We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite OK if you do not mind the distance”
Review of Galaxie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galaxie
Ranked #521 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Maisons Alfort
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quite OK if you do not mind the distance”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 6 days as I attended a seminar at the University (10 minutes walking).

This is a confortable, modern hotel, of medium size.
The rooms are quite OK, the breakfast too.
The only problem is the distance to the city. By taxi it takes 25 minutes (on average) by bus and metrro 45.
Not many restaurants around (or shops for the matter) but a good one close to the U.
Also, Internet is free, but works not too well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    37
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
6
27
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in this hotel. They were all friendly, welcoming and happy to help. Although the Galaxie is about 20 mins travel to the centre by bus and metro it's a straightforward journey and a good adventure. If you're going to the university it's a five minute walk. My room was clean and comfy. The bathroom big and smart.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlotteOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It was 25 min with public transport (very cheap tickets from hotel reception) to the city centre. But it was really no problem to get in and out. Taxis are also cheap.

Good: Overall, nice hotel. big, clean rooms. Very friendly, helpful staff. They allowed me to keep my room very late on last day before my flight. Very quiet suburb of city. Not too expensive, so good value.

Not so good:
No air con in my room during hot weather. Breakfast buffet is okay, but quite limited especially if you do not eat meat. The fruit juices at breakfast are really NOT good - more like slightly flavoured, coloured water. The coffee (from a machine) was terrible.

On several mornings, the cleaners were cleaning the breakfast area floors around me, 30 mins before breakfast ended, using noisy vacuum cleaners! Really not good!
Similarly, I was woken up early on 2 mornings by cleaners cleaning the bedroom above me from 7.30 am - noisily moving furniture around on hard floors, polishing floors and banging doors. A lot of early morning noise and disturbance when trying to sleep!

Please try to get your cleaners under control!

Only 1 English language channel on TV - CNN :-(

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGMxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is very good if you need to go to the University CULS or anywhere else in the district of Suchdol, but it is not the best choice for visiting Prague, as Suchdol area is around 20-30 minutes far (bus+metro) from the city centre.
The thing I liked the most was the room (and bathroom): simple, nice, clean and new. It was located at a high floor with view on the square below and it was very quiet. Equipping rooms with minibars or, at least, one bottle of water would be a good choice, as this way guests could avoid long trips to the bar in the middle of the night.
I pretty much disliked all the rest. The hotel is very very big and it mainly accommodates groups, so it is very crowded. Yet, only 1 lift is available. One night I had to wait for around 20 minutes before getting to my room, as a group of tourists - and their big suitcases - had just arrived and they had a "monopoly" on the lift.
Problems with the crowd did also happen at breakfast, when you had the feeling of a barbarian invasion as soon as a group entered the room and 1 single coffee machine was not sufficient at all for serving so many guests.
Wifi is available only in the lobby/breakfast room and you need to ask for a new pwd everyday, while in the rooms only LAN connection is available, so forget to connect to the internet from the room if you do not have a laptop.
Finally, during restaurant opening hours, all the lobby and corridors of the hotel smelled like fried food, and so did your clothes.
This could be a very good place, but big improvements are definitely needed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Don't be fooled by the outside & location.
Stayed here for two nights with National Holidays
Rooms really modern
Mini bar in room (expensive though)
Food really nice not buffet.
Lovely area behind restaurant for a nice sit down & chill.
Bar not bad prices, staff not good @ English.
There is a small Bar linked to the hotel (sports bar)
Don't think barman knew about measures sure we were getting triples

Room Tip: All rooms same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We held a business event for ca. 90 people in this hotel in November 2010. We were very satisfied with the service we got. The staff were helpful and flexible, the hotel interior is modern and elegant, food & catering as you would expect in a good 4 star hotel. The value for money ratio was very good. Free parking onsite, free WiFi if I remember well. Also good access via public transport, although not in the center of Prague (therefore the "average"rating for location). Event participants were very satisfied and so were we.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here on a coach trip to Prague. Our room was very modern, clean, light and airy with a balcony. The food was very basic especially in the evening but that was probably due to the fact we were a coach trip as there was another better looking restaurant. The staff were very helpful. The only thing is the hotel is a good half an hour out of Prague. It took us a bus and metro trip to get into the city on our free day but the hotel provided us with timetables etc. They also Change money in to their own currency as They do not use euros.

Room Tip: The rooms are all modern but even thoug we had a balcony no furniture was provided but the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Carl-Inn Hotel
Carl-Inn Hotel
#412 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Praha 9
Clarion Congress Hotel Prague
Praha 6
Orea Hotel Pyramida
Orea Hotel Pyramida
#218 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Don Giovanni
Hotel Don Giovanni
#170 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#12 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie

Property: Galaxie
Address: Suchdolske namesti 801/9 | Suchdol, Prague 165 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#262 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Galaxie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wienna Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing