We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Residence Royal Standard
Ranked #345 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I enjoyed my time at the Hotel & Residence Royal Standard. The staff could not be any more friendly! The breakfast is very good for an included breakfast in Eastern Europe. The staff is very accommodating and extremely helpful. Sure the AC does not always work but if you open your window it is just as nice. The wifi works extremely well and is included in the stay. It has a great view of the river and is very convenient to trams 3, 17 which then lead to anything you need in the city. I stayed here 10 nights--it was a little pricey but I was in one of the apartments because they had no other rooms when I was making the reservations. You can purchase tram passes at the reception to make things easier as well which is nice! I think for one person the price is around 50 Euro and for two people around 70 so over all not horrible for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Choosing an apartment not on the bottom floor so you can get a view! i think 18,19, 20, and 21 are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
49
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We made reservations and paid in advance, 5 months...
At first, we were in a room without curtains and the view was just for the others building in the block.
When I refused to stay there, saying that they sold me the view, the guy told me that this was not specified, come on, look at the name of the hotel.
They moved me to another room, not good at all. The air conditioned not working (hot summer nights), the water not heating well, and lack Of pressure in the shower.
Dirty sheets, the decoration is like the Stasi Museum in Berlin.
The breakfast is just ok.
At last, when checking out, no one was in the lobby (afternoon), just a lady was in the breakfast place, in a really weird way, looking like not sober at all (as seen on HBO's The Wire, if you know what I mean).
The same lady that make the breakfast and clean the rooms...
We had to leave a note and the keys there...
TOTAL NIGHTMARE!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Owner at Hotel & Residence Royal Standard, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Victor,
during your stay at our hotel I was unfortunately away, but right after I arrived back I carefully checked your review up.

1) I'm very sorry you were unsatisfied with the time you've spent at our hotel and wrote this very negative review. I have to react since I really don't want the readers of this to think that the service we provide is as bad as what you wrote.

2) You had reserved and paid a double room with action price of 48,30 EUR per night for two persons including breakfast and all fees and taxes. The double room you stayed in at first was quiet, sunny, aiming to the yard and after reconstruction (new carpet, painting, curtains...) yet after you complained at the reception we gave you another room next day which was in a higher standard and as well as the other room after reconstruction. The truth is there are no curtains in this type of room, since there are ispecial isolating windows put into the pitched roof with sunblinds and jalousies. It's a shame you didn't take pictures of the room as an evidence of what you have written.

3) Technical matters:
Air conditioning is automatically controled. When the outside temperature is below 22 °C it can't be switched on. Water temperature and pressure: it all must have been an unfortunate coincidence. All of this could have beed managed and taken care of by our hotel operator, but nobody talked about such problems with anyone of our hotel staff.
I haven't been to Stasi in Berlin, but I doubt that as a decoration they have relatively rare historical pictures and old maps of Prague, which decorate our rooms and I really don't consider such decoration as
inappropriate.

4) You are right, the roomkeepers take care of both cleanliness of the rooms and breakfasts. Mostly they are temporary workers, students of the university. In the mornings they make breakfasts and after cleaning the kitchen and restaurant they start with cleaning of hotel rooms. This is absolutely OK with all of the strict hygienic rules and conrolled.

5) Our receptionist unfortunately is having diabetes and unforunately by the time of your departure her blood pressure was very low and had to leave to the emergency room. This really was a very exceptional situation of which I kindly ask you to understand and also am sorry about it.

6) I'm glad you at least liked our breakfasts.

Best regards,
Richard Barcal, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for a week at this hotel. The location is very good, at the bank of the river: close to the public transportation (the tram stop is just in front of the hotel and the metro station is at 10 minutes walk), but we preferred to walk along the river. We really liked the breakfast witch included varied options. The room was clean and silent with our own TV and fridge. The free wifi signal was not always perfect, but overall we recommend the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed for 3 days here and everything was as good as I expected. It is situated in a very good part of the city, with many public transport possibilities - but the hotel itself is silent and peaceful. We had a room on the 5th floor - the only one noise we heard was the sound of the wind on the roof. The view from the window is awesome! The staff is very nice and helpful, the breakfast is excellent. The interieur and the furnitures are not too luxurious but everything is very clean and comfortable. Next time I 'll choose the same hotel - reasonable price, perfect situation, nice people!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this small hotel and we were fully satisfied! Perfect location at the bank of the river, near the city center, tram stop just in front of the hotel, but we preferred walking along the river. Very helpful staff. Big choice of breakfast. Clean and silent room with free wifi. Reasonable price. There´s nothing to complain about. Hope we could come back one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JitkaCCLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linlithgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

i was in this hotel for 7 nights and enjoyed it very much, breakfast was ample ,it is on the river front and 20 minutes walk to the old town or wenceslas square there is a tram stops outside if you dont want to walk but excellant location i would reccomend this hotel and also i would not hesitate to go back to this hotel when i return to prague.

Room Tip: room 20 or 21 on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinlithgowTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We took a top apartment here and thought it was great. Everything from the chandeliers in each room to the balcony view over the river with uninterrupted views of the cathedral and castle down river. Slightly noisy up to 11.00pm in the evening if that bothers you as there are bands playing on the nearby boats. Great location. Excellent breakfast (hot bacon and eggs as well as all the usual cold stuff) and slightly away from the masses which makes it lovely. Tram stop very nearby. metro stop 5 minutes walk up the road. Parking was in a local garage 3 minutes walk away. Carrying a lot of luggage up the stairs might be a bit of a problem if you have a lot, but there is a lift. English speaking receptionist was very helpful.

Wonderful location...and a little bit of grandeur from the past. The building is 100 years old. This is a romantic setting for sure!

Room Tip: go for the best suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel u Svateho Jana
Hotel u Svateho Jana
#293 of 649 in Prague
120 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlante Residence - Ai Quattro Angeli
Hotel Augustus et Otto
#313 of 649 in Prague
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Praha 4
Hotel Otakar
Hotel Otakar
#477 of 649 in Prague
241 reviews
Praha 5
Austria Suites
Austria Suites
#273 of 649 in Prague
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence Royal Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence Royal Standard

Property: Hotel & Residence Royal Standard
Address: Rashinovo nabrezhi 406/38, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Residence Royal Standard 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Residence STANDARD offers very cozy accommodation in luxury apartments (100 m2) and 11 tastefully and practically furnished hotel rooms. The Apartments Residence has 7 Luxury Apartment units, fully equipped air-conditioned flats, newly reconstructed. All apartments have living room, bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, entering hall and most of apartments have two bedrooms. Some of the apartments have a balcony with stunning view on the Vltava River and Prague Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel & Residence Royal Standard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Standard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing