We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, tired and depressing”
Review of Bily Lev

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bily Lev
Ranked #288 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old, tired and depressing”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This review is based a booking made on our behalf. Upon arrival, the outside if the building looked promising, nice frontage and looked returned. However when walking into foyer it quickly became apparent that the hotel was dated. The lift could only fit 1 person and my luggage, the rest of the party had to either walk the stairs or wait. We asked for a double bed however there were 2 singles. When we requested to have a double bed, we were informed that we just needed to push the beds together........?!?!? The room was very hot, besides it being December and 2 degrees outside. We ended up turning off the heater completely and opening up the window whilst we slept. The carpets were tired and dirty. On the upside, the bathroom seemed newly refurbished but little things were annoying, such as the exhaust fan automatically turning off after 20 secs and the shower head and hose being broken. The curtains were not block out curtains and there was an outside wall light shining directly into window so I ended up wearing a sleeping mask. I would avoid this hotel and pay a bit more closer to the city.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    79
    54
    13
    23
See reviews for
43
100
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights. The room was very nice and clean, breakfast was also OK, although basic and the same every day, the receptionist was helpful with the information though it won't hurt him to smile a little bit and the lady attending to breakfast room was quite gloomy. We booked the hotel through our local travel agency and there was no problem with the reservation. The location is OK, not so far away from the center, just a few tram stops and the trams run every 5 min. What I did not like is the price of parking (12 EUR) per night, too expensive. They charged us even for the day our car was not parked there at all, since we took a trip to Karlove Vary. When I add the price of the room, the price of parking and the price of the tram tickets, we could have stayed in a hotel at the center for the same amount of money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The gentlemen at the reception is quite nice. BE CAREFULLY WITH TWO THINGS: There will be nobody at all at the reception after 7pm. but its not a problem. just call the hotel number and he will tell u where to find the keys. also, it's not in the city centre. Take tram 9 to the stop husinecka if u arrive at the central railway station Hlavni Nadrazi. Then walk up until u pass a Chinese restaurant and turn left at the first cross. I have to say traffic in Prague is realty convenient!!!! Make use of TRAMS!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikaW464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Well, I booked with Expedia over a week in advance. I called the hotel the day before I arrived to let them know that I was arriving later than expected...Guess what? They didn't even have me registered as a guest for the days I had booked!! I don't know if it was a problem with expedia. (which I doubt because I've used expedia for years and have never had a problem like this. So, they put me in a small double-bed room. It was small, uncomfortable and had no way to relax in it. The sheets were horrible, as were the pillows. The toilet barely flushed and everything in this room was outdated. Only thing positive to say was that the hot water was pretty decent as well as the free wi-fi internet. It's a 10-15 walk to center Prague, located in the "ghetto" as mentioned in the other reviews. I found the hotel staff friendly, but not the best at service. They forgot to give me a card key to the door and after 5pm the reception leaves for the night. To my surprise I could not enter the hotel and I had to walk to Hotel Seferit to get a key. Yet, the guy at Seferit told me to go back and use the call box and he would buzz me in. I did, was able to get in. But all of this wasn't fun when you've been drinking from a night out in the town. But, I wasn't really there to enjoy the hotel, it was just me and I'm not that picky as long as there is a bed, bathroom & wifi to stay in touch with the family. To all of you who would like a great experience in Prague I would suggest to pay the extra money and stay in the Old Town Center.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Although there is a bit of a walk into Prague 1 I like this hotel as it very welcoming and friendly. The are can seem a bit intimidating as it is dark however there is a police station next to the hotel (although I have had my foot run over by one of their cars) and the area appears to me to be safe as long as you don't look like a naive westerner. The hotel has a free computer to use in the reception area. Rooms are furnished with pictures from soviet Czechoslovakia with many other features in the hotel remaining from soviet times including the lift. Breakfast is free and the safe are very friendly, chatty and well connected with reputable taxis and other services. There are many restaurants, bars and shops in the immediate area.

Room Tip: this hotel gets used a lot for school trips. Try not to get a room next to a group of teenage girls
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

6 of us Rugby Muvva's went to Prague in March 2012. It was quite basic accomodation on arrival, but we had the Best time, Breakfast was alway good, staff were friendly and you could come in late from the Cocktail Bar next door. Beds were extremely comfortable too. Bathrooms were all New and very clean throughout.
Would Stay there again. x
Staff rang for taxi's etc for us whenever we needed them. x

Room Tip: Stay in the Back of the hotel away from the road, it may be quieter for the light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nizwa, Oman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Not situated in a good nieghbourhood. Gets dark and shady in the night. We were shocked the unfriendly and unprofessional staff. The sheets and towels were filthy...

Would not reccomend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyeshaMualla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Seifert
Hotel Seifert
#231 of 649 in Prague
370 reviews
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#355 of 649 in Prague
429 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Taurus
Hotel Taurus
#254 of 649 in Prague
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#349 of 649 in Prague
185 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Otakar
Hotel Otakar
#486 of 649 in Prague
242 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Dalimil
Hotel Dalimil
#266 of 649 in Prague
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bily Lev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bily Lev

Property: Bily Lev
Address: Cimburkova 275/20, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bily Lev 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bily Lev is located directly in the centre, in the unique atmosphere of Zizkov, only 1 km or three stops from the Wenceslas Square by tram. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bily Lev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bily Lev Hotel
Bily Lev Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing