We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5* experience”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 5* experience”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A short wander away from Prague's bustling tourist centre, yet tucked away in a calm and tranquil setting with access to magnificent views of the city below, Golden Well provided us with an unforgettable first visit to Prague.
Impeccable, warm, friendly service throughout our stay with no detail overlooked, from the immaculate, well-equipped and spacious bedroom/bathroom, to the guest lounge filled with interesting reads on the city and daily afternoon snacks to refuel us after a busy day of seeing the sights.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful in every way possible and organised a fantastic private guided tour of the city for us (at short notice) with a lovely and very knowledgeable local guide which I'd highly recommend to any visitors interested in gaining a bit more of an in-depth knowledge than the average guidebook can provide.
To top it all off, the hotel's private access route up to the castle must surely provide the most spectacular views in the whole city... breathtaking. The perfect June weather was an added bonus, but I'll be sure to take advantage of what Golden Well has to offer on my next visit when the rooftops of the picturesque city are covered by a blanket of snow.
Thank you Golden Well!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the private access to the Royal Gardens of Prague Castle. You were really lucky with the weather and we are glad that you were happy with the guided tour we arranged for you.

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,638
    69
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
220
1,191
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We went to this hotel with my parents to celebrate my dads 73 birthday. I wanted everything to be perfect for him . Oh my , I could not have wished for better ! The great service started before we even got to the hotel . I ordered a car to meet us at the airport. A very well suited young man greeted us and a lovely black Mercedes was there waiting for us ! Before we even got to the hotel he phoned through to tell them of our impending arrival . On cue the porter was there waiting to pick up our bags and lead us up a small street where we walk into a beautiful court yard . In the reception Simon greeted us with such warmth and of course our little towel ! We then had a tour of the hotel with all its interesting little court yards ,history and beautiful paintings . The advantage of a boutique hotel is that you can see the love the owner has taken in giving it a special feel ! The furniture and paintings are to die for .
In the evening we ate at the restaurant . Through my job I have been lucky to eat at many Michelin restaurants , and would say that this is as good as a 1 star ,but at a very reasonable price ! Don't miss the opportunity of sitting on the terrace looking down on the lights of Prague and eating amazing food ! Big thank you to Martin that could not do enough including (when forced to ) signing happy birthday to dad in Czech! Also dad got 2 lovely cakes for his birthday
My only negative is if you are tall make sure you don't get the rooms where the bath/shower is in a recess . Basically we could not have a shower unless kneeling down

Undoubtedly the reason why this must be the best hotel in Prague has to be 3 reasons ! It's superb position , it's amazing staff , and above all the views from the restaurant terrace which simply takes your breath away !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your incredible experience with the Golden Well Hotel. We are pleased to make the celebration of your dads 73th birthday one to remember! We will be sure to let Martin know that they helped make your celebration even more enjoyable. Thanks for pointing out those three reasons why Golden Well is the best hotel in Prague, we are proud to hear this!

It's always a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Golden Well Hotel and I can't give it a high enough review! Beautiful location with a private direct walkway to the castle, only a short walk into the old town, and a gorgeous view from the hotel restaurant/breakfast room/our bedroom. The staff were exceptional. Attentive, genuinely friendly and just went above and beyond to constantly impress us - even taking the time to note from my passport that it was my birthday during the stay and delivering a sentimental hand written note and a delicious cake. Food at the restaurant and breakfast in the morning was again exceptional! Just a superior experience. Thank you Golden Well Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ccox186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience. We are glad you enjoyed your birthday stay as well as the many activities our hotel and location has to offer. We are delighted that you felt welcomed by our staff as we strive to be a home away from home for our guests. We look forward to your return!

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
332 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I returned to U Zlate Studne for our 40th anniversary and were overwhelmed by the hospitality of this already known to be excellent hotel. The extra cost of a "Romantic Package" was worth every koruna. Many surprises added to superb service and location and comfort and kindness. We enjoyed Prague even in the rain thanks to them. Breakfast was magnificent and the special dinner was even more magnificent (tasty and just what we wished). The multilingual desk folks smoothly arranged opera tickets and taxis. Their car to and from Keleti train station was an added convenience.

Room Tip: any of the three rooms we have stayed in through the years are wonderful. For an added touch of hist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CintiKidCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your incredible experience. We are pleased to make your 40th anniversary stay one to remember! It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again for your 41st anniversary trip.

Sincerely,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Golden Well Hotel for three nights in June and have nothing but high praise for it.

Situated up a small hill (a 3 minute walk along a cobblestone alley) from the main Mala Strana neighborhood, the hotel possesses lovely views of the old town below and a private entrance to The Prague Castle behind it (the private entrance was a surprise and very convenient).

Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The bed was a perfect firmness without being hard, and had 3 different types of pillows (and there was a pillow menu if you didn't like what you already had). There was a large closet with plenty of hangers and drawers, plus a medium sized room safe.

Additional amenities included an espresso machine, writing desk, couch with table, windows that opened for fresh breezes, a/c and heating. We didn't care for the espresso so the hotel delivered coffee to our room every morning without additional charge. There was also fresh fruit and a bottle of wine waiting for us upon arrival, and daily turndown service with a pastry at night. WiFi in each room is complimentary and worked quite well.

The bathroom was deluxe, with a deep tub and rain shower head, towel warmer, heated floors, and an automatic toilet/bidet that was heated and had a night light. Though we didn't take advantage of it, you can schedule the hotel to have a warm bath run and waiting for you if you wish.

We had breakfast included in our plan and couldn't have been happier with the food, which included a nice variety of buffet items along with a cook to order menu (don't miss the homemade yogurt in Mason jars). The outlook from the restaurant was spectacular, with a view of many historic buildings and the river. Food was very good, as was the service.

Speaking of the service: it was top notch at every point. Simon greeted us upon arrival and gave us a tour and a welcome drink. He not only showed us the property but provided plenty of information to help us on our first visit to Prague, and was friendly and professional. Ivan cheerfully helped us book reservations (see Coda below), and the restaurant and other service staff were impeccable. It seems that the director of operations Michal Motycka has done an outstanding job at training his staff.

As mentioned, Ivan recommended the restaurant Coda to us, which is located at a sister hotel property about a 10 minute walk away, and what a good choice it was! Located on the roof of the Hotel Aria, it has spectacular views of the city. Service here too was impeccable, as was the food. I had a delicious chicken dish over risotto with foie gras sauce and one of the best Cesar salads I've tasted.

I will absolutely stay at The Golden Well when I visit Prague in the future, and have no reservations recommending it to any discerning travelers. I have purposefully withheld the room number we stayed in because as I want it available the next time we visit. ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyeworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review. I'm so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! I will be sure to let Simon and Ivan know that they contributed to your positive experience, and we look forward to your next visit. And no worries, your room will be ready!

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Just returned from a week in Prague staying at the Golden Well. What a delightful hotel. Our room (#35) was spacious, the views were stupendous, and the included breakfasts were delicious. What really made this property stand out however was the staff. From the initial welcome at the front desk (complete with a tour of the 19 room hotel) to the bellmen, housekeepers, and wait staff at breakfast, they couldn't have been warmer or more welcoming. After a long day of walking the length and breadth of the city center, returning was like coming home. If you find yourself in Prague, for business or pleasure, this is where you want to rest your weary head.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregoryRShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests!
Thank you very much for having shared your experience with us. As a team we really work hard to make our guests have an enjoyable stay and we are really happy to have a hotel with such a great staff members. We hope to see you again for your future trip to Prague.

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this place. Everything you would want and expect from a hotel. From the views and location to the service and friendly and attentive staff. My hats off to you. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joejoey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor community.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Golden Well and that you were happy with our views, location and services. I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,580 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
743 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing