We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fab decor but not service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel U Pava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel U Pava
Ranked #178 of 667 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fab decor but not service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Great location and decor, our suite looked fab and the bed was comfi.

Negatives were definitely the service except for the lady at reception nobody smiled.

The breakfast was average and you hear absolutely everything if you have a room facing the road. we are heavy sleepers so it wasn't too much of a problem for us.

The location was great, you can park for £10 and the suite was adequate for a family of 4. I could easily give this hotel another star if only the staff would seem to want to make your trip enjoyable. The decor looks great but could do with an overhaul. Only half our lightbulbs were working.

All in all we were happy with this hotel but I prefer other nearby alternatives.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovybaby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    145
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
37
203
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just back from a three night stay and found the hotel very pleasant. I had a room in the rear of the hotel and wish now that I had upgraded to one of the deluxe rooms or suites at the front. There doesn't seem to be much difference in price and it would certainly be worth doing, plus you would have the convenience of the lift. Luckily someone offered to carry my bags up the winding stairs.That said, my room was perfectly satisfactory, clean and welcoming with a view over the rooftops at the back. There was a coffee machine in the room which I didn't use as there was a charge, plus a mini bar with a reasonable selection. There is some quirkiness, for example loose plug points etc, but it's an old world character hotel and this is part of the charm.
The hotel is in a good location right by the Kafka Museum and you are only a minute away from the Charles Bridge. I had considered staying in the heart of the Old Town but am glad now to have avoided the hordes of people. It was nice to come back to peace and quiet yet still be in the heart of everything.
Breakfast was ok, perhaps not as good as I have had elsewhere but it was reasonable. I turned up too early on my first morning as I'm normally an early bird, usually breakfasting at 7, but breakfast here starts at half past 7. This means it gets busier than I would have liked with everyone turning up at once in a small area. Also, there is a tendency to run out of items like rolls, which are not readily replenished. So get there early!
I found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful. If you want a taxi back to the airport, they use their own at a set rate of 650kr payable to the reception desk.
I would happily stay at the U Pava anytime but would upgrade to one of the deluxe rooms on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthStarFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great little hotel, great room (ask for a view over the park with lift access), friendly and helpful staff and a very quiet and perfect location for sight-seeing. Breakfast was fine, not a huge variety but certainly enough of a choice. Would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room with lift access if travelling with luggage. Request a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank druzzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

we spent a few nights here. hotel is very very nice and the location is perfect to walk around.
we went here in Feb 2011 and at that time we read info about newly renovated rooms.
we sent an email to the hotel and we picked on room 105. they kindly reserved it for us.
so everything was perfect!!

Room Tip: room 105 was our pick. try to get this one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Dona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Lovely room with a perfect view of the castle,lots to eat for breakfast and staff were very nice and helpful.the Hotel location next to Charles Bridge was very easily to find a walk.U Pava Hotel is highly Recommended.

Room Tip: every room has a nice view to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pradamary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We just spent three nights in this beautiful hotel, and will definitely be staying there again on our next visit to Prague. I was looking for a hotel with some 'old world charm', proximity to The Charles bridge and a view - my expectations were meet (and some) on these three points.

The hotel is immaculately clean, warm, inviting and filled with a sense of history. The Charles bridge is a 3min walk away, the view of the Prague castle from our window was amazing, the beds are soft and the pillows huge and cosy, the breakfast spread is fantastic and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Our stay in this amazing, beautiful city was just perfect and coming back to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing felt more like coming home.

When we come back in December 2014 we will be booking the same room again! Thank you for making our stay so fantastic! :))

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Came here for a 3 day business trip, and chose the hotel based on location close to the meetings, but its literally a 5-10 minute walk away from the Old Town square. If you like historical décor you will love this place! The rooms and bathrooms are very well equipped, with own coffee and tea maker, a towel heater, huge wardrobes with full size mirrors, aircon etc. The breakfast is really good, only fried eggs and sausages for hot options, but the rest was overwhelming and gave more to choose from than most people would need. Highly recommended, will be back with my boyfriend one day soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, as normal in old buildings. Specify what you want upon booking and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedasoDeChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#147 of 667 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#59 of 667 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#342 of 667 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#93 of 667 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Pava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Pava

Property: Hotel U Pava
Address: U luzhickeho seminare 106/32 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#151 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#180 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Pava 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel U Pava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Pava Hotel
u Pava Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing