We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful Hotel”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Golden Well is a hotel on an entirely different level than most because the staff are absolutely committed to offering outstanding service every step of the way. We have stayed in many, many fine hotels, yet the Golden Well distinguishes itself in the finer points of customer service. The rooms and views are stunning. The breakfast is outstanding! We also had an marvelous dinner there one evening. The location in Prague is ideal for convenient access to all the major sites, but is quiet. We were able to leave our windows open at night and slept wonderfully. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends and look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Linda S,

Thank you for your review on Golden Well Hotel following your recent visit with us and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are a small classic boutique hotel in a very prime location and indeed a beautiful neighborhood, close to the iconic sites as well as some wonderful pubs and bars. I am delighted that you managed to enjoy breakfast with us as well, as you call it, a marvelous dinner. Thank you for your kind words about the service and staff which I have passed to everyone and thank you also for your recommendation.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,638
    69
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
220
1,191
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Fabulous stay, had booked the romantic package for 2 nights in the Tycho Brahe suite- from the pick up at the airport, through the wonderful meal at the restaurant, all the extras to the drop off at the airport, couldn't speak highly enough of the whole experience. Very personal and fantastic staff and hotel. Definitely visit here!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulHof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After 5 glorious nights at this hotel, we decided that on our next trip to Europe we will come back to Prague just to stay here.

I will echo what so many others have said here - the staff, the service, the location, the rooms - everything was perfect. I have stayed at many nice hotels. The reason this one is the best is the combination of the quality of the staff, the rooms, the fact that as a boutique hotel it offers a more personalized service, and the city of Prague. Oh, and the restaurant - cannot forget the restaurant.

I recommend getting the included breakfast, which is huge and very good. We never had to have lunch. The waitresses were very attentive.

We spent every evening lounging on the sofa on the bar terrace, drinking wine and looking at the views. For most of those nights we were tended to by Jiri, who served us wine, brought me blankets when it got colder and essentially made sure we wanted for nothing. One night we had dinner in the restaurant and on another we had it on this terrace, where we were the only people there. I simply cannot find the words to accurately describe how special and romantic this setting is.

Like so many other reviewers, I believe this hotel is the nicest place I have ever stayed, and likely ever will. Even if I don't want another visit to the city of Prague, I would come here to experience this hotel again. I wish Canada was not so far away...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Pat Y,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your recent stay at the Golden Well Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you chose to join us for your Prague visit and that you had a perfect experience with us. It gives me great pleasure to know that our boutique hotel offered you a true Prague experience and that you felt right at home in the traditional atmosphere of the hotel.

Our Executive Chef will be thrilled to learn that you found the food in Terasa Restaurant to be to your satisfaction and that the breakfast was a great start to the day. We invest greatly into the training of our staff and I am thrilled that you noticed the professionalism and level of care shown by my team; I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of the staff here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Well Hotel soon!

Kind regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Royalton, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Traveling doesn't get any better than this boutique hotel. Rooms have high-speed internet -- the only place I stayed this was not an "extra." Amazing amuse-bouche treats are offered in a setting you can meet other wise travellers. Every person was pleasant, hard-working, and communicative. And the setting! You can't go wrong staying in historic Prague, but in Prague there can't be much better than this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViochitaFea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've never experienced such great service before at any hotel, it was just impeccable! This by far exceeded my expectations! The location is on a tiny quiet street below the castle, but not far from charles bridge and the old town square. Very easy to navigate around and a very easy walk. I loved the fact that we were able to have back access to the castle. Great coffee machines in the rooms, clean, and really loved the rain shower! The heated toilet seat was great in the chilly mornings!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Roxii,

Thank you for your taking the time to provide this fantastic feedback of your stay at the Golden Well Hotel.

I am delighted to know that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. The hotel is ideally situated right in the heart of Lesser Town district and I am thrilled that you found it convenient to the main sites of the city and to the Castle. We take great pride in our service here at the Golden Well and it gives me great pleasure to know that you experienced our five star treatment.

I hope to welcome you again to the Golden Well Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Ideal quiet location with private access to Castle grounds. Short walk to Charles Bridge and Old Town. Great facilities. Amazing service. Quite honestly, the best hotel experience I ever had in 50 years of travelling.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurjj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Arthurjj2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review of your stay at the Golden Well Hotel. It has been our pleasure to host you, and your succinct summing up of all the details that makes Golden Well so special has been forwarded to the management team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for naming it the best hotel experience in 50 years of travelling - it is the highest compliment for us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Well before too long.

Kind Regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were so taken away by this lovely boutique hotel nestled on a quiet street right below the castle. The immaculate rooms are classically decorated and have beautiful views overlooking the rooftops of Prague. The bathrooms have recently been renovated and are beautiful. The staff was professional, accommodating and helpful. The beautiful rooftop restaurant served fabulous food with five star service. We are looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 252pennyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Penny N,

Thank you for your excellent review regarding your recent stay at the Golden Well Hotel in Prague. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and noted the beautifully designed and appointed hotel with only the finest fixtures and fittings, with superb views of the red roofs, Prague architecture, the ideal location, the exemplary service, and excellent food and restaurant.Our team is always striving to go the extra mile to please all of our guests. We very much hope that we will have the opportunity of offering you a very warm and "golden" welcome on your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,583 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
743 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing