We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday, amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Ranked #27 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday, amazing hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is absolutely fabulous, as other reviewers have also commented, I read the reviews before we went and they are well deserved. We went for 3 days last Friday, on arrival we were offered a free upgrade to the Mozart Suite which was richly decorated and beautiful, including a small kitchen area. Everywhere was sumptuously decorated, no expense spared, it was like staying in a wonderful stately home owned by "friends", as the staff were also wonderful, very friendly and helpful. We wish to remember Peter who collected us in the hotel car from the airport, Adela who greeted us, the Restuarant manager, sorry we didn't get his name, Mark from reception, all so willing to help and so friendly and proud of their work. Not forgetting Edi who served our breakfast and with whom we had such interesting conversations! As other reviewers have commented the hotel is perfectly situated in a quiet district near the Charles Bridge, perfect in that it is quiet off the beaten track, but only a few minutes walk away from the centre. We would most definately stay here again we had no complaints whatsoever, this Hotel owner has certainly hit the nail on the head and got everything just right. I could continue but would just be repeating what has already been said on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor of this Residence. Thank you so much to the staff for helping to make our stay such a happy one Linda Costello & Mike Davies Mozart Suite

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Linda Costello and Mike Davies

I would like to thank you for chosing our hotel for your stay, it was pleasure having you! I want to thank you for speaking so highly of us and thank you for naming all the employees that made your stay so great. We try our best to make everyones stay great and as I can see we accomplished it once again.
Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lucie and collegaues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    88
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
110
602
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tendring, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was absolutely fantastic: clean, spacious and well appointed. Glasses of wine to welcome us was a lovely gesture and any request was met with swift attention from the staff. The hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street just a few minutes walk from a tram stop, a park and restaurants in one direction and the centre of Prague in the other.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to thank you for chosing Alchymist Residentce Nosticova on your anniversary. I would also like to congratulate you on your wedding anniversary.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon, perhaps on your next anniversary.

With kindest regards,
Lucie Nizka and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I had reserved a Junior Suite at the Residence Nosticova and was shown to a very glamourous, and quite opulent room, complete with gold wall and huge chandelier. It was also slightly creepy as a single occupant, with historic portraits staring from the walls and creaking floorboards!
For those who expect a junior suite to comprise multiple rooms, this isn't always the case at the Residence Nosticova - this was one room with a separate area with a wardrobe and space for a case between the bedroom and bathroom.
I changed room to another on a higher floor which had a second set of doors between the entrance and the sleeping area - this made it nice and quiet in the room. There was also a small 'kitchenette' area with hob (but no utensils or anything required to prepare a snack), fridge and kettle. Again there was a door on this room so you didn't hear the fridge whirring overnight.

Staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful - moving rooms was no problem to them, and they showed me a number of options. During my stay they provided recommendations for local eateries (including the casual pub 'Olympia' nearby, serving excellent Czech food) and were happy to help with any request.

The restaurant within this restaurant is also excellent - fabulous food, attentive staff (speaking many languages) and a very atmospheric mirrored dining room!

The one slightly disappointing aspect to this stay was breakfast - perhaps partly due to the hotel not being full, but the 'buffet' was pretty uninspiring - a small bowl of fruit salad was reduced to a few browning bits and pieces on the second morning of my stay, there's a lack of variety in the bread department (a shame as I ate some delicious breads with dinner), and the pastries / cold meats and cheeses just looked a bit insipid. There is an 'a la carte' hot menu, but this seems to lack the impact of the dinner menu - scrambled eggs is just that (2 scrambled eggs in the middle of the plate, not served with toast), the french toast is one slice of standard white loaf bread etc.

Potentially my thoughts are based on (i) my love of a good brunch that sets you up for the day, and (ii) measured against other 5 star hotels, but this wasn't a patch on other boutique hotel breakfasts, or even the standard spread offered by a chain hotel.

Despite this one aspect, the staff were wonderful, and I really did enjoy my stay there - I would go back again if I were in Prague. The location is excellent (nice quiet area, close to the Hellichova tram stop), I loved the decor including the suit of armour, and had a relaxing and enjoyable stay.
One last note - I've never before stayed in a hotel which has such fine bedlinen - embroidered with the 'Residence Nosticova' coat of arms - utterly fabulous :-D

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good - I'd probably not select the 'Gothic room' however which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank claire_fowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your feedback and detailed summary of impressions you had while on your stay.
Your kind words pleased us, and the critical points which you have pointed out were evaluated and also very much appreciated. We are always trying to improve our services for our customers and any feedback, positive or negative is always accepted and welcomed.

We hope to welcome you back soon, and we believe that next time the service will be impeccable and to your standards.

Yours faithfully,
Lucie Nizka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed at the Alchymist for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon, didn't really like the Gothic room, it was very close to the main entrance and it was a small room, the feeling it gave us was simply awkward.

Once informed the reception desk about that, they kindly agreed to give us a free of charge upgrade to the Junior Suite which was amazing and a complementary bottle of champagne.
Since the building is very old, you often hear cracking sounds from the ceiling, but they didn't disturb us that much.

The hotel staff were amazingly nice, with a big cheerful smile on their faces all the time.

Best thing is that the hotel is located in the old city, making for a great walking experience to most of the attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaleedMadanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for choosing Alchymist Residence Nosticova for your honeymoon, I would also like to congratulate you and wish you lots of luck, happiness, and many wonderful years together. We are always at your service, and always willing to meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps for your anniversary.

Kind regards,
Lucie Nizka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Alchymist Residence Nosticova is a lovely little hotel, tucked away on a cobblestone street in the embassy district. Staff could not be more genuinely interested in making your experience wonderful. A note on the star rating: Alchymist is labeled a 5 star hotel but please be advised that during the off season, amenities which you'd expect to find such as a hotel bar and restaurant do not operate daily. There is no concierge. Breakfast was fine but not fantastic. The hotel is mildly garish but gets away with it. Rooms are spacious, oil paintings hung in my room.

My personal request to not have my room serviced was ignored, unfortunately, as was the sign hanging on my door. It was serviced anyway.

The star rating system is not consistent from country to country. Star rating can take many factors into account including room size, bathroom size (and whether or not it has a bidet,
shower, and bathtub). In some countries, star rating is even based on the number of telephones in the room. With that said, you will not be disappointed if you book this hotel expecting to find a 4*+ property but some may leave disappointed expecting to find a 5* hotel.

My thanks, especially to Martin, for the warm hospitality.

Room Tip: A junior suite has a kitchenette which would be quite helpful for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EUtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Sir, thank you for your comments, praises, and recommendations.
We were pleased to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel and staff, especially Martin, thank you.
Thank you for recommending our Junior Suite with kitchen, suitable for families with children or for longer stays.

Sorry that we failed to comply with your request not clean your room, additionally we would like to apologies.

We look forward to your next visit and we wish you success.

Yours faithfully,
Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I found this place on trip advisor and listened to the advice.
We arrived and were immediately impressed by the location and friendly service.
We were surprised by an upgrade to a junior suite
It was a magical room! The pictures on the site came true!
The location is perfect for walking everywhere!
Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuzzieUKcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for choosing our Alchymist Residence Nosticova for your stay in Prague. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you once more on your next visit. I’m truly glad that you listened to tripadvisor and gave us a chance.
We would love to welcome you back on your next visit in Prague.

Warm regards,

Lucie and colleagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glos
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just got back from a fantastic weekend at the Alchymist residence and wow what a great hotel. The staff are lovely, food great and the rooms are luxurious. For a couples break to Prague this has to be one of the nicest most friendly hotels u can visit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlosDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for choosing our hotel on you visit in Prague. It was our pleasure to be there for you and make your stay more enjoyable. We would love to welcome you back on your next visit in Prague.

Warm regards,

Lucie and colleagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,299 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Nosticova Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Nosticova Palace

Property: Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Address: Nosticova 463/1, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Alchymist Residence Nosticova)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#24 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Family Hotel in Prague
#50 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Nosticova Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alchymist Nosticova Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Residence Nosticova Prague
Alchymist Residence Nosticova Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing