We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and well connected”
Review of Hotel Kavalir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kavalir
Ranked #265 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The hotel is situated in the suburb of Kavalirka, Prague 5. At first we thought this might be inconveniently far from the centre, but in reality it's no such thing. There is a tram stop just outside the hotel which will take you into the centre in less than 15 minutes, and, if you're so minded, you could even walk it in under 30 minutes, or so the receptionist told me.
My single room was at the front of the hotel. Again I was worried by the noise, but actually it's not so bad with the window shut; in fact I found the low, electric whir of the tramway strangely soothing. I had a good night's sleep and I'm not a heavy sleeper. The room was a little on the small side, but it was clean and well equipped with a nice en suite.
Breakfast is included in the price. It's a typical German/Central European affair, i.e. what the British would call a continental breakfast, but with ham, cheese, cakes and hard-boiled eggs. It's rather good, but watch out for the boiled eggs: when they came out, there was always a bit of a rush for them.
We were not driving, but I noticed there was a small car park in the hotel's cellar. I don't think it is included in the price, however.
If you are on a bit of a budget, there are some little grocery shops nearby. We came back for a rest one lunchtime, and went to small shop on the street and bought a couple of cooked sausages and tins of Gambrinus beer. The shopkeeper was a lady of a certain age who spoke no English, but we managed with a lot of gesticulation and a little help from a phrase book we got out of our local library at home: sausage is "klobasi" and beer is "pivo" in Czech.
If you are really on a food budget, the staff told me there was a big shopping centre with a Tesco (Brit supermarket) 30 minutes' walk away, but we did not avail ourselves of this.
I should also mention that the staff spoke good English, were good-humoured and very ready to help.
All in all it's a good and great for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

Hotel is located 15-20 minutes by tram from the Prague center. The tram stop is right in front of the hotel. It is somewhat noisy in the hotel. The breakfast is OK: cheese, sausage. Wireless Interner is a very poor quality. The TV set in the room is so small so you cannot watch it form the bad. I haven't seen such a small TV set for the last 30 years.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 649,001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

"Kavalir" is good for its price. A bit noisy, rooms were very clean but small, the breakfast was tasty and not a bad variety. Hotel is conveniently located across from the tram stop and in 15-20 minutes with a tram you are right in the city center. The announced wi-fi internet is terrible,that's true:(

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Room was very dated and musty but clean. Front desk service was cordial but not particularly friendly. Conveniently located across from tram stop, but not near much of anything in walking distance and what little there is surrounding it closes at 10 or 11. Good free breakfast if you're into that, but the wifi was terrible, although they advertise that it's free in your room. I moved to a hostel after the 2nd nite and had a much better experience there. Wouldn't stay here if it was my first time to prague.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Kavalír Hotel is great value for money, as the price is really good even in summer during the high tourist season.
The rooms are nice, clean and there is a tram station right outside the hotel and in 15-20 minutes you are right in the city center.
Very recommendable, I have booked it for friends for they stay and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelaK94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Step back in time in this typically east european hotel ( much dark wood and chandeliers) but that was part of its charm. The only complaints were the hard beds and because its on the main road a certain amount of traffic noise. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was not a bad variety. The trams to the city centre stop outside which is convenient. For the price not a bad stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jilloutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Rooms are clean , had a triple for 2 so had some extra space.very basic but for $40 odd a night it was worth it. Tram outside door into city or andel in no time. It's a basic hotel without luxury .clean and secure. Furniture could do with an upgrade. Breakfast was very average. Location is great if you just want a base to sightsee but if you plan a big night out on the town be mindful that it's a long walk home or a cab if you miss the last tram.I would stay there again for the price we paid. Staff were helpful.Beds could be upgraded soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilhelmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#329 of 646 in Prague
351 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Marketa
Hotel Marketa
#330 of 646 in Prague
126 reviews
Praha 3
Apollon
Apollon
#286 of 646 in Prague
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#97 of 646 in Prague
924 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#531 of 646 in Prague
190 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf Depandance
Hotel Golf Depandance
#220 of 646 in Prague
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kavalir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kavalir

Address: Plzenska 1219/177, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £23 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kavalir 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Hotel Kavalir, located on the main street in Prague 5, 15 minutes from the international Václav Havel Airport Prague, with easy accessibility to business and historical center of Prague, disposes of total of 50 standard equipped rooms with free Wi-Fi Internet connection and underground parking. In the proximity of the hotel can be found renowned shopping centre Andel – Novy Smichov with a range of shopping facilities, boutiques, cinemas, restaurants and cafes, and also the famous parks Klamovka and Ladronka which provide ideal conditions for active leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kavalir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavalir Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing