We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not ideal for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre
Ranked #230 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not ideal for business travel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I recently spent 9 nights at this hotel whilst on business in Prague. The hotel itself was OK, however I have stayed in much better Holiday Inn's. For a start the internet access was poor and at its very best 'intermittent'. The reception/bar area, where I seemed to spend most of my time attemping to connect is far from welcoming and the service is not great. Breakfast is a bit of a free for all at busy times and the choice is not great (whatever you do....dont forget your 'token') and be prepared to spend the night beneath the worlds smallest duvet!!! On the plus side the hotel is well located and the reception staff were really helpful. As others have said the restaurant food is quite good though relatively expensive, as are the drinks. You might want to try the 'candelabra' situated beneath the ABB sign opposite, though not 'lavish' there's a better choice.....and the beer is better!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Dave S,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced. I appreciate you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    295
    138
    42
    25
See reviews for
90
151
52
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed one night here recently as a base to explore Prague. I found the location very nice with a an easy walk to the train station. From there it was a breeze to get into the main town.

The room was comfortable and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast was just OK and could have been better. The fruit choices were extremely limited.

All in all, it was a good hotel for my needs on this trip

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PepeTravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed here for about 2 weeks on a business trip. I was quite happy with the hotel as a whole. Friendly and competent staff, meals in the restaurant are quite nice, although on the expensive side - as it seems to be for any hotel restaurant in Prague (and many other places). Drinks are quite expensive, so you may want to go elsewhere for that. Vysehrad metro station is just around the corner of the congress center, and if you want to take a stroll, Vysehrad itself is close by (beautiful and well-kept cemetry, lovely church with very reasonable ticket prices & a couple of parks to relax in). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boca_Culebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

After making a mistake on my reservation, I was told by customer service that I could modify/upgrade my reservation without incurring a cancellation fee and THEY LIED. This hotel robbed me of $400 dollars. I was an honest human being/customer, and they could care less, its all about the money! Prague is full of scammers and they are the best at it! So much for a romantic trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jpetry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana B, Manager at Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear madam,

the management of the hotel regrets the situation, but the hotel acted in a right and correct way and entirely in accordance with the IHG booking policy. You booked your stay choosing a non-refundable cheaper rate, and the information you were given- as you claim - in the telephone call was entirely misleading . Noone from the hotel would have ever told you that it was possible to get the refund for this reservation, and the conditions of booking are always clearly given in the booking form. If you were given this information in the central reservation office, the hotel cannot assume responsibility for someone´s other mistake.
Also, your review could be opposed in the fact you have not stayed in our hotel, despite claiming you were.
Nevertheless, we offer you to keep the sum of 362,15 USD as the deposit for your future stay in our hotel within the year 2013. Please, feel free to contact our reservation department and make a new reservation for another term till 31.12.2013.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is two stops away from Musium closest station to the old city. The gardens are walking distance. Decent size rooms and good breakfast spread. Recommend don't use hotel cabs as they are 3/4 times more expensive than regular street taxis. We were shocked at the overnight parking charges at 500 CK.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaytee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Level Contributor
532 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

stay recently in this hotel for business and I can say it's nice place in Praha.
the room are nice and large.
the hotel have been rebuilt
bathroom is nice and well equiped.
the staff is very friendly and eager to help.
the breakfast has a large choice.
I ate dinner there and it was also a nice surprise
you can easy go to the center with the tub next to the hotel
the only bad point of the hotel is the smoking area, you have to go thru when you are getting in the hotel and you want to go to the lift and also when you go to breakfast you have to go thru it also
so this point is not very nice but globally a good address

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Experience with this hotel is very average overall, but comparing to other Holiday Inn hotels where I usually stay is under-average.
Room wasn't fully cleaned (spider nets) and overall service is not impressive. Staff are mostly not motivated and you don't see many smiles.
Apart from the front desk lady that checked me in I haven't seen a friendly face.
Lobby bar is full staffed, but even with empty tables you don't really get served fast (they see you, observe, but don't come to the table).
If you're here on business: WiFi is free, but works terribly, especially in the rooms (I was in 536). Hardly to connect via VPN.

My suggestion is to skip it if you're on the biz trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana B, Manager at Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear sir,

thank you for your review on our hotel despite its negative tone. The management of the hotel deeply regrets the image of the hotel you got. We permanently train our staff towards guest satisfaction, but will do it even on a more intensive basis after your experience and comment.
Also, we do not usually have any complaints of the cleanliness, and feel deeply sorry for the spider web you noticed in your room.
Would you plese accept our deep apologies and - if possible - give us a chance to improve our image in your eyes by coming to our hotel on some future occasion?

Thank you very much,

with regards,

Jana Budinska, resident manager, HI Prague Congress Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Corinthia Hotel Prague
#153 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,163 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Coronet
Hotel Coronet
#272 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#11 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 6
Holiday Inn Prague Airport
Holiday Inn Prague Airport
#262 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Praha 5
NH Prague City
NH Prague City
#155 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Praha 3
Courtyard Prague City
Courtyard Prague City
#101 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre
Address: Na Pankraci 1684/15, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in Prague
#184 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#190 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Prague, Czech Republic. HOLIDAY INN PRAGUE CONGRESS CENTRE. 4* Luxury hotel offers unique concept of interiors complemented by works from the world's top designers. As a proof of its singularity the hotel was declared THE BEST HOTEL PROJECT OF THE YEAR in the prestigious Best of Realty 2001 development competition.The hotel is situated just 5 minutes from the city centre, only few steps from the oldest Prague historical monument - Vysehrad castle and large green park with panoramic view of Prague. Hotel is easily accessible for tourist clientele giving them a perfect base for seeing the historical sights. The underground station is only 150 m from the hotel. Famous Wenceslas Square is just two stops by underground and from there tourists can have a delightful walk down to the Old Town and follow the Royal route across Charles Bridge up to Prague Castle. The hotel offers its guests 251 elegantly and modern furnished rooms including 50 executive rooms, 8 suites as well as 2 rooms for disabled guests. All rooms are equipped with free wireless Wi-Fi connection. The hotel restaurant, the Cafe Restaurant Esprit, achieved the best ranking in TOP 50 Hotels restaurant and was esteemed the BEST HOTEL RESTAURANT OF 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre Hotel Prague
Prague Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing