We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favourite hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel U Pava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel U Pava
Ranked #178 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My new favourite hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Came here for a 3 day business trip, and chose the hotel based on location close to the meetings, but its literally a 5-10 minute walk away from the Old Town square. If you like historical décor you will love this place! The rooms and bathrooms are very well equipped, with own coffee and tea maker, a towel heater, huge wardrobes with full size mirrors, aircon etc. The breakfast is really good, only fried eggs and sausages for hot options, but the rest was overwhelming and gave more to choose from than most people would need. Highly recommended, will be back with my boyfriend one day soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, as normal in old buildings. Specify what you want upon booking and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedasoDeChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    147
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
37
206
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
275 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

For people who need total consistency and the semblance of home, there are major hotel chains. For those who wish to sample something more local and more traditional, even if it's a little rougher around the edges, there are fantastic little gems like this one! U Pava is not perfect, but it is charming. The location, as most have mentioned, cannot be beat. The hotel is on a quiet sidestreet 2 minutes from Charles Bridge. Absolutely everything is accesible from this location, most things by walking. There is also a subway station closeby, but walking in Prague is magical (even if it's crowded at times). Most of the staff here are extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived 2 hours before check-in time and, after making sure the rooms were ready, let us in early. Little touches like that are a pleasing start to a vacation. The lobby and common areas have a folksy antique style that I found appealing. The breakfast was European style and consisted mostly of cold meats and cheeses and fresh pastries. There were however, fried eggs and sausages as well. I like this sort of breakfast and found it quite substantial. The rooms were tacky and a little rough, but all in all comfortable enough. The bathroom was clean and newish looking. The one issue was the water temperature. The shower conisted of two temperatures: scalding or freezing. I usually opted for a bath to avoid this issue. Setting these little quirks aside, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshiewoshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

we stayed for three nights in this hotel and found it to be very old world charm. the hotel is within walking distance to the centre of town. the staff were excellent and there is plenty of food on offer for you at the breakfast buffet. will certainly go back to Prague and to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

An absolutely perfect spot being so close to Charles Bridge and the Old Town and yet peacefully nestling in a quiet little square just off the main throughfare. The hotel was charming, very traditional and ornately decorated. We had booked a suite and this consisted of a large bedroom with gas fire and a small sitting room off this one with the Bathroom and wardrobe space. We overlooked the front square which was very pleasant and quiet the whole time we were there. The room was furnished well but small things had been overlooked which would make it a five star hotel. The curtains hanging off the rail and the pullies not working, the bathroom was a bit tried and the shower head not fixed properly. The gas fire inconsistent in lighting. I would say that with some attention to general maintenance this place would be amazing. We found staff to be polite and efficient. I did ask for help for help with the fire and eventually the receptionist came to try but no luck. She promised to get it looked at but we managed it ourselves after she had gone.
The ambiance of the hotel was lovely and I found all the art work fantastic. Breakfast was good and we ate out every evening.
I think the location of this hotel makes up for any minor room issues. It is so close to walking into the town either old or new and has a wonderful wine bar just round the corner and so many restaurants to chose from all within easy walking distance.
I would really recommend doing the segway tour. Hire place just other side of Charles Bridge. Wonderful young man took us out for two hours - thought it was expensive at first but it was worth every penny. Loads of interesting places to visit and just great to walk around and sit in the outside bars/cafes. We went to a Ballet and on a Jazz boat as evening entertainment. Would love to come back an would stay at this hotel again but probably only in a suite.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, other rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had some difficulties on booking. There was an error with two lots of money taken out. Then refunded a few days later after a call to the hotel.
We arrived to a lovely size room very clean and as it was my partners birthday, a bottle and strawberries. Much needed after our delayed flight. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was plenty. English tea! Result!
It was the perfect location. Just walk over the bridge to one area foods & drinks or up the hill for beautiful views of the city. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We arrived late, but at the exact time we had notified the hotel. The receptionist did not offer any kind of welcome nor any information of the hotel or of what to see in Prague. Not even a small Prague map like what we earlier got from other hotels in this city was offered. We were not offered help with our suitcase to take it 61 hard steps upwards ( I am 70+).
The room was considerably smaller than the 22 sqm stated in the hotel description . In the bathroom the towels were the most worn, shredded and thin we ever have met with in any hotel and a real disgrace. A mat to the slippery floor in the bathroom was lacking so we had to ask for it. When taking a shower it was a problem to keep an even temperature instead of one moment nearly boiling and the next moment feeling like ice.
The SAFE in the room did not function and although we pointed this fact out and reminded the reception of it a few times, nothing happened.
The view from our room was really not exciting, but it was a very quiet room well adapted for sleeping.
It seems as if the hotel didn't have a shoebrush machine and in the room there was no shoebrush or cloth to brush up your shoes.
Breakfast was rather mediocre, every morning (5 days) fried eggs and sausages, never bacon or scrambled eggs. When hot sausages ran short no new ones appeared and the rest of the breakfast buffet was not very fascinating.
The room was well cleaned every day.
The Wi-Fi was absolutely perfect with no problems and the location of the hotel is excellent for the tourist whether you want to take a walk to the Charle's Bridge or if you are going by tube or tram
We have stayed in a lot of hotels in Prague which are much more welcoming, comfortable and charming than U Pava in this price range. Not to mention the service level, service seems to be totally lacking in U Pava.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorkelKarlsbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#141 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#59 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#85 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#350 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Pava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Pava

Property: Hotel U Pava
Address: U luzhickeho seminare 106/32 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#151 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#179 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Pava 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel U Pava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Pava Hotel
u Pava Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing