We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding boutique hotel with A+ service and a top rated restaurant”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We chose this hotel after reviewing Trip Advisor for our 4 day Prague getaway. Right after we made the booking we knew we made the right choice. Communication and service were outstanding, right down to the little details (car pickup, separate wifi for each room, little chocolates by the bed each night, complimentary bottle of wine and happy hour). Ivan, one of the concierge staff, was absolutely stellar; no request was too much. After learning it was our anniversary, we were treated to a chocolate cake one night. The restaurant, Terasa, is one of the best in the city and has a fantastic view. We loved our room (42) as we had a view and easy access to the balcony where we had a glass of wine and watched the sun set each evening. Located a 10 min walk from both Charles bridge and St Nicholas Cathedral, it is close and yet not too close to the city's hustle and bustle. One of the best hotels we have been to.

Room Tip: room 42 is perfect, has a good view and is a generous size, close to the restaurant and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear steff0566,

I was delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay at the Golden Well Hotel. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service you received especially from the Concierge desk. I have passed on your kind words to all the team. I was so happy that we made you feel comfortable and enjoyed the great facilities in the room No 42. It is a beautiful room with stunning views.

I do hope that you will join us again in the near future where I am sure you will have another excellent stay with us.

My kindest regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were completely charmed by this wonderful boutique hotel. It's quiet setting, just slightly set apart from from the from the busy "tourist-y" areas, and peaceful ambiance added so much to our delightful stay in Prague.
They have done an amazing job of adding luxury and modernizing this historical building without erasing it's charm. Adding heated floors in the bathroom, wonderful shower & tub facilities, but leaving original beamed ceilings and wood floors, for example.
All the reviews about excellent service are true! From the welcome drink and private tour, afternoon wine & appetizers, and remembering personal preferences, all amazing. (I don't believe I've ever seen a "pillow menu" before!)
I see a few reviews that criticize the location -- it is, indeed, set a bit apart. But only just a bit. We could see St. Nicholas Cathedral from our window, and in a matter of a few minutes walk were at the church and the public square where restaurants and transportation and cash machines were readily available. Charles Bridge is also within easy walking distance, and Old Town just beyond. The car / cab who delivers you will stop short of the door, so your bags will be graciously transported to & from by the hotel staff. Because we love to walk, none of this was an issue to us.
It is literally at the base of the Castle, and in fact has a private entrance that leads directly into the Castle Gardens.
Oh, and about breakfast -- buy the breakfast! Just do it! We struggled with this one, 'cause we don't normally eat a huge breakfast. But no matter how else we worked it, we were spending as much or more as having it included. The view of the city is really outstanding from the restaurant, we so enjoyed lingering over coffee here. They serve everything imaginable, but -- if you want something that's not on the menu, simply request it.
I believe it's important to understand that this hotel is so highly rated because it is so unique. We travel allot, and we have stayed at many many luxury hotels ~ and many of them blur together in our memory. Somewhere like Golden Well is special because you FEEL like you're in Prague, it adds to the magic of the city, it is part of the experience. This is one of our favorite hotels of all time, a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the 4th floor, we had easy access to the restaurant without needing the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear SandSKapolei,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay at the Golden Well Hotel last year.

We were thrilled to welcome you to the hotel and even more delighted that despite sampling so many other hotels worldwide, we are one of the favorite for you. It is always lovely to read that a guest has enjoyed every part of their stay from the breakfast in our restaurant to the team who took care of all their needs.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable experience and maybe some more walking in the royal gardens of the Prague Castle and touring the city.

With warmest wishes,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was the most amazing hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in,it was beautiful and the service was above and beyond the attention to detail was amazing and the whole staff could not have been more helpful x

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Louise M,

Thank you for the lovely review and for the compliments you heaped on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back soon so that we can pamper you some more.

Keep Golden Well hotel in mind when you plan your next escape to a magical Prague!

With warmest regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I chose this hotel based on the other Trip Advisor members' reviews and I'm so happy I did. It's a lovely boutique hotel situated on a quiet street in Little Quarter minutes away from beautiful St. Nicholas Cathedral and a few streets away from public transportation, restaurants and sites. Our room on the 2nd floor had a wonderful view of the city, great amenities and the hotel staff were so attentive to our needs. The hotel is quiet and has a fantastic restaurant as well, but it doesn't have a fitness center or swimming pool for those who are looking for these services provided by larger hotels/chains. I booked the hotel as part of a trip to Prague and Vienna to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. Since we both are used to walking a lot, we enjoyed that we were about a ten minute walk to the Charles Bridge and were able to cross over into the Old Town and Jewish Quarters in roughly 20 minutes by walking. I highly recommend Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) for it is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and we thank the hotel staff immensely for making it a memorable stay for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Leila R,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear that the reviews here on Tripadvisor helped you to make the right decision and stay at the Golden Well Hotel.
We were delighted that you made a stop with us on your journey to Vienna and it is an honor to be one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in!

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Well Hotel soon.

With warmest wishes,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It is located at the end of a small pedestrian only street, which makes the location very peaceful and quiet. As soon as we arrived, they helped out with our luggage and we checked in. They check in process includes an orientation to the property, including a drink and small appetizer at the restaurant. They sat with us with maps and gave us an overview of Prague, including locations of the top attractions, and answered all our questions. By the time we made it to our room, our luggage was there with a welcome letter from the hotel's management. The room was gorgeous - it was a corner room and the views were beautiful. The bathroom was big and very modern (heated toilet and all!), and everything was impeccable. We were celebrating my husband's birthday, and they delivered a chocolate cake for the occasion with a personalized letter. We took advantage of the refreshments in the lounge every day, you get to taste a small sample of the quality of their restaurant, and even local wines. Everything we inquired about was immediately provided with such positive attitudes - even when a button in my coat fell off, they took the coat and a couple of hours later the coat was hanging in the room with a new button. When I went to the bar to pick up a couple of drinks to bring back to the room, the young man insisted in bringing them to the room himself.

Prague is one of the most magical cities we have visited. Staying at the Golden Well added to that magical experience. We would have loved to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We went with a Deluxe Room for a little more money which included views of the castle gardens and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunLvrs_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) hotel in Prague is a boutique hotel with an enviable historical background. The hotel is housed in a building that was the living quarters of the 16th Century Emperor, Rudolf II. The hotel is just below the Prague Castle walls. The defining feature of this hotel is the presence of small houses interlocked together. The castle also belonged to Tycho de Brahe, the astronomer. The castle was renovated to provide modern amenities preserving the architecture and lay out of the original structure. The hotel is located close to all the important attractions such as Lesser Town Square, Charles Bridge and, of course the Prague Castle. The Royal Gardens is also near and can be seen from the terrace of the hotel. The hotel provides DVDs from the unique DVD library. The hotel offers free Internet access and free breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyceFruiteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear JoyceFruiteram,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your treat at the Golden Well. It is true we are very lucky with our location as many of Prague’s top sites are within moments of the hotel including Charles Bridge and Prague Castle is also just around the corner.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Well on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The location of the hotel is priceless, making it easy to explore the center of the city on foot. Our room was impeccable, bed super comfortable, bathroom with heated floors. The best thing though must have been the staff - polite, helpful, making every effort to make our stay comfortable.
We also had a fantastic dinner at the rooftop restaurant, with the best view of Prague and some of the most amazing dishes we've ever tasted.
This will be a cherished memory and hopefully a place to return to in a near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Gabi H,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Golden Well.

I am delighted that you enjoyed excellent food accompanied by our faultless service from our team. It is always a joy to hear that our team have excelled themselves and that a guest has felt well cared for from the moment they arrive at the hotel to the moment they leave.

We are proud being a cherished memory for you and we all hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
3,008 reviews
Hradčany & Letná
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nové Město (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 646 in Prague
1,013 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £195 - £553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing