We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, a little away from restaurants”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Fl., USA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel, a little away from restaurants”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

very nice hotel and staff. you are given a tour and glass of wine as you arrive. My room was a suite (515 euros a night). i could have used regular size room. Very clean. restaurant very good. only poblem is hard to get to and no restaurants nearby. Views magnificent, probably best in Prague. Great airport pickup and drop off.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josebsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,648
    70
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
222
1,200
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

One of the best hotels I’ve stayed in. Why I am giving The Hotel Golden Well 5*

Location – right below the castle – one of the main sights to see in Prague, a short walk to Lesser Town, the Charles Bridge and Old Town. The location also affords beautiful views and yet tucked away enough that it was quiet. Perfect.
Service – Service was friendly and polite but not annoying. The service we received when we arrived and everyday at breakfast was particularly noteworthy.
Food Quality – again very good and high standards.
Room Quality – Comfortable, large bathroom, beautifully restored to feel new with all the original details in tact.
Cleanliness – Very clean everywhere.

Extra Special Touches Include:
Welcome bottle of wine and fruit in your room when you arrive
Champagne or Wine and Appetizers everyday from 4p-6p – nice touch after a long day of sightseeing
A small dessert on your bedside every night with the turn down service
Beautiful room with a massive bathroom, large soaking / Jacuzzi tub, heated floors.
Amazing breakfast with more than you could want including sparkling wine if you wish. If you are going to book at this hotel and you enjoy a leisurely breakfast go with the ‘breakfast included’ option because this allows you to have the buffet and / or a la carte without any extra costs.
5* star restaurant on large terrace with magnificent views over Prague. Room service comes from this restaurant.
Several terraces to enjoy the view over Prague at any time of the day.
Movie Selection – occasionally when we are at home my husband and I like to watch a movie at the end of the day before bed – it was treat to be able to do the same thing after a day of sightseeing and a nice dinner if we chose. This is not something we expected but a nice option to have. They had a fairly large selection of DVD’s to choose from.
Good airport transfer option for a fair price.

This is my opinion only but, if you are going to be travelling all day when you arrive in Prague do yourself a favor and book their car for pick up at the airport. It is a fair price (around $35-39 Euro). The trip is almost ½ an hour and they pick you up in an air-conditioned Mercedes. I don’t know what a taxi would be but I don’t think you will save yourself more than $10 Euro. What you do receive for that extra $$ is the piece of mind that someone is waiting for you as soon as you arrive and they know where you are going. When I was in the lobby of the hotel a couple arrived and they had taken a taxi from the airport – the taxi took them to the wrong hotel b/c they had trouble with communication. They then had to walk with all of their luggage to the correct hotel. They were quite frustrated by the time they got there to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fletch250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The staff was incredibly friendly and made us feel like we were their only guests. They provided a tour of the facilities, a free morning snack including cake and a mimosa, and were able to provide directions and a map for our first day of exploring Prague. Thereza was really nice and made us smile even after an overnight 6 hour flight from Abu Dhabi. The views are incredible and the furnishings and decor were equally spectacular. Dinner at the restaurant was amazing with a beautiful view of the city and excellent food. If I go back to Prague, half the trip will be to see the city, but mostly I just want to go back to visit Goldenwell!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A wonderful hotel with beautiful rooms and great service. Don't miss the rooftop breakfast - it's a real treat!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at the Golden Well in the beginning of August. Prague was our first stop on our honeymoon. The hotel was amazing. We started off with drinks while a member of the staff went over a map of Prague with us to highlight all the places to see and then recommended tours for us. The service was great with a nightly turndown service with fresh fruit and a dessert each day. The location of the hotel make the views breathtaking. Situated at the base of the Prague castle, you get to see all of the Prague Old Town. My wife and I could not have been happier with our stay. The only bad thing was the restaurant which is nothing against the hotel. Not sure if we just picked the wrong dishes (salmon and lamb chops) but they were way overpriced (the salmon and lamb chops at our wedding were better!). I would recommend this hotel to any friends or family if they ever visited Prague.

Room Tip: The 4th floor rooms have great views but be aware of the lower ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The lovely view and room were very nice. The location was great if you like your peace, but the staff was making smiles and with everything else they where very uncongenial, for example coming into your room at six o'clock for night preperations. The food was delicious, but expensive. Jaccuzi in the room is great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marianne1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The reservation process was easy and the staff replied to my emails promptly. Upon arrival via car service, which the hotel arranged for us, our bags were taken and we were quickly checked in, then given a tour of the hotel. The hotel is beautiful and full of character, not to mention very clean and quiet. Our room had a mini bar and complimentary bottles of water were left every day. The bed was comfortable and room had complimentary wi-fi.

We were then brought to our room, everything inside explained, then invited to visit the restaurant for a compliementary cocktail when we were ready. We were seated on the outdoor terrace overlooking the city and each had Czech wine, which is very good. The waiter brought us an complimentary hors d'oeuvre of Salmon Mousse, which was delicious. While having our wine, Jakob from the front desk staff met with us to show us a map of the city and offered to schedule any tourist activities we might be interested in. We didn't partake as we like to walk cities so that we see parts that are off the beaten path. He did make a dinner reservation in the well-known restaurant for a night during our stay. I highly recommend the restaurant.

The hotel is right below Prague Castle and has a secret door from the restaurant to the castle grounds for guests. The hotel was built in the 16th century for the King's favorite astronomer (check facts - this is what I recall being told during our tour of the hotel). There were two nights where there was opera/chamber music taking place (in period costume) right below the balcony off the front desk area. My husband and I brought our wine down and watched/listened. I thought I was dreaming as I listened to the music and looked over the city.

I'll be back.

Room Tip: Review the photos and descriptions of the rooms and email the staff to request the room of your choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisakoutek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,627 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
773 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing