We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Botel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Botel Albatros
Ranked #324 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here as part of a larger group and it wouldn't be the type of accommodation that I would normally book for myself. On the plus side the reception staff were both friendly and helpful, and it's only about a 10-15 minute walk to most of the central locations that you are likely to be visiting. The hotel facilities are pretty basic with a small bar that shuts before midnight coupled with a small dining area. which at breakfast time proved challenging to find a seat.

Rooms are very small and basic with a pervading smell of stale tobacco. We had a road side room which was pretty noisy throughout the night.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

It's a cheap but nice hotel very close to the center of Prague. Rooms are small but practical, clean but not perfect excelente service.

This Hotel is exactly what you need if you plan to stay in Prague for two or three nigths. It's cheap and close to everything, plus the line 5 is just two blocks away and will lead you directly to the train terminal.

Breakfast is ok, not a lot of things but good enought to fill you stomach and go out to this beautifoul city. The staff is very nice and kind, and they will guide you in the most charmful way to get you anything you need.

Rooms are quite small, they're ok if you are not planning to spend there quite a lot of time and the Internet speed could get better, is not good enough to perform a videoconference but for emails + social networks it works great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are beautiful and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramospablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Cheap hotel with breakfast included.
Hotel not that far from centre of Prague.
Breakfast is ok but not many things to choose from, the restaurant are not that big and a table is hard to get.

Rooms are small but ok. Cleaning could be better, a lot of dust around.

For NON-smokers this hotel is NOT recommended. Smoke gets in from everywhere. In the morning and afternoon the room leaks with tobacco smoke. Very annoying for a Non-smoker to be waken in the morning from tobacco smoke getting in from under the door and cracks ind the walls.
Very annoying.!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed in the Botel early July and thought it excellent value for money and in a very good spot on the river. We were lucky and had river facing rooms, so if you have the option, ask for this, otherwise you face the road. Although some have said in the past that the staff are sullen, this is not so, if you make the effort to be pleasant to them they will respond in kind. There is a lovely little restaurant/bar just a few minutes walk away, with good food and drinks at very good prices (Cafe u Filu) for which I will provide a seperate review. You can take the long walk around the river to the Charles Bridge or cut up the main drag close to the Botel and be in the centre within 10 minutes. The Botel has a great roof-top terrace to drink or eat in. Some in the past have bemoaned the breakfasts, but for the money it is very good - I just do not know what people expect for their money. Rooms are small, but you are on a boat!!!! We went Monday to Friday to avoid the stag parties!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for a river view on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madd0g69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Good things come in small packages. Though the rooms are very small, the location and price can't be beat. The staff was very helpful. everything was immaculate and if the size doesn't bother you, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetgoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from Prague stayed on the Botel Albatross for 4 nights 5 days,
The Botel was very clean the rooms small but we were not in them long as out all day and every evening. We ordered a taxi to pick us up from the airport which did not show up so after an hour of waiting caught a taxi, when we told the re receptionist she said oh it turned up yesterday, that was no good to us. Breakfast on the Boat is ok if you like ham and cheese.

The main problem for us that would stop us going near this Botel in future was the money that went missing from the room, not only did they take £350 but also €180 left over from my holiday to aruba which was in my purse in my handbag that was inside the suitcase, when I emailed the Botel to inform them when I got back from Prague he next day I was told that there staff had been with them for a long time and wouldn't do that, hello I suggest you check your staff again as it clearly went missing on the last night.

There re plenty of lovely looking Botels along the river stay clear of this one, It was my husbands 50th birthday and really put a dampner on the holiday which was a shame as Prague is lovely and I definately will be visiting again but not on the Botel Albatross

Room Tip: Even numbers have views over river odd numbers face front with heavy traffic from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llzando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast, plenty of good options. Very clean and on one day we had a nice suprise on return to our room, as the maids had oragamied our towels into swans, which we thought was a nice quirky touch. My partner and I enjoyed the rustic feel and grand vintage fashion interior, reading some reviews I think some people expect the recreation of the titanic. It's nice to be able to stay somewhere distinctive for a change rather than a chain hotel. Good location main square and train station within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#244 of 646 in Prague
254 reviews
Praha 1
Botel Matylda
Botel Matylda
#68 of 646 in Prague
592 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#564 of 646 in Prague
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 1
Florentina Boat
Florentina Boat
#250 of 646 in Prague
218 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#523 of 646 in Prague
188 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metropolitan Old Town hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Albatros

Address: Nabrezhi Ludvika Svobody 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £24 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Albatros Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing