We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe them”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Believe them”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Believe any good word mentioned in tripadvisor about this fantastic hotel, it deserve every penny you might pay it. It completely changed my concept about great hotels. Great hotel doesn't mean beautiful decoration or full amenities, it is truly means the generous hospitality, perfect service and professional attitude. I found all these aspects in this hotel. All my questions,orders or concerns were fully answered in attentive and nice way. It is well-located in quiet area about 5 minutes to Charles bridge and 10 minutes to old town square and Petrin hill. When I was outside, i was so excited to go back to hotel to enjoy their delicious cake or fresh fruits in my room, or even enjoying nice time at the terrace that facing beautiful colors of Prague. I highly recommend this hotel without regret
- Positives: amenities, hospitality and location.
- Negatives: they have to darken the room "light is still coming from out",weak Wi-Fi signals in my room, Breakfast should be included to this value of booking

Room Tip: Try to book a room with good view over the garden or if you have extra money book the suit,its perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymzakari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    70
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
222
1,199
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Even though it has been several months since I stayed at this hotel, the very positive memories have not dimmed. Physically, the hotel is charming in every way, and they really go out of their way to keep it clean, well-maintained and beautiful. The outstanding service is provided with warmth and sincerity. Without a doubt, this is my favorite hotel in Europe.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wldtvlr41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

When you receive an email reminding you of your visit a couple of days in advance, you know you are in for something special. This was a taste of the platinum level of service to come. But what was even more exceptional was that no tips were expected or given and the service kept on coming. TripAdvisor has got this rating 100% correct - value for money this is the BEST HOTEL in THE WORLD!! Finally, the quality of breakfast's are simply stunning - I don't often start the day with a Buck's Fizz, but boy does it start you on your way!! In terms of location, its perfect for the palace side of the river. We stayed another two nights in Prague in the Old Town and felt we had done the right thing. When on the palace side of Prague, don't forget to walk the moat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timothy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a wonderful 3 day stay at the Golden Well hotel in Prague in August. Excellent location, top dining at the rooftop terrace with magnificent views over Prague. Beautiful room. Airconditioning only cools a few degrees, not really individually controlled, but if you ask the front desk they can turn it lower/higher than you can in your room. Staff (especially David and Tereza) did their utmost best to make our stay not only comfortable but also unforgettable.
Although we made our reservation 8 months in advance with the option of reserving (guarantees) a specific room, as mentioned on their website for EUR 30 extra. Upon arrival the room was not available. This was not mentioned at arrival at the front desk but it was brought to us after we had our welcome drink and were about to enter our room. We were told that room 35 was not available. So much for guarantees. Unacceptable to us, after having accepted apologies from the manager, he promised the hotel would make up for not having the guaranteed room. We did not have to pay the EUR 30, ofcourse and staff really exceeded our expectations in service and making our stay unforgettable, as mentioned in all the reviews. So, If you're planning to go to Prague and are in for an excellent treat, book a stay at the Golden Well, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We were greeted by a very attentive staff. We enjoyed a great tour of the hotel. Location was perfect for exploring the town in that everything seemed like a 10 minute walk. Views from restaurant fantastic. Great breakfast. Rooms were charming, clean and comfortable. Had 2nd floor lounge with afternoon snacks. Loved having the access to the palace gardens.
Would return and highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I recently spent 3 nights at the hotel Golden Well, while I was in Prague for a combination of business and sightseeing. I had arranged in advance for their driver to meet my flight and he was there waiting--even though my flight was quite a bit early. I had also made advance dinner reservations at the restaurant Teresa for the night of my arrival for myself and 3 colleagues who were vacationing in Prague. The dinner was wonderful and the view from the restaurant is special. The breakfast each day was a great way to start each day. When I left the hotel I was heading to Berlin by train and the hotel driver took me to the main train station. All of the staff at the hotel is very service oriented---always looking for ways to help make your day easier and special. The hotel is located in a very quiet area so--no noise at night! One trip I made to Prague several years ago, I stayed across the river near the main plaza--a disaster---noise all night from the bar across the street and the trash collectors who come through in the middle of the night. Given that the tourist crowds have increased in Prague since then, it must be even worse. The location of the hotel Golden Well is wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Prague was the first leg of our honeymoon through Europe. It was a wonderful place to stay in Prague and our room was very nice with view over looking most of the city. The staff was very nice and attentive. They also gave you free bottled water in the rooms everyday and had fresh fruit on the coffee table. They also seem to love giving you nice little deserts to enjoy in the room when they came to turn down our bed. Overall we loved our stay at the Golden Well.

The only thing we were disappointed in was that breakfast was not included, although they had an impressive spread of food and they would make to order egg dishes and other breakfast goodies like french toast, which was included in the breakfast price. They have a beautiful terrace on their roof, which you can have dinner on, but we food it much too expensive compared to other high end restaurants.

My recommendation, stay here and get guide to help you find good food spots. One place we ate at that we loved was Aldente on Vězeňská street within the Staré Město area (about 15-20 minute walk from hotel and 5min from the astrological clock tower.
[---]

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteadyRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,625 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
770 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing