We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eastern holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #70 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    841
    136
    24
    21
See reviews for
380
1,142
167
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If I was looking for a weekend away in Prague, I would certainly recommend this hotel. Awesome location, friendly staff, nice rooms with very high ceilings, lovely beds, good power shower, terrific breakfast, but..........
The slowest internet in history. I mean ultra 1997 slow. I spend probably the best part of 120 nights a year in Prague hotels so have stayed in a good few, and I can say without hesitation that this hotel has the slowest internet in this city. I certainly can't stream any movies on my iPad, and I have given up trying to download a paltry 3Mb file for work. A real shame as I would happily stay here on a regular basis, but this means I can't.

Room Tip: Frank Kafka used to work in room 214. He wasn't a cleaner here, this used to be his office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qprtim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina F, Operations Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you first of all for having booked our hotel on your last visit in Prague. We do appreciate your constructive feedback, as customer satisfaction is our key duty and we try to improve it daily.

Please be assured that we do take all necessary mesures to improve the internet connection - therefore, our IT Manager is checking all rooms close to the one that you've been into to track the possible misfunctions.

We would be delighted if you could give us the chance to welcome you again - we will show you several rooms where you can easilty check our internet connectivity. And in terms of service, you will always feel most welcome and well treated here!

With kind ergards,

Alina Fugaciu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Probably one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. It is a hotel designed to enhance the charm of Prague for its guests. Mr. Cristoph Bergeron is a general manager who leads the culture of service both in the premises and on social media for those who require. Rooms are tastefully decorated and amenities have the same personal touch (hand written welcome post card, hand written daily weather forecast, high quality pillows and duvets) and the breakfast is also excellent. Location is not bad at all. Walking distance to town square, jewish quarter, Wenceslas square. Castle is a bit far if you are planning a hike but still doable. Tram stop and a nice mall called Paladium are a few seconds away. Halal restaurant (Istanbul II) is across the road. Can also dine at a Pakistani joint 5 min away. We walked (with luggage) from the main train station and it was quite ok. Highly Recommended for couples or families taking a vacation in Praha.

Only minor suggestions to improve would be control of volume for tv speaker in the bathroom and air conditioning which was on heating mode throughout.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aamir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina F, Operations Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your wonderfull comments on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Your comments are truly appreciated and our team will be very happy to read them as well.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Alina Fugaciu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great hotel and having booked a special offer on Accor I thought it was good value. However, the room was a little small which was disappointing. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast selection was also really good.

I would stay here again and recommend looking for special offers to make an excellent-value stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina F, Operations Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Century Old Town Hotel in Prague and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for leaving your impressions on Tripadvisor. With regards to the room size, kindly note that our building is a historical one, originally it had been the headoffice of an important insurance company where the writer Franz Kafka used to work for many years. Therefore the entire atmosphere in the hotel is special, from walls to the qualitative service we strive to provide every day.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you againin the near future.

Sincerely,

Alina Fugaciu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I sadi at this hotel for 12 days prior to Easter. It is a good central location and yet remarkably quiet. Large rooms and very comfortable beds (recently new mattresses I believe). Staff are helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: The inner-facing rooms have no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGA1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina F, Operations Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel and for taking the time to share your nice experience with us. I am really glad that we've met all your expectations and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alina Fugaciu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were warmly greeted by the kind staff upon our arrival and immediately felt welcome. Our room was immaculate and quiet. There was plenty of room in the safe and we had a fridge and an electric kettle. A few more hangers and a ledge above the wash basin with a guard around it for bottles etc. would have been nice. But the toilet items we received were first class!
The breakfast was fantastic - there was a lot of healthy food A first class omelette chef made us delicious dishes every morning.
On the second day of our trip I fell over (one has to take care on Prague's cobbled streets). I managed to get around nevertheless, but the hotel saw my predicament and sent me there and back in a car to a hospital, where I was tended to. My partner and I were able to carry on with our daily trips.
We will never forget the natural kindness of all of you - I have been to many hotels in my lifetime and you stand very high on my list.from any point of view

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dynamon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina F, Operations Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having chosen Century Old Town Hotel on your last visit in Prague. We are very glad to have met all your expectations as this shows that our daily efforts are pleasantly rewarded.

Should you wish to return to our lovely city, please do not hesitate to contact us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Respectfully,

Alina Fugaciu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We came to Prauge to celebrate our birthday (me and my mom) and choosing this hotel was the perfect choice.
The nice staff welcomed us very warmly. Check in was quick and they provided us with a lot of information and suggestions for tours, concerts etc.
Rooms were very very clean. We asked for a quite room and we got 226 and 228 that are away from the elevator and facing the back yard. They were cleaned everyday with new towels.
Breakfast was very rich and tasty!
The hotel is an old building that was renovated very nicely. As the famous writer, Franz Kafka used to work in this place all the spirit of the hotel is of that historical writer. The walls are decorated with photos of him and his family, friends and lovers and also their are some of his belongings that are presented in special cupboards (typewriter, pens, letters...)
The location of the hotel is superb. Just minute walk from the Republic square close to the metro station and all the touristic attractions.
But above all that we want to mention the kindness, efficiency and willing to help of all the staff members! They arranged for us all that we need: tickets to the black theater show WOW and a concert in the municipal house; getting transportation very quickly (they have their own texi service with fair prices) and answered to all our questions.
AND
As they noticed it was our birthday we got a bottle of champagne to our room on behalf of the hotel! That was a big surprise!
We definitely recommend this lovely hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your wonderfull comments on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Your comments are truly appreciated and my team will be very happy to read it as well

We all look forward to welcoming you back again,


Sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#158 of 649 in Prague
2,841 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#89 of 649 in Prague
2,744 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
#32 of 649 in Prague
261 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Na Porici 1075/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Prague
#61 Business Hotel in Prague
#63 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#79 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Old Town surrounded by galleries, boutiques, cafes, the hotel makes for the perfect place to stay. This magical 4 star hotel is a neo baroque 19th century building elegantly decorated creating a unique ambience, combined with wonderful service ensuring your stay will be full of memories. Indulge in the upmost comfort and historical roots of the hotel where the famous Czech writer Franz Kafka spent 12 years of his life, we will make it to be unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing