We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location- Shame about the sleeping facilities!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Botel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botel Albatros
Ranked #298 of 670 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location- Shame about the sleeping facilities!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I booked the Botel Albatros as it was reasonably priced and in a great location. I had read previous reviews that criticised the service offered by it's staff, but as it was superbly located I overlooked this fact and looked forward to my stay.
The boat itself was clean and well kept, the staff, for the most part were reasonably friendly, but they did not go out of their way to help with questions and advice. They rarely smiled, but I soon found this to be a common Czech trait so was not fazed by their seemingly lack of sincerity.
The room was adequate and the shower was superb- super warm water at any time of the day was a real treat! The advertised TV and satellite was a bit of a let down as it only showed Czech programmes. Not much good for a non- Czech speaker- so if TV is important, then this would have been a problem. My biggest gripe about the room was the state of the bed however, the mattresses were next to non- existent, therefore sleeping conditions were difficult at times because of how uncomfortable they were. Aside of that, the rooms were clean and the maid service was prompt and very good.
Location wise, the Albatross is about a 15-20 minute walk along the Vtlava River to the Charles Bridge- not 5 minutes as their flyer indicated. It took about 10-15 minutes to walk into the Old Town, home to the Astronomical Tower, a good 30+ minutes to Prague Castle and roughly 20-25 minutes to Wenceslas Square.
Overall I was pleased with the Albatros, breakfast was adequate, but the earlier you ate the better the likely hood of getting a seat- after 9am, it was virtually impossible! It was within a good walking distance from the sights and had adequate room sizes. I would recommend this hotel to younger people looking for a location close to the city centre that is reasonable, but basic. Older travellers with back issues may find the Albatross inadequate due to the poor mattress densities.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    235
    183
    59
    40
See reviews for
74
309
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

When in Prague I often choose to stay in various botels as it is a different experience and it is cheaper than most of the hotels in the same area. Albatros has a great location, few minutes walking distance from the Old Town, view of the river from the cabin window makes it a real experience. The equipment of the room is very basic, it resembles a real ship cabin, although the windows are taken from train cars. Look at the pictures from other reviewer to have an idea of the reality. My room smelled of cold cigarette smoke which was most annoying during the night. But the window view was great, the weather was good so I had the window opened the whole night. The sheets were clean, plush towels provided, bathroom was clean although worn a little bit. Breakfast was okay, not a great selection but just fine.

Room Tip: River side rooms are obviously better as the quay side looks directly into quite noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a very beautiful boat to stay in.. its only a 10 min walk to the old city that has great restaurants, bars, and attractions to see. the room is comfortable and clean and staff are friendly with a smile. breakfast is good with a lot of covered sitting areas to dine.

Room Tip: No air conditoning / noisy /
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugivara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Staying here in April 2012, the staff were a bit miserable (but didn’t come here for the staff)
The cabin was quirky and great , cleaned and fresh towels everyday. The breakfast was good.
I pick the Botel cos we fancy something difference and cheap. That’s what we got. A nice cabin with a great view of the river. Great location The King Charles bridge is just a short walk along the river about 5 to 10 minutes. Easy to find at night and felt very safe walking back to the Botel.

Room Tip: the Tram system was great to get around. also no one seem to pay on them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmanager67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Definitely not as nice as it looks in pictures. Really very poor hotel. Rooms are old and you can see that the wood is rotten and damaged. We had spiders in our room, and that too many. Water nearby the botel smells and looks dirty. Breakfast was good and so was the restaurant (only from appearance point of view). We did not eat there because food is very cheap in Prague anyways.

Hotel is not good at all and if you are looking for something nice, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dak_cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I found the staff very rude and not interested in helping to make the stay comfortable. I was left standing at reception for a long time when trying to get some help but the staff acted like I was not there. The room didn't have coffee or tea facilities. I say if it going to stay beautiful Prague find a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rig1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have just returned from a short break in Prague and were really happy staying at the Botel Albatros. It was conveniently situated only about 10 minutes walk from the old town square and, because it's on the river, was easy to find after a night out! The staff were reasonably friendly and organised transport for us to and from the airport with a 20% discount on the return journey. The cabins were on the small side, but since the price was relatively cheap and we were out most of the time, this was never an issue and just added to the quirkiness!
I would stay here and again and recommend it to those wishing for cheap and convenient accommodation.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view across the river, although this may make a difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#255 of 670 in Prague
208 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#65 of 670 in Prague
341 reviews
Praha 2
U Semika
U Semika
#310 of 670 in Prague
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botel Matylda
#56 of 670 in Prague
545 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Florentina Boat
Florentina Boat
#254 of 670 in Prague
202 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#502 of 670 in Prague
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Albatros

Property: Botel Albatros
Address: Nabrezhi Ludvika Svobody 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Albatros Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing