We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“loved prague” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stirka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stirka
Ranked #598 of 667 Hotels in Prague
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“loved prague”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2007

I stayed in the Hotel Strika for four nights in March 2007. When we arrived at prague airport we took an airport minibus to the hotel the price was 499 crowns. this was excellent value for money as it left us off at the hotel. we were given a return card saying that if we used the minibus to return to the airport the charge would be 399 crowns. the night before leaving hotel i asked the reception if they would ring the minibus service to book minibus for return journey. this they refused to do saying that they had their own taxi and we were forced to use their taxi at a cost of 699 crown which we had to pay the receptionist at the time of booking. I found this unfair and I was sorry it happened as we had had an enjoyable stay at the hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    8
    10
    13
See reviews for
3
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aussie in lyon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2007

Stayed here over Christmas 2006, overall not too bad, though one of the reception staff was fairly rude and unhelpful. The room was fairly well equiped, and combined with the breakfast was fairly good value. However, there was a big problem with the smell; the room smelled odd to begin with, and during the night would begin to smell like backed up sewerage, not a pleasent smell to wake up to. The beds weren't that comfortable either. However, it is well situated (though a bit difficult to find) in a quiet area that's 2 mins walk from the metro. Overall not bad, you get what you pay for, and our experience may have been unusual (eg the smell is probably not a regular feature).

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
warrington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2007

hotel is a good value budget hotel in a residential area outside the city centre.rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are polite and a good source of information.transport links to the city are excellent and tickets can be purchased from reception.bars and restaurants in the local area are great value .an above average budget stlle hotel which i would use again.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ericred1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veracruz
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2007

I really liked my stay in Prague. The hotel was a perfect value for money, clean and the breakfast rich. The location is in a quiet street close to subway stop just 4 stops from downtown. I can reccommend this hotel... wish you a nice stay in Prague - it is a nice city also in winter and not so crowdy...

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2007

I really admire all the people who wrote the previous reviews- at least you all found the hotel!!! I BOOKED THIS HOTEL FOR ONE REASON- As I read in the hotel's description, the hotel was supposed to be close to the train station HOLESOVICE NADRAZI. It was a need, because the next day I went to Dresden by train, from this station. Let me put it gently- IT IS AN UGLY LIE! The hotel's location has absolutely nothing to do with the mentioned station. When we tried to redirect ourselves to the hotel, and asked people where the street we need is- they didn't even know where it is- it's in a completely different direction, like 25 tram stations from Holesovice. And, oh, forgot to mention, in the evening the tram makes only half of the way to the station close to the hotel, so you really have no chance to get to the hotel.
We, me and my mom had this lovely experience at the night of 21st of december, at the cold and darkness of unfamiliar city. At the end, we had to get back to the airport and spend the night at the terminal!

If you love extreme, please book this hotel, and have fun! If I could give less then one point to the hotel, I would - for the terrible lie and the hell we've been through because of this booking!

  • Disliked — That it is impossible to find- they lie about their location!
  • Tips/Secrets — Just don't go!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza-Kreynin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2006

The people were very helpful and friendly. This is the second time I have been to prague and stayed at these properties. Hotel Strika is located near the stations which make it easy to get around, close to Chateau Troja which is really nice place to see aside of the botantical gardens and zoo. The trams run regularly. The area was very safe as I would go back to the hotel at 9/10 at night since it is in a residential area. The service and breakfast were great and the prices good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — safety, clean, freindly, buy metro tickets and drinks snacks at reception desk 24 hrs
  • Disliked — the room was small
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cow3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

We stayed at the Stirka for one week and for the amount of money we payed it was great!

Location: By minibus from the airport it took about 30 min and cost below $20. From the hotel to the metro is about 7 minutes (just walk up to the left and to the right when you see the tracks) and to the city it's about 5-7 minutes. The only con is you need to change metros and we hated that as the metro is so crowded.

Hotel: It looked very dark at first, but the hotel is open 24/7 and there is someone downstairs in the lobby all the time. Our room was almost identical to the ones you see in the hotel picture. It was spacy, bright and clean. Also the bathroom was big. The maid cleans every day, but we had to ask her to change our bedsheets. It said they change when guests stay longer than 4 days, but ours weren't changed until the 6. day. The TV is useless and every channel except for MTV is dubbed.

Staff: They speak english, are friendly and smiling (something uncommon in Prague). Out of 7 days and 7 different staffmembers, there was only one rude girl not willing to help us at all!

Food: The breakfast was okay, open from 7-10. They have bread, ham, cheese and cereal, but the drinks aren't that good (unless you're into semi-hot milk) and there was hot sausage every day (Prague style with fat lumps tied like a knot into eachother), but it was eatable and we didn't starve!

All the rooms are non-smoking, but I'm sure some of the guests smoked inside as we could smell the smoke walking up and down the stairs.

We might stay again because of the prize, but if we don't we'll stay at a more lux hotel in sentrum.
I would however recommend it to anyone! :)

  • Liked — Cheap, clean and close to the metro.
  • Disliked — Changing metros and poor channels.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the metro to unknown places to be adventurous. Prague is so beautiful and there is something to see wherever you go!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseHenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 8
Henrietta Hotel
Henrietta Hotel
#424 of 667 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Praha 8
Aida
Aida
#231 of 667 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 656 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#255 of 667 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Hilton Prague
#135 of 667 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,436 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#122 of 667 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stirka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stirka

Property: Hotel Stirka
Address: Ke Stirce 11 | Praha 8, Prague 18000, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 667 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stirka 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stirka is situated just 4 km from the city center, with an easy access - 4 stops by metro or 7 minutes by car. In the neighbourhood are the ZOO, unique Baroque castle Troja and both Prague exhibiton grounds (Holesovice and Letnany). The hotel is easily accessible from the international highway E55. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Stirka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirka Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing