We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Hotel in a Wonderful Yet Quiet Location”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
WI
Level Contributor
231 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel in a Wonderful Yet Quiet Location”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at the Golden Well this last November and were very comfortable there. The hotel is quaint and well appointed near the castle and on a small street away from the hubbub of the Charles River. Our room was spacious. The turn down service included water and a different, delicious little dessert each night. Our bathroom had a jacuzzi, which was so helpful each night after walking on the beautiful but difficult cobble stoned streets of Prague. The Concierge room is quite nice and the views, at least from our room, were magical! This is truly a gem of a hotel. A breakfast and dinner there, though pricey, is well worth it for the view alone-but the food was wonderful as well. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Prague.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view and if you want a jacuzzi, that as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,637
    69
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
220
1,190
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Just returned from two days at this great hotel. Small, very cozy and the service was second to none. We've travelled the world mostly staying at 5 star hotels and resorts. Nothing comes close to this little gem if you also consider the price. Naturally there are better hotels in the world and better locations, but the combination of great service, low price and great food is remarkable. I have my own company and I took my employees for a weekend trip here. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

There is something going on here I can not figure out ? I stay in 50 + hotels every year. I think I have almost seen it all. I use Trip Advisor almost daily and this is only the second time it has done me wrong. There is always the nut job that can never be pleased. I promise I am not that person. Since my review is so different then most reviews of this place I will just give a outline with the facts about this rated #1 2011 TA hotel.

#1 There are two other larger hotels in Prague with the same sounding name. 4 out of 4 taxi drivers had no idea where this place was.

#2 The driveway to the hotel is so narrow taxi's can not pull up to the front of the place because they can not back up. You have to get out and carry your bags a block. In our case it was not pleasant on wet cold cobble stones. Feels more like a hostel the a so called % star hotel.

#3 Calling this place a hotel is just wrong. It is a house. It is so much closer calling it a bed and breakfast then a 5* hotel

#4 The area it is in is not special. It is surrounded by blocks and blocks of government office buildings. No retail at all to even buy a coke. You have to spend 10 min walking to get out of the area to go anywhere. On weekends its a ghost town.Its not close to the bridge and you could barely claim it is on the hill. Hotel management call the area quite. I call it boring and lame and a hassle.

#5 Our room was up two long flights of stairs. The are narrow and made of wood, very loud when people had to go up and down them. I never saw a elevator.

#4 The wireless internet did not work anywhere close to our room. It did work in the small 200 sq foot lobby. I did have to go down to the lobby to search and book another hotel in Prague on my laptop.

#5 Rooms do not have showers just tubs. Some kind of have a weak euro shower curtain. So small and weak you get attacked by it when trying to take a shower. Gross !

#6 Our room was a cave. Poor lighting, Two very small windows as big as a average book. The ceilings were low I kept bumping my head. A pillar in the middle of the small room. I get the charm of a old building but all I could think of is being stuck in my grandmas attic. You look out of the small windows and the view was a wall 3 feet away. Almost zero natural light.

#7 The heat is turned up so high you feel like you are in a sauna. The windows are so small, opening them bring little relief.

#8 The beds are very low, less then 20 inches off the ground. Their cheap crappy mattresses are from purchased from a major blue and yellow big box Swedish retailer.

#9 This place is not even the highest rated place in Prague. Not sure how it can be the highest rated place on the planet ?

#10 I paid $510 a night and it did not include breakfast.

#11 Their restaurant gave me food positioning and I spent my time in Prague in my room. There is a great view from the restaurant but not from the rooms.

#12 There are many B & B's of this same quality in Prague for less the $ 70 usd a night.

#13 The walls are paper thin. You can hear everything going on in the house. Hearing some Russian couple every move from the bathroom to the bedroom was nasty.

#14 Our TV was dead and did not work. There was a radio in the room but did not want to turn it on to disturb other people staying there.

I understand my review is the exact opposite from the mainstream and that leaves me perplexed ? Is the place clean, yes. Do the hoity toity euro staff try to lay it on thick to make you feel good, yes. Prague is a magical city and if this place was $50 a night and I was backpacking in college ?? No ! I still would never go back to the Golden Well. We left and went to the new hot Asian themed hotel in Prague. It was half the price and a million times better then the Golden Well scam. Management always had a lame excuse for everything. Can t wait to hear their response from this review ? The facts are the facts. I have so much I would like to say but then it would make me look like a nut job.

You have been warned !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenWellHotel, Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your opinion. Everyone has the right to express their feelings. I won't dispute your allegation, However, I think other Trip Advisor viewers will probably form opinion of their own. Even though I do not agree with most of your arguments, I am deeply disappointed by your negative review.

As you mentioned in your review, our hotel is located in quiet and romantic part of the city yet in the centre (downtown). Our hotel is sought by people, who want to relax and to forget about the rush and hastiness of everyday life. It seems you were looking for central located hotels nearby clubs and with more possibilities of entertainment as seen from your past reviews.

As you left the hotel very shortly after your arrival that night, we weren't able to pamper you with our services and special surprises, which are very appreciated by most of our valuable customers. These details are what make the difference between our hotel and other properties.

Nevertheless, we deeply regret, that our hotel did not meet your expectations and we are glad, you found what were you looking for in another hotel in Prague and that you enjoyed your stay in the city.

With all my regards,

David Hofman
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
341 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is amazing. It is beautiful and down a little cobblestone street. The daily savory and sweet treats and drinks in the common room at 4-6pm was a perfect midday treat to have before dinner. Also the bedside table turn down service treats were also a nice touch. Wifi was a bit spotty and slow, but was sufficient enough. Not many english tv channels, but then again who goes on vacation to watch tv. Must try the hotel restaurant - Terasa. Best in Prague. Make a reservation in advance, it fills up quickly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in November
we took public transport to get there for the first time and i should have taken a more detailed map to get there from the tube. However we quickly got directions and without them we may still be looking now. The hotel is hidden away next to some of the terraced palace gardens. The restaurant was fantastic We got a seat without a problem for the first evening. However there was no room for the last evening so it would pay to book. We did go to the sister hotel and although it was only a 5 minute walk the food was just as good.
The hotel is fantastically located for the castle and cathederal. We were only 10 minutes walk away from the astronical clock and the jewish quater as well as wensleslas square. the Theatres and opera houses are amazing and although I am not a classical music or opera fan at least they do not have your eyes out when buying refreshments and drink when you are inside, a class of wine cost the equivalent of £1.50 at the interval. The tickets also were reasonable at £15.00

Whilst there it is worth spending a whole day at the castle complex and seeing all of the exhibits.

We did not have the breakfast at the hotel with all of the fine dining there is no need to over indulge

enjoy your stay as we certainly did

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewt7741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this beautiful respite last week. We arrived to a bottle of red wine and plate of cheese and fruit in the room...nice touch! This hotel is impeccable in every sense...it caters to your every whim and is first class in every way...intimate, service oriented, and cosy!!! It is a small boutique 19 room place located about a 10 minute walk to the Charles Bridge away from the busy hustle of the tourist areas. It is quiet, the room was adorable with great little touches throughout our stay...desserts provided at turn down service left by our bed each night, waters, and our slippers ready for us. Each night they had small sandwiches and coffee/tea available in the common room. We would absolutely highly recommend Golden Well to anyone looking to have a quaint getaway in an amazing city! Hustle and business duringnthe days and quiet comforts at night. this is the only place we will stay on our next visit back to Prague!

Room Tip: We had room 32...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bvlovetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Last December we stayed in this awesome hotel for 3 days.Our room was very confortable,clean and tranquil.Hotel was marvellous,service was perfect...everything was fine in Golden Well.İf you want to feel extra special and confortable stay there:)

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,577 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing