We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very memorable New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Ranked #23 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very memorable New Year”
Reviewed 10 March 2009

My husband and I enjoyed a memorable post-New Year stay in Prague, thanks in large part to our choice of hotel. We stayed at the Alchymist Residence Nosticova from January 1 to 3. I booked a winter package that included a welcome bottle of wine and complimentary use--including one free massage--in their spa and Health Club at their sister Alchymist Grand Hotel. Everything was smooth and trouble free, from the reservation that I made over the web and by email (efficiently handled by Adela), the taxi pickup at the train station pre-arranged by the hotel (great for avoiding hassles of calling a taxi when you're already there, and you're sure to get a clean car), check-in and settling in the room. The train from Vienna arrives just before noontime, too early for the hotel check-in. No problem. We left our bags with the hotel staff and walked around the area. There are many restaurants a short distance from this hotel, open even on Jan. 1, since it's under ten minutes walking distance to Charles Bridge, the US Embassy area, and my favorite destination, the Church of Our Lady Victorious (Panny Marie Vítezné) in Malá Strana, which is a pilgrimage site for devotees of the infant Jesus of Prague (Santo Niño de Praga). After a leisurely lunch and a brief stop at the church, we were back at the hotel to check into the room. The complimentary red Moravian wine was excellent, and there was also a complimentary bottle of water.

Prague city holds a grand fireworks display over the Vltava river every year at dusk on Jan. 1 (as well as Dec. 31). By sheer luck we were in our room when the fireworks began, and we had a magnificent ringside view from the windows of our top-floor room (even from the bathroom window). Aside from the fireworks, this room had an unobstructed view toward the river area, and in daylight we could see the buildings lining both banks.

The hotel's restaurant is gorgeously decorated in Italian style. Unfortunately, it was closed for the season, so we only had breakfasts there. The antique furniture and opulent surroundings certainly added a touch of class to the generous breakfast fare that included cold and warm selections. My husband and I particularly enjoyed one of the
bread selections in their bread basket (can't recall the name now), which I learned was baked at their sister hotel. The staff at breakfast were attentive and prompt, but discreet.

I'm not sure if we got the standard room or something else. Our room on the top floor had a huge bathroom with bathtub, almost the same floor area as the bedroom (which is not small, by European standards; we and our luggage had plenty of space). All of the lighting in the bedroom and bathroom was provided by crystal chandeliers, what a luxury!

Instead of the small massage room in the Residence, we opted to walk a short distance to the sister Grand Hotel. I was not disappointed. The spa is HUGE! It had separate changing rooms with lockers for men and women. Guests are provided robes, towels and slippers for their stay. There's a choice of several kinds of Indonesian, Swedish and other styles of massage. There are dry and steam saunas. On a tip, we went at noontime which is the least busy time. In fact, there were no other customers, so my husband and I had the place to ourselves. The spa receptionists were very helpful in guiding me to select a massage, and as nobody was around even gave my husband any myself a tour of the facilities before we made an appointment for the massage. The masseuse was very professional.

Kudos to this fine hotel. We'll definitely be back, and we definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TingVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    84
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
108
590
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Where do I start? The rooms really are as lovely (maybe lovelier) than the pictures on their website! The bedspread, heavy curtains, old paintings, marble bathroom, carpets...the atmosphere was so romantic and lush.

I much preferred its serene location to other notable hotels I came across. Why stay on a busy street, when you can be on a quiet one that is a mere 3 minute walk to the action?

The staff are incredibly helpful and kind! They are totally eager to cater to any need you may have.

What felt like a big indulgence, was really quite affordable. This hotel made me feel like it is really unnecessary to pay over 400 a night for a truly luxurious experience. Quite a find!

We will definitely be staying here again next year and have already recommend it to our friends who are visiting Prague in a few months.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eviemichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Excellent location - quiet and walkable to everywhere.
Great room with everything high quality and working.
Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cshawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed there for a romantic weekend and were surprised when the staff offered us a free bottle of champagne due to the fact, that we recently married. The service was very good, the staff very helpful and the hotel gave us a good impression. the only thing disturbing, was the fact, that they didn't have non-smoking rooms. Big rooms, but carpets had seen their best times. Access to the Spa of the mother hotel was a very nice add-on.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Neamtule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Alchymist Residence Nosticova in January of 2009, and we were thrilled with our stay. The room we got was absolutely beautiful, and reasonably priced, as well. Most tourist attractions were within a 15-30 minute walk, and the Charles Bridge is about a 5 minute walk away. Being a small hotel, they were very attentive to every one of our needs as well. They took care of every detail, including competitively priced transport to and from the hotel from the Prague airport. I would recommend this hotel to anybody thinking about visiting the beautiful city of Prague.

  • Liked — Staff, Beautiful and Comfortable Room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank welchsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Just returened from the Alchymist Residence Nosticova in Prague. It was the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. An opulent, luxurious suite, with excellant service. Located in one of the best parts of Prague. Seeing Prague covered in snow, and walking over the Charles Bridge was magical.
The Alchymist Grand Hotel-the sister hotel, is bigger, and equally as opulent and luxurious, with a beautiful swimming pool lit by a giant crystal chandelier, and backed by a chinese day bed for relaxation. The hotel photo's are exactly what you get. I would definately recommend both of these hotels and would score them equally as 10/10
How to get there. Take the airport bus 119 to Dejvicka-the bus terminal approx 20 mins, then get the green metro to Malastranska approx 3 stops. Then get either the 12,20,22 tram and get off 2 stops later at Hellichova.Cross over the crossing and walk straight ahead past the Japanese embassy, and the Alchymist Nosticova is on the bottom lt hand corner.

  • Liked — The luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank GinaNamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

I have booked the hotel room including an upgrade. When I arrived I was offered two rooms of which one was a beautiful, large suite. The hotel staff was generally very friendly. The location of the hotel is also perfect, it is right in the old town. Also I had free WLAN in my room. Definitely, a great choice in Prague!

  • Liked — Great design of rooms
  • Disliked — I could hear some noise from neighbours
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank andi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Nosticova Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Nosticova Palace

Property: Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Address: Nosticova 463/1, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Alchymist Residence Nosticova)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#20 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Family Hotel in Prague
#50 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Nosticova Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alchymist Nosticova Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Residence Nosticova Prague
Alchymist Residence Nosticova Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing