We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel near the university”
Review of Galaxie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galaxie
Ranked #515 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights for a conference at the University. It was mostly clean (my floor was consistently grubby but no-one else's was apparently), the service is great and the bed comfy, and they do a nice breakfast. There's no air con though, and the orientation of the building catches the sun so the rooms are pretty stuffy in the summer. I'd actually give it 3 stars overall, but on the last day they let me hang on to the room until the evening when I left, which was great!

Note this isn't anywhere near central Prague, and is a pain to get to with public transport from the town centre (underground train and a bus). The food and beer is pretty good in the restaurant though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_P_Pigglestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

All members of staff at the Hotel Wienna -Galaxie were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. The dinning room/bar and outside patio were very nice. I was attending a conference at the University which is a 10 minute walk away. It was a 25 min bus/tram ride from downtown. The bus route goes right by the hotel and you can purchase tickets from the front desk. Airport access is a 10 min car ride and the hotel will pick you up for a very reasonable price (~15 euro per trip, not per person, so very cheap if you can share the ride).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 6 days as I attended a seminar at the University (10 minutes walking).

This is a confortable, modern hotel, of medium size.
The rooms are quite OK, the breakfast too.
The only problem is the distance to the city. By taxi it takes 25 minutes (on average) by bus and metrro 45.
Not many restaurants around (or shops for the matter) but a good one close to the U.
Also, Internet is free, but works not too well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in this hotel. They were all friendly, welcoming and happy to help. Although the Galaxie is about 20 mins travel to the centre by bus and metro it's a straightforward journey and a good adventure. If you're going to the university it's a five minute walk. My room was clean and comfy. The bathroom big and smart.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlotteOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It was 25 min with public transport (very cheap tickets from hotel reception) to the city centre. But it was really no problem to get in and out. Taxis are also cheap.

Good: Overall, nice hotel. big, clean rooms. Very friendly, helpful staff. They allowed me to keep my room very late on last day before my flight. Very quiet suburb of city. Not too expensive, so good value.

Not so good:
No air con in my room during hot weather. Breakfast buffet is okay, but quite limited especially if you do not eat meat. The fruit juices at breakfast are really NOT good - more like slightly flavoured, coloured water. The coffee (from a machine) was terrible.

On several mornings, the cleaners were cleaning the breakfast area floors around me, 30 mins before breakfast ended, using noisy vacuum cleaners! Really not good!
Similarly, I was woken up early on 2 mornings by cleaners cleaning the bedroom above me from 7.30 am - noisily moving furniture around on hard floors, polishing floors and banging doors. A lot of early morning noise and disturbance when trying to sleep!

Please try to get your cleaners under control!

Only 1 English language channel on TV - CNN :-(

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGMxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is very good if you need to go to the University CULS or anywhere else in the district of Suchdol, but it is not the best choice for visiting Prague, as Suchdol area is around 20-30 minutes far (bus+metro) from the city centre.
The thing I liked the most was the room (and bathroom): simple, nice, clean and new. It was located at a high floor with view on the square below and it was very quiet. Equipping rooms with minibars or, at least, one bottle of water would be a good choice, as this way guests could avoid long trips to the bar in the middle of the night.
I pretty much disliked all the rest. The hotel is very very big and it mainly accommodates groups, so it is very crowded. Yet, only 1 lift is available. One night I had to wait for around 20 minutes before getting to my room, as a group of tourists - and their big suitcases - had just arrived and they had a "monopoly" on the lift.
Problems with the crowd did also happen at breakfast, when you had the feeling of a barbarian invasion as soon as a group entered the room and 1 single coffee machine was not sufficient at all for serving so many guests.
Wifi is available only in the lobby/breakfast room and you need to ask for a new pwd everyday, while in the rooms only LAN connection is available, so forget to connect to the internet from the room if you do not have a laptop.
Finally, during restaurant opening hours, all the lobby and corridors of the hotel smelled like fried food, and so did your clothes.
This could be a very good place, but big improvements are definitely needed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Don't be fooled by the outside & location.
Stayed here for two nights with National Holidays
Rooms really modern
Mini bar in room (expensive though)
Food really nice not buffet.
Lovely area behind restaurant for a nice sit down & chill.
Bar not bad prices, staff not good @ English.
There is a small Bar linked to the hotel (sports bar)
Don't think barman knew about measures sure we were getting triples

Room Tip: All rooms same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 691 in Prague
791 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#20 of 691 in Prague
904 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#534 of 647 in Prague
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#89 of 647 in Prague
3,307 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#139 of 647 in Prague
5,089 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#182 of 647 in Prague
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie

Address: Suchdolske namesti 801/9 | Suchdol, Prague 165 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#259 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £77 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galaxie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wienna Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing