We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much-a decent base”
Review of Hotel Mucha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mucha
Ranked #196 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a lovely little hotel but not for those expecting modern decor. I read a framed article which shows the hotel is proud of it's style however I found the furniture too dark and a bit gothic-ish! Some of the pictures on the wall were a little questionable too! : ) However it is spotlessly clean and the reception area is lovely. The staff were so helpful and friendly - something I couldn't say for everyone in Prague although I had been warned about this. Breakfast was ok - cold meats, yoghurts, cakes, frankfurters and sloppy scrambled egg (I like mine very dry!). The breakfast is served in the basement which felt a bit enclosed. Shower was powerful but didn't reach the shower head holder in my room and the holder was too low down in my friend's room.The hotel is a good 10 minute walk to the Old Town and although I thought the area it was in seemed ok at first, the further I got to the Old Town and explored Prague, I saw how much nicer other areas where and felt the area of the hotel was quite scruffy. Having said that, it was very cheap £30 a night and was after all just a base. I would stay around the Old Town or the other side of the river by the Charles Bridge.

Prague itself is beautiful and I would recommend to anyone. Two words of warning - firstly, don't go on the orange hop on-hop off buses. You can hop off but you will never get back on!!! Too small and always busy. Became a bit of a running joke - we probably would have been better off running. Secondly, check taxi prices with drivers before you get in - we were charged to get from the Old Town to the hotel - the same as we paid for transfer from the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Mucha back in May for 5 nights and had a great stay, our room was large and clean and serviced every day. We couldn't fault breakfast all the staff where very helpful and polite, the restaurant next door served good food as well, its a 20 minute walk to Charles Bridge from the hotel through the city. I will stay here again when I come back to Prague and would recommend you try it for yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furrball15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Couldn't fault the Hotel Mucha. Room was very clean, serviced daily. We had a room with a balcony which was very nice. Staff speak English well and are very helpful.
Breakfast was very tasty with plenty of variety from muesli and fresh fruit salad, cold meats/cheeses/breads and condiments, to full cooked breakfast. Restaurant below serves very nice meals and not pricey.
Is a 10min walk into town , quiet location.
We highly recommend this hotel and would happily stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisetga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Refurbished in Art Nouveau style building is conveniently located close to Florenc station of metro line C providing quick access to the city centre. Hotel apartment was generously spacious and offered two bedrooms, dining room with kitchenette, writing table, bathroom with a bathtub and two washbasins, and large terrace with a spectacular view and possibility to enjoy a cigarette. The apartment was furnished with genuine items of furniture from the first half of 20th century. There was no drawing room, however, and TV set was available in master bedroom only. The pillows were stuffed with cotton wool. In general, apartment facilities were quite austere.
Parking can be challenging. Despite the request for parking place explicitly mentioned in my reservation, nobody from the hotel staff noticed it. Eventually, the parking was provided by Jurys Inn across the street.
Breakfasts were served in buildings cellar and consisted of modest choice of ham, cheese, boiled eggs, cereals, fruits, bread, butter, and cookies.
Truly annoying was low water pressure, particularly during the morning hours. There were not very pleasant moments when water disappeared indeed for a couple of minutes.

Room Tip: Higher floors have low water pressure. Make sure you have parking place available. Do not rely on on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Canis_And_Lupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVEHotels, Manager at Hotel Mucha, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear SIrs,
thank you very much for your kind rating and feedback! We are dlighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our magical city nad hotel. It is very kind to leave your comments for other travellers and management. I am glad to be able to assure you that we are currently working in enlarging the capcacity of our boiler. Also I will make sure that all requests are responded. However contacting our reception is a great tip, it always works!

So thank you again, If you´d like to return to some of our AVE hotels, please do not hesitate to contact us to get the best specials and extras!

Wishing you great summertime,

Eduard, QC Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel was within 20 mins walking distance from the old city center. It had a couple of supermarkets , convenience store and the tram , bus and rail all with 0-3 mins walk. Even the long distance bus station was only a 5 mins walk. Several restaurants including KFC and Mc Donalds was close by. The hotel room we stayed in overlooked the street and was a bit noisy as it was on the 1st floor. The room was quite large but was basic. The breakfast was served in the basement of the hotel. Food was ok.

Room Tip: Recommend you ask for a room on higher floor or room not facing road , otherwise you will have traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very nice and cozy hotel in the center of Prague. With good access to the underground (metro) that will take you everywhere. The hotel's attentive staff who give advice. (Hi Radka). Sweet memories of old Prague.

Room Tip: Hotel from ancient times Sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vít H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVEHotels, Manager at Hotel Mucha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Vít,
thank you for your kind rating and comments about our hotel! I am glad that we were able to contribute to your enjoyeable stay! My colleagues are the best - always ready to assist!

Wishing you a wonderful summer time,

Eduard, QC Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here in spring. Great location, very helpful staff and great athmosphere in rooms. Breakfast was ok. Short walk to center of Prague ( no need to take subway nearby). Enjoyed tram several times during stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowfall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVEHotels, Manager at Hotel Mucha, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel! It´a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay in our beloved city and hotel! If you will plan to return, you can always contact us in advance to get the best specials!

Wishing you a wonderfull summer,

Eduard, QC Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#118 of 646 in Prague
786 reviews
Praha 8
B&B Hotel Prague City
B&B Hotel Prague City
#147 of 646 in Prague
542 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#105 of 646 in Prague
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Seifert
Hotel Seifert
#230 of 646 in Prague
388 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#33 of 646 in Prague
724 reviews
Praha 8
Aida
Aida
#225 of 646 in Prague
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mucha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mucha

Address: Sokolovska 26, Prague 180 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Prague
#154 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#164 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £34 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mucha 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers an excellent location just walking distance from the Old Town Square, shopping area Na Poici and Wenceslas Square, the main Prague boulevard with many shops, restaurants and open air markets. The Neo-Renaissance building, offer comfortable accommodation in 39 rooms and suite comfortably equipped with antique furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mucha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mucha Hotel Prague
Hotel Mucha Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing