We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleaning lady lets the side down!!!”
Review of Hotel Kavalir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kavalir
Ranked #282 of 649 Hotels in Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cleaning lady lets the side down!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

On arrival at the hotel all seemed ok and the room was clean. Apart from the second day, after cleaning there was a pair of socks left in our room and they weren't mine or my mothers!! Breakfast was average, no effort had gone into it. The receptionist and lady at breakfast were very nice and hospitable. The main issue with this hotel was that my mother had kc2000 stolen from our room. Only one cleaning lady so not hard to work out where it had gone! My mother had left the money on the side for me to pick up but I didn't and on our return to the hotel it was gone. This is a substantial amount of money and it was our first night at the hotel so obviously not a tip! We were offered to have the police involved but we would get nowhere with that! The receptionist was very apologetic but this wouldn't retrieve my mothers money! I hope that cleaning lady put it to good use as we were £80 down! The issue with this hotel is the cleaning staff! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    94
    63
    12
    7
See reviews for
43
93
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The hotel is situated in the suburb of Kavalirka, Prague 5. At first we thought this might be inconveniently far from the centre, but in reality it's no such thing. There is a tram stop just outside the hotel which will take you into the centre in less than 15 minutes, and, if you're so minded, you could even walk it in under 30 minutes, or so the receptionist told me.
My single room was at the front of the hotel. Again I was worried by the noise, but actually it's not so bad with the window shut; in fact I found the low, electric whir of the tramway strangely soothing. I had a good night's sleep and I'm not a heavy sleeper. The room was a little on the small side, but it was clean and well equipped with a nice en suite.
Breakfast is included in the price. It's a typical German/Central European affair, i.e. what the British would call a continental breakfast, but with ham, cheese, cakes and hard-boiled eggs. It's rather good, but watch out for the boiled eggs: when they came out, there was always a bit of a rush for them.
We were not driving, but I noticed there was a small car park in the hotel's cellar. I don't think it is included in the price, however.
If you are on a bit of a budget, there are some little grocery shops nearby. We came back for a rest one lunchtime, and went to small shop on the street and bought a couple of cooked sausages and tins of Gambrinus beer. The shopkeeper was a lady of a certain age who spoke no English, but we managed with a lot of gesticulation and a little help from a phrase book we got out of our local library at home: sausage is "klobasi" and beer is "pivo" in Czech.
If you are really on a food budget, the staff told me there was a big shopping centre with a Tesco (Brit supermarket) 30 minutes' walk away, but we did not avail ourselves of this.
I should also mention that the staff spoke good English, were good-humoured and very ready to help.
All in all it's a good and great for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Hotel is located 15-20 minutes by tram from the Prague center. The tram stop is right in front of the hotel. It is somewhat noisy in the hotel. The breakfast is OK: cheese, sausage. Wireless Interner is a very poor quality. The TV set in the room is so small so you cannot watch it form the bad. I haven't seen such a small TV set for the last 30 years.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 649001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

"Kavalir" is good for its price. A bit noisy, rooms were very clean but small, the breakfast was tasty and not a bad variety. Hotel is conveniently located across from the tram stop and in 15-20 minutes with a tram you are right in the city center. The announced wi-fi internet is terrible,that's true:(

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Room was very dated and musty but clean. Front desk service was cordial but not particularly friendly. Conveniently located across from tram stop, but not near much of anything in walking distance and what little there is surrounding it closes at 10 or 11. Good free breakfast if you're into that, but the wifi was terrible, although they advertise that it's free in your room. I moved to a hostel after the 2nd nite and had a much better experience there. Wouldn't stay here if it was my first time to prague.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Kavalír Hotel is great value for money, as the price is really good even in summer during the high tourist season.
The rooms are nice, clean and there is a tram station right outside the hotel and in 15-20 minutes you are right in the city center.
Very recommendable, I have booked it for friends for they stay and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelaK94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Step back in time in this typically east european hotel ( much dark wood and chandeliers) but that was part of its charm. The only complaints were the hard beds and because its on the main road a certain amount of traffic noise. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was not a bad variety. The trams to the city centre stop outside which is convenient. For the price not a bad stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jilloutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hotel Mars
#513 of 649 in Prague
126 reviews
Praha 5
Austria Suites
Austria Suites
#273 of 649 in Prague
128 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#92 of 649 in Prague
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 6
Hotel Marketa
Hotel Marketa
#370 of 649 in Prague
111 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#319 of 649 in Prague
728 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#346 of 649 in Prague
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kavalir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kavalir

Property: Hotel Kavalir
Address: Plzenska 1219/177, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kavalir 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Hotel Kavalir, located on the main street in Prague 5, 15 minutes from the international Václav Havel Airport Prague, with easy accessibility to business and historical center of Prague, disposes of total of 50 standard equipped rooms with free Wi-Fi Internet connection and underground parking. In the proximity of the hotel can be found renowned shopping centre Andel – Novy Smichov with a range of shopping facilities, boutiques, cinemas, restaurants and cafes, and also the famous parks Klamovka and Ladronka which provide ideal conditions for active leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kavalir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavalir Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing