We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter visit to Prague”
Review of Green Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Garden Hotel
Ranked #70 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Winter visit to Prague”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We flew to Prague early December to visit our eldest son who lives in the city. We flew with Easyjet from Stansted and recommend them for an efficient and value for money experience.The airports either end were good too albeit inevitably expensive at Stansted. The hotel was smaller than expected but in a positive way, not so our room which was more a suite! Definitely the Wow factor. It was opulent with lovely expensive heavy drapes, matching bedspreads two twin beds together as a double lots of sleeping space. There was lovely solid wood furniture and very ornate chairs and table, as well as a writing desk! As you enter the room you are in a hallway with double wardrobes to your right and another set to your left down the hall. The second set contain a safe which is free and operated by your FINGERPRINT..impressed I was!! Opposite this is the second room which is a full size drawing room with the same opulence and contained convertible setees, a TV with a dozen plus channels including more than the usual BBC world service in our mother tongue! The bathroom was spotless and again large with two seperate handbasins..bidet..toilet and bath. If there was an issue and it is small it is that the shower is controlled from the taps, adequate but not as easy or as powerful as an electric one. The room was very warm and we ended up turning off the radiator and aircon as it seemed to circulate warm air and as it was circa 1º outside then showed how comfortable it was. We had breakfast on one day only, waking late the other, it was continental but we had scrambled egg, frankfurter and bacon with toast and some fruit..it was Ok. There is a single lift and never had to wait long for it. There is a nice horseshoe bar but never used it beyond a drink for the room. Reception were friendly, efficient and spoke English. They called taxis for us when requested.. I recommend AAA taxis.. We used a great airport transfer service which we booked in the UK which cost 22 euros each way..I paid in Czech Koruna and with tip was circa 650-700 Koruna. Prague is a lovely city and we are going back in 2014, this hotel is a 15 minute walk from Wenceslas Square. Totally recommend this hotel it is great value for money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NovaChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    430
    68
    13
    9
See reviews for
239
491
52
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at Green Garden hotel when visiting Prague on a city break and was impressed with the location, facilities and the great value of Green Garden Hotel.


Green Garden hotel is in a central location of the city, the old town square is just a ten minute walk. This offers great flexibility to your trip when dinning out and sight seeing as the hotel is only a short walk away from main tourist attraction and fantastic restaurants and bars. Despite the location there is little noise when in the hotel, the windows are double glazed which means you can still have a lay in when the rest of the city is starting the day.

The room we had was very clean and attended by the maid daily, valuables was left out on the side and was not moved, there is a safe in the hotel that is controlled by finger print. It is recommended to use your thumb for the best result with working with the safe's.We did come into difficulty with the safe, the hotel manager was up immediately and used the only override tool.

The hotel offers a large hearty self service breakfast, I would recommend to have breakfast at the hotel we booked our accommodation to include breakfast and for what is on offer it is brilliant value. There is selection of warm food, sausage, eggs, porridge that can be accompanied with different bread rolls and toast. There is also a continental breakfast available consisting of cheeses, cold meats, yoghurts, fruit, breakfast pastries/cakes, pate and salad. Drink are always stocked up and never had to wait for them and the above.

The guests of the hotel can also use a small elegant bar, drinks are available until late and has a small dinning menu. The bar is a very chilled, laid back and relaxing atmosphere not a loud or overpowering when staying at the hotel.

On departing the hotel staff was more than accommodating, exactly how they had been throughout or stay, There is a luggage room to store items if flight are later in the day. The staff also book taxi's and travel to the airport

Highly recommend this brilliant hotel not to be missed!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheNewfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Six of us stayed at the Green Garden in December. The hotel appeared to have been recently refurbished and the rooms we had (3rd floor) were very nice, well decorated and with very comfortable beds. The bathroom had a lovely powerful shower, and decorated with stylish tiles. The room and tea/coffee making facilities, a free safe (activated by finger print recognition) and TV with English speaking news channels.
The Breakfast was an excellent choice of hot and cold food, and was a great start to the day. The dining room is really picturesque and we ate their once, and found the food excellent too.
As well as the décor, food and facilities at the hotel, even more impressive was the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff. Their English was excellent, they were helpful and always happy to chat and advise and answer our questions.
Don't be put off in that the hotel isn't in the very centre of Prague, as the walk to Wenceslas Square is no more than 15 mins or you can always catch a tram,
.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Green Garden Hotel to anyone going to Prague, who doesn't mind not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our trip to Prague (my wife, my daughter and myself) from 28 November to 02 December was like one fairy tale and the Green Garden was an integral part of it. The hotel 100% complies with its description at the web-site, breakfasts were redundant and tasty, personnel was attentive and polite. We had no linguistic problems speaking Russian and English. We asked for an extra bed for our daughter and everything was carried out. Excellent!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vserge1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We are 6 nurses stayed at this hotel for Xmas shopping weekend. The rooms excellent exactly as in the pictures, very comfortable and clean. The staff helpful. friendly, we had a few laughs with them. If you do have a problem it is sorted out there and then, nothing is too much trouble. The buffet breakfast brilliant and sets you up for the day. Would definitely recommend this hotel. We will be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swan915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The hotel is situated within 15/20 minutes walk of Wenceslas Square and all other attractions. The rooms are pleasant, if not a little traditional looking, and are cleaned and replenished daily. The rooms are well equipped with a kettle, large TV (limited English channels), fingerprint activated safe and a reasonably priced minibar. The hotel is surrounded by two busy roads but the windows keep most of the noise out.

The already great room rate also included breakfast, although I only tried it once. The staff are all friendly and very helpful (when I needed assistance opening my safe, it was dealt with straight away).

The only downsides were that due to it being a small hotel, it can take some time to check out, particularly if there are a few people waiting at the same time. Occasionally, there was a wait for the lift but I don't mind the stairs and there aren't that many floors. The hotel uses physical keys which people might prefer but I find them a hassle to look after and much prefer a key card that will slip into my wallet. All in all then, not much to complain about!

The place is an absolute bargain considering its location alone. I will definitely consider coming back here if I'm ever back in Prague.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terrier164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here during a conference in the summer. The staff are extremely helpful and are always available. The room was very comfortable with near-silent air con. A couple of minutes walk from a metro stop, and very cheap to get to by taxi from Wenceslas Sq.. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sayyed Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#53 of 649 in Prague
371 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
815 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#113 of 649 in Prague
957 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#77 of 649 in Prague
1,777 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#97 of 649 in Prague
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Garden Hotel

Property: Green Garden Hotel
Address: Fugnerovo namesti 1865/4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Prague
#61 Family Hotel in Prague
#64 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#69 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming, renovated Green Garden Hotel is located in a historic neo-Renaissance building dating back to 1894 in the centre of Prague, and is well known for its picturesque garden. Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square and Charles Square can be easily reached on foot and the hotel is just a few steps away from excellent public transport links. All of Prague's main attractions are thus easily accessible. Small Pets are allowed in the hotel. Please note that due to reconstruction our hotel will be closed in period 10 January - 11 February 2016. Thank you for understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Green Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Green Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing