bit "retrò" style hotel, where you can feel a person more than a number. It's located right next to the famous Carlo's bridge: from my window I could see a corner of the bridge. The great thing is that, although in such a central location, the hotel faces on a small, characteristic and silent square, which is also very fashinating to watch from your room, expecially by night. From there I could reach every place by feet without taking any tram or metro. Hotel staff is super, and I want to mention in particular Ms. Eva and the nice Martin, both of them highly professional and kind; they helped me booking tickets for concerts and guided tours and were always concerned about my stay. English and German are perfectly spoken. What's more, there was such a good continental breakfast that I never needed to have lunch!
Absolutely suggested expecially to couples and groups of adults or single travellers like me (but NOT if you are interested in 300 rooms-fabrics with spa, swimming pool and stuff like that).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingleTraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,096 - 2,102 of 2,790 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2010

An excellent hotel in a great location at the foot of Charles Bridge and quiet. Taxi service from airport and return is perfectly arranged.
Large, nicely furnished room with nice bathroom, all clean.
Slight problem: no possibility to make tea / coffee in the room (maybe to protect the device?)
Also we did not sleep so well by the street noise, but that was logical at this spot, and also because the two, large casement windows that were stand wide open...
An excellent breakfast and friendly service minded staff.
A wonderful, charming hotel and an absolute must for anyone visiting Prague.

Hettie en Vera, Capelle aan den IJssel, Holland

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

From the minute we pulled up outside the hotel we knew we were in for a treat. The hotel position is just at the end of Charles Bridge, right beside the tower. We had arranged for the hotel to send a taxi to the Airport to pick us up, as we know from past experience you can get ripped off by the airport taxis.

The check in was very quick and the reception manager, Eva, had everything ready for us, even though we arrived early arriving. She spoke very good English and gave us a map and leaflets showing various tours (which she offered to arranged direct for us).

We had a double deluxe room on the first floor (No. 11) - it was exceptional. The room was huge - it had a large bed (very comfy) with table and chairs, t.v. and minibar, with a separate, divided section with wardrobe, writing desk and safe. The bathroom was clean and bright, with everything you need. The room had four windows, two of which looked over to Charles Bridge and the other two to the tower.

To say the hotel had a very good location in the heart of the Old Town it was very quiet on an evening and didnt here a thing at night.

The restaurant was fabulous. We booked breakfast which was great, continental cold meats as well as hot food - with plenty of room in the restaurant area. We ate in the restaurant on an evening and at lunch time. The food was out of this world - the steak is honesty the best I have ever tasted and the pork knuckle is a must. (You also get 15% discount at the restaurant if you are a guest at the hotel).

All in all the hotel was one of best we have ever stayed in. The staff couldnt do enough for you, and the location - you couldnt ask for anywhere better. This is somewhere we will definitely going back to.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbles1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We spent a few days in Prague this August; my husband had a conference and I accompanied him. Pod Vezi is a 10-minute walk away from Malostranska Metro station, located at the western end of the Charles Bridge. We had a room on the first floor, with windows facing the inner courtyard (which serves as a hallway) and an adjacent building: no view, but quiet. The extremely spacious room featured a sofa, small table, two sofa chairs, and a desk with chair. In a second room a big bed, closet, and a tiny TV; the rooms could be separated with wooden sliding doors. The furniture were nice, the beds comfortable, the decoration overall maybe not elegant but definitely beautiful. Super-high ceilings, some stucco, long curtains, and cloth-like wallpaper added to that.
The spacious bathroom was decorated in the same fashion, with fake gold armatures and a bidet, but generally functional rather than fancy. Towels were a bit thin, but staff was consistent in not changing them as long as they were on the rack.
We received the hotel's wireless signal in our room (sometimes spotty, mostly good), and had to get a new login code every day from the front desk, but we had free wireless in the room.
The reception staff was extremely friendly and helpful, spoke both German and English (fluent!), and fixed a broken fuse immediately.
Breakfast was included, a standard buffet thing with one or two Czech specialties every morning. Otherwise, the restaurant was quite expensive (beer for over 70CZK, vs. 29 in most other places), though hotel guests get a 15% discount.
Conclusion: great location, quiet, beautiful building, nice staff, internet and breakfast included in an otherwise inexpensive rate. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europeenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Couldn't get any closer to Charles IV bridge. We had room 34, large bed with seating area and desk, two A/C units on top floor on the corner, literally with our noses against the bridge. Tall people may find showering a challenge is this particular bathroom.
Parking comes at a premium but is right next to the hotel.
Restaurant serves excellent local specialities (had the lamb knuckle and duck confit, local cheese pared with Czech Pinot noir and apple strudel to finish) at good price.
Free wifi downstairs and pets can stay too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pvl94588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I travel a fair amount, and I think this hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in. We had a two room suite that was very large, beautifully appointed with good cross breezes. There is A/C in the hotel rooms, but I hate A/C so I was happy for the many windows and breeze even in some of the hottest weather Prague sees (temp at almost 90F!). Due to the excellent rate we received on the per night price, this hotel was more than reasonable. Hotel Pod Věží is in the very center of things in the old city area of Prague so it's close to everything, which is great fun. Breakfast (included for us in our room fee) was extensive and included hot food (eggs, breakfast meats) as well as cold food, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, etc.
Note to the noise sensitive: there are lots of people the main city area around til late at night. The noise didn't bother us, but if you are highly noise sensitive, go somewhere away from the center of town.
The staff of this hotel are very capable and also extremely hospitable. They were helpful with tickets to shows, info about how to get around town, and restaurants. We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel which was quite good.
I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuckInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Hotel staff has changed in Dec. 2009 but they're still as welcoming and nice as described by the previous visitors. This hotel is very nice and calm. It's a great place to stay in for a few days to visit the city. I'll definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dybdybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 647 in Prague
3,208 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,746 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 647 in Prague
1,785 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Vezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Vezi

Address: Mostecka 58/2 | Prague 1 - Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £77 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Vezi 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pod Vezi is 4* boutique hotel and it is set in two historical neighbouring buildings: It is located in the city center right beside the famous Charles Bridge! Despite it is located in the most attractive and visited area of Prague it is proud of its unique quite and calm charm. Free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities are at your disposal in all rooms! All important sightseeings and "must see" like Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Cemetery, National Theater, etc. are in walking distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pod Vezi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing