We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute booking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Praha Mala Strana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ranked #187 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Last minute booking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The old Town of Prague is about 25 minutes walk away and if you like shopping, there is quite a large shopping complex next door to the hotel.
One down side is the trams rolling past and the odd police car going by with the sirens going but I would fault the hotel for that.
Would I stay here again should I come back to Prague, I'd have to say yes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISMALASTRANA, General Manager at Ibis Praha Mala Strana, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Good morning, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your review on our hotel, we are all pleased at the Ibis Praha Mala Strana, that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and in Prague. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.
Regards, Michal Tomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    717
    232
    39
    24
See reviews for
219
591
169
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights after returning to Prague from Vienna. It was a few months ago in May, but we still remember quite clearly as we thoroughly enjoyed our time. Breakfast was great, setting you up to hit the streets for the rest of the day - the location is good, being right in the heart of a shopping centre and markets. We were also able to catch the tram to the old city, or stay on the tram and go for miles, and yet also quite easily find our way back. We stayed at two places while in Prague, with a visit to Vienna in between. The staff at the Ibis were friendly, professional and helpful. It was also great to be staying at the same place as lots of other overseas tourists (even though we didn't know them) as this was one thing we all had in common. The only disappointment was when our payments were mixed up, and reception didn't at first have any knowledge that our room had been pre-paid. After quite abit of discussion this was sorted out, but I would advise you have proof of payment if pre-paying your stay here. Otherwise, apart from that, we enjoyed our stay, our room although quite compact, had everything we needed, and was modern and comfortable. There is also a restaurant that's open for all meals, although we only had breakfast here, which was delicious, with a huge variety of foods to choose from. Note: May is a great time to visit Prague, as its Spring and the weather is great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champ1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISMALASTRANA, General Manager at Ibis Praha Mala Strana, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
I am glad that you have had an enjoyable stay here with us in Ibis Praha Mala Strana hotel. We strive to always enhance the quality of service and guest satisfaction, I will pass on to the team your comments, and we hope to see you soon back in our hotel.
Regards,

Michal Tomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Although the room was small and basic, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Location good for visiting both the old and new part of town - easy to walk across the river to the old town, but public transport very good if walking is too much effort. Breakfast excellent. We didn't use the hotel restaurant in the evening but had very good, inexpensive meals at the Italian restaurant across the road. The main down side to our stay was the very noisy location - our bedroom window looked out onto the loading bay of Tesco, and delivery vehicles were arriving throughout the night. The noise this created, together with general traffic noise of a busy road and frequent emergency vehicle sirens made achieving a good night's sleep quite a challenge. Service was good, staff friendly and helpful, minor problem with shower was sorted out straight away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel to the Tesco shopping complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISMALASTRANA, General Manager at Ibis Praha Mala Strana, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay with us at the Ibis Praha Mala Strana. I am sorry that the noise disturbing your stay, rest assured that the team and I will review your comments and we will do our best to improve on those points.
I hope this will not deter you from returning to Ibis Praha Mala Strana in the future to check on our progress.
regards
Michal Tomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel is very close to shopping centre with excellent public transport and restaurants nearby. By contrast there is a lot of traffic, sirens sounds and trams tremble which starts at 05.00 am. The room includes the essential with no safe, no rubbish bin and just five clothes hungers. Housekeeping was essential too with used glasses left unwashed and empty soap dispenser left unchanged for one day. In spite upon arrival I asked whether the rate included breakfast and got a positive answer, it was fully charged instead, suggesting that the Hotel policy may not have been clear during my reservation or leaving discretion for extra charges. The room air conditioning was centrally switched off and it became uncomfortable during my second week of staying as the temperature dropped about 11 degree at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISMALASTRANA, General Manager at Ibis Praha Mala Strana, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay with us at the Ibis Praha Mala Strana. I am sorry that some of the hotel facilities and services were not up to your expectations, rest assured that the team and I will review your comments and we will do our best to improve on those points.
I hope this will not deter you from returning to Ibis Praha Mala Strana in the future to check on our progress.
Regards,
Michal Tomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

In one of my business trips to Praha , I stayed in this hotel.
Very centrally located, and excellent value for money. The hotel staff is very curtious and the resturant has a wide variety of choice. A must try option if you are going to Praha. Another advantage is that it is quite close to the old city :)

Room Tip: Avoid taking rooms towards the road side. Its a little bit noisy due to the adjoining overbridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atmaprakashmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISMALASTRANA, General Manager at Ibis Praha Mala Strana, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments,
I will surely share your positive feed back with the team, we strive to always try to provide the best possible service to our guests, and I am pleased that we managed to make your stay an enjoyable one.
We hope to welcome you back very soon at Ibis Praha Mala Strana.
Regards, Michal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Recently spent two nights here with a coach party. Rooms clean and tidy, disappointed only two trowels though. Oh boy was it obvious it was a room at a price, the evening meal was so bad that on the 2nd night we eat out at the Italian restaurant opposite which puts this hotel to shame. You get what you pay for. Breakfast was not much better, watered down juices and coffee that wasb awful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweatysock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISMALASTRANA, General Manager at Ibis Praha Mala Strana, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay with us at the Ibis Praha Mala Strana. I am sorry that our restaurant services were not up to your expectations, rest assured that the team and I will review your comments and we will do our best to improve on those points.
I hope this will not deter you from returning to Ibis Praha Mala Strana in the future to check on our progress.
Regards,
Michal Tomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

As part of a recent trip to Prague, I stayed in this hotel for the second part of my trip having stayed in the Hilton Old Town for the first part of my trip. When booking a hotel, I do look for the best possible value, but as I get older, I have tried to steer clear of hotels described as 3* but which in reality are not much better than a hostel (and a bad hostel at that). Past experience of extremely poor quality bedding and room fittings (carpets, walls etc) have made me wary of trying to book something a little better but also still sticking to a VFM policy.
In terms of location, this hotel is 2 mins from the nearest tram stop and 4 mins to the nearest metro (incl the time to negotiate Prague's long escalators!). Both these forms of transport can get you to the New Town (Wenc Sq) or Old Town in less than 10 mins. Even if you ignore public transport, it is a pleasant 25 minute walk into either of these areas. The hotel is located about 100 yards from the Novy Smichov shopping Mall - with loads of shops including Tesco! They also have a varied selection of restaurants and fast food chains on the top floor. Many other reviews mention this too.
As for the hotel - it looks very new or recently refurbished - the bedroom was very spacious - the bed was reasonably comfortable - the TV was ok - and the toilet/shower facilities were good.
I did not have breakfast booked with my room (it was available for 11 euro extra - a little too pricey for me) - I did have one drink in the hotel bar - all very pleasant - prices were ok - but several local bars in this area are much cheaper. The hotel also provides internet facilities in the lobby free of charge - this was very useful for me.
Ok - so overall, I can't have too many complaints. I booked the room in Accor's Super Sale - supposedly 50% off - and I got it for £90 for 3 nights. My only slight negative is the lack of things that I would expect a 3* hotel to provide:

coffee facilities in the room
room safe (ok - maybe I'm pushing things here for a 3*)
fridge (same as above)
individual toiletries - the room provided a "squeezy" bottle both in the shower and hand basin - but no individual little toiletries.

However, when I was in the lift, I noticed that all of these items could be purchased at an additional cost - somewhere in the region of £3.50/day for fridge, £4 for coffee and £7 for toiletry set - ok no option on the room safe.

I guess my opinion had been skewed by my stay in the Hilton for the previous 3 nights and I was expecting too much of a 3* hotel.

However, despite this slight negative, please do no let this ruin my overall positive experience.

Just one last thing, the staff in this hotel are of an exceptional quality- they were all very well presented, they spoke English very well (and probably several other languages), they were extremely helpful with any queries I had - and they were very pleasant.

I would definitely book this hotel again for VFM - and the location is great if you can get over the "wrong side of the river" syndrome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousehole799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISMALASTRANA, General Manager at Ibis Praha Mala Strana, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Good morning, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your review on our hotel, we are all pleased at the Ibis Praha Mala Strana, that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and in Prague. We strive to always enhance the quality of service and guest satisfaction, I will pass on to the team your comments and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Regards, Michal Tomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#154 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Wenceslas Square
Praha 5
NH Prague City
NH Prague City
#155 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#117 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#238 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Praha Mala Strana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Praha Mala Strana

Property: Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Address: Plzenska 3190/14 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#158 Family Hotel in Prague
#159 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Praha Mala Strana 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Praha Mala Strana is centrally located, close to the historical district of Mala Strana. Most attractions are within walking distance, e.g. Charles Bridge (20 mins away), Prague Castle and Old Town Square. Wenceslas Square is only 3 stops away by public transport. All 225 rooms have AC, TV, radio, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi connection, soundproof windows. 3 rooms for disabled guests available. Restaurant, bar, parking, 3 meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Praha Mala Strana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Praha Mala Strana Hotel Prague
Ibis Hotel Prague
Accor Praha Mala Strana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing