We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the better rooms”
Review of NH Prague City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Prague City
Ranked #147 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Take the better rooms”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed 3 times during the last 12 months. Generally its an average hotel if you take the rooms in the main building. Rooms are not too spacious, furniture and carpet doesent look very fresh. Wi-Fi coverage is limited, network is slow.
The rooms in the upper part of the hotel - as far as I understand premium - are much better in general.

Although location is excellent, you can walk, use public transport or car, the accessibility is great.
One more thing = really outstanding breakfast court.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the upper part of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexei29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr_Nespurek, General Manager at NH Prague City, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing the NH Hotel Prague and sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay in our property. I'm glad you found aspects of your stay which you enjoyed, and we will take a look at the ones that were not up to your full satisfaction. It would be a pleasure being able to welcome you here with us again in order to show you our improvements.

Kind regards

Petr Nešpůrek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    774
    257
    63
    39
See reviews for
263
636
98
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is rather unusual as it has two parts; the lower part at street level and an upper section on the hill above which is joined by a what is described as a cable car but is actually a funicular as it travels on rails.
I stayed on the ground floor at the top part which seemed to be more luxurious. It was early December and pretty cold but found the room too hot. Being on the ground floor I would like to have opened the door/window (it was one of those typically found on the continent which can be opened at the top or used as a door) but felt slightly uneasy doing this as had trouble getting the door closed once I had opened it. I would recommend getting a room off the ground floor to address this.
The room itself was modern and clean as NH usually are.
I had dinner at the restaurant in the upper part. The (Argentinian) steak was excellent and well presented and found some good local wines to accompany that.
Restaurant staff were very helpful and parts of the service team were also good.
The location is on the edge of town and not within convenient walking distance to the main square but that is not a major issue as taxi fares to this side of the Charles bridge are around CZK 160- 180 unless you use the hotel taxis which are double the price. (Get them to order one in).

I would stay at this hotel again and would actually consider using this restaurant again even if I was staying elsewhere. it is very unusual to find a mid range hotel offering this quality although i did try only two dishes. Note that Prague is over-populated with restaurants especially in an around the Charles Bridge and the main square. I was out and about between 6 - 9 pm and noticed that most had few customers save for those in prime locations (e.g. main square).

Prague by night is arguably the most enticing and enchanting city I have been too and must boast some of the finest medieval architecture around. The main square had a large Christmas tree (see pic) and I can recommend the hotel and city as as wonderful Weekend break. Obviously if money is no object there are doubtless more centrally located hotels but was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr_Nespurek, General Manager at NH Prague City, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your very kind review. We truly appreciate you chose our hotel for your stay in Prague. The whole team of NH Hotel Prague is looking forward to your next visit. Thank you once again.

Best Regards

Petr Nešpůrek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praha
Level Contributor
105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I didn't stay in this hotel but had lunch there and it was a joke. The menu was extremely limited - 2 daily offer main courses plus some pizza, burgers, etc. We had one of those daily offer meals that arrived coldish. The waitress apologized but discount from the bill would had been much more appropriate. There used to be hotel Movenpick in the same building and I actually thought I was about to have lunch there. When I arrived, it became clear the building was no longer owned by Movenpick but by this NH chain. Real disappointment.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr_Nespurek, General Manager at NH Prague City, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor and providing us with invaluable feedback regarding you stay at our property. I'm sorry to learn you were not entirely happy about our lunch and I will make sure to share your feedback with the relevant members of our team. Once again thank you for reviewing our hotel and hope you will pick our hotel the next time you decide to visit Prague.

Kind regards

Petr Nešpůrek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east greenville, pa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful hotel, nice clean rooms. We stayed for 3 nights in room 1612. The elevators were quick, the breakfast was amazing and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some standard rooms have tiny balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantogypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr_Nespurek, General Manager at NH Prague City, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time and submitting this excellent review, as well as for recommending our hotel here on Tripadvisor. The whole team of NH Hotel Prague is looking forward to your next visit. Thank you once again.

Best Regards

Petr Nešpůrek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent 5 night in NH in Prage, and it was ok, no problems! The location is good, transportation works well in the city. Our room was not noisy, the heating worked good, and i loved the modern furnitures they have, so nice! Breakfast was a bit expensive but fresh and tasty, staff was nice to us. Wifi connection sometimes a bit slow, but reception was helpful about everything even late in the evening!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr_Nespurek, General Manager at NH Prague City, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you so much for taking your time to pass on your comments on your recent stay with us at the NH Hotel Prague, we are all delighted that you have found the hotel to your expectations and that you had a great time with us.Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,

Petr Nešpůrek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel shows photos of great looking rooms, but that is only in the executive wing. We were very disappointed with our room, a double which is 2 singles pushed together. Room was very tiered and in need of updating. Rooms when serviced did not include changing the bedding, they just made the bed. Tea in the room did not include milk. That was an extra charge. Water in the room charged at 7 euros a bottle. When asked for a uk plug adapter they wanted 150 euros. The concierge did not have any tickets for public transport. The breakfast was ok but it was clear that there were pastries from the day before,and the staff were in a hurry to get you out. All in all if this hotel were in the uk it would just only pass for a 2 star. Location could be better.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 99stevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr_Nespurek, General Manager at NH Prague City, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feed back and remarks regarding your recent stay with us at NH Hotel Prague. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with our property. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. I would like to asure you that we plan the reconstruction of the rooms in the main building since January 2013, so we hope that our guests will feel more comfortable and we will have another chance to welcome you in our property in the future to show you the improvement.

Please allow me to clarify your comment regarding the changing the bedding. In our hotel we change it every 3rd day. We properly follow the standards of the NH Hotels chain and I am sorry that you did not feel comfortable with that.

We are sorry that we could not borrow you an adaper, but they were probably already borrowed by another guests and be assured that we never request 150 Euro for the adapter. Usually we only charge around 20 Euro as a deposit, which is cancelled after returning of the adapter.

Tickets for the public transportation are available at the concierge every day from 7am till 7pm. They have at the reception sufficient amount of tickets for the guests during the day. I am sorry that you were not allowed to buy it.

Once again I'm sorry to read we did not manage to meet your expectations, but nevertheless thank you for identifying such areas for possible improvements.We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in future.

Best Regards

Petr Nešpůrek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A perfect hotel for business and family trips. Very friendly service!!!!!!
I had a very nice room in the executive lounge in the hill with a very nice view and very calm. The room service was very good and fast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petr_Nespurek, General Manager at NH Prague City, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very kind review. We truly appreciate you chose our hotel for your stay in Prague. The whole team of NH Hotel Prague is looking forward to your next visit. Thank you once again.

Best Regards

Petr Nešpůrek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#185 of 649 in Prague
1,555 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#115 of 649 in Prague
1,420 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#233 of 649 in Prague
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#65 of 649 in Prague
1,981 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#62 of 649 in Prague
2,264 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#158 of 649 in Prague
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Prague City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Prague City

Property: NH Prague City
Address: Mozartova 261/1 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Moevenpick Hotel Prague)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Prague
#113 Family Hotel in Prague
#125 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#142 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Prague City 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Prague City hotel offers you modern and tastefully-designed accommodations in the heart of Prague, with 440 comfortable and spacious Superior and Executive rooms, including 28 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , NHHotels, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Prague City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Moevenpick Hotel
Movenpick Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing