We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms and tiny shower, but good location and price.”
Review of Botel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Botel Albatros
Ranked #309 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small rooms and tiny shower, but good location and price.”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I booked two single rooms for me and my friend and had a quick answer with confirmation of booking although I haven't paid anything for reservation. We stayed 5 nights and it was a pleasant surprise when receptionist told us that we have to pay for only 4 nigts.
Rooms were wery small with bad sound proofing (I heard when my friend did something in his room). The window was on the riverside and looked like as in a train coach.
The shower was terrible, very tiny and awkward.
Breakfast is average but OK.
Location is very good! Just five minutes walking from Florenc metro station and bus terminal. All places of interest are accessible on foot.
I would recommend this botel to single tourists cause if you're with a friend you can find better hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry_Isaichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    236
    184
    59
    41
See reviews for
74
310
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2009

The hotel was great, it did what it said on the tin. As we were on the river side of the botel we had a nice view of the river, with boats and ducks. The rooms were clean and warm, even though it was chilly outside...however some might find the rooms on the small side. we had a room with two single beds. Although the room were small they were laid out quite well, the bathroom was small but had a decent shower. Only downside was the smoky corridors. Breakfast was continenal nice and filling and had a cute cabin style dining room.
In terms of location it was perfect as it was very close to old town. We walked to most attractions...might be a good idea to bring your comfy walking shoes. The place is easy to get to and appears quite safe.
The staff appeared to get friendlier as my stay went along, there was only two staff members that seemed really happy the others appeared quite unhappy . However when asked for any kind of help they were more than willing to help.

Overall this is a great little stay and cheaper than many hostels in prague!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

stayed at the albatross for a long weekend, the boat is in a excellent location just a few minutes walk into the jewish quarters, and about ten minutes into the old town. breakfast is basic cheese, hams, bread and cereals. rooms are very small but are good just to sleep in.
prague is a lovely place to visit for its history but be warned it is no longer cheap it has become very expensive.
we done everything on foot ( it is very hard going !!!!) if i had known before i went i would have taken a walking sat nav ( you definately need one )
went to prague zoo it is well worth a visit they have really built it back up since the flood.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodø
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Good location near the old city, and 10min walk from the main city. The rooms are small, bud if you are just looking for a place to maintain youre satsh and sleep, this is a very good alternative. The breakfast is very simpel, but there are nice cafes to eat at near by for a cheap zloty. Good houseceeping in the rooms with clean shets and towels every day..

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvittiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

lovely hotel
basic but very clan
friendly staff
great location
basic breakfast but fresh
cleaners came in every day clean towels evey day
loved it will return
cosey rooms not massice beds were comfy

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootilish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kielce
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I stayed in this Botel with my wife for 3 nights and it was nothing like it appeared to be from the online photos and description. The room was tiny with two beds awkwardly pushed together. The shower was barely for one and it wasn't cleaned very well. The room also came with one window similar to those found in old European train cabins so the room was freezing.

The staff were anything but friendly and at times extremely demanding. But in good English.

The location is great with a quick walk to all parts of the city.

Be careful when booking a taxi from the hotel staff. It cost me 150 Crowns to get from the train station to the hotel but if you ask the receptionist to call it for you, you'll have to pay double that. If you get a taxi from the train station or at the airport and the driver speaks good English, ask for his card and arrange it yourself or find yourself a better botel!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshdkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2009

I booked this hotel back in November…admittedly before I read any reviews…but I was very pleasantly surprised.

I had emailed the hotel several times beforehand, confirming our booking, double bed and river side room and I received a reply immediately. We managed to check in around 10am (instead of 2pm) without any hassles. The double beds consisted of 2 singles put together, the room was small, but cosy, with plenty of storage places to put your stuff away.

Breakfast was …interesting. There was orange cordial for a drink, stale bread, sweaty cheese and awful looking ham. There was a selection of cereals too, however the milk on the 3rd day of our stay was nothing but a lumpy glop – we never did quite work out what exactly it was. There are so many local cafes and Old Town Square is only a 5-10 minute walk, so there are other breakfast alternatives.

The staff were friendly (at times) not particularly helpful but our room had new towels every day.

The shower room was quite small. The hot water was a bit temperamental – depending on when you took a shower. It went cold quite quickly.

Very good value for money. To put it into perspective, I paid more for breakfast in Gatwick airport than I did per night in that hotel. You get what you pay for. It’s a brilliant location, its warm and the beds are comfy (ish).

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Value for money, location
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 198767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#251 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#62 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Praha 2
U Semika
U Semika
#318 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botel Matylda
#56 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Florentina Boat
Florentina Boat
#246 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#524 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Albatros

Property: Botel Albatros
Address: Nabrezhi Ludvika Svobody 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Albatros Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing