We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant European Experience”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #4 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Elegant European Experience”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Without a doubt, the staff of the Golden Well was the most gracious, so warm, and truly attentive! A special thank you to Ivan - he greeted us upon arrival and took such good care of us - we had no issue, no question that wasn't already considered and taken care of. The location, if you enjoy walking and exploring, was perfect! Every detail about the stay made us feel luxurious and looked after. My husband and I enjoyed breakfast at the hotel every morning. The dinner on the rooftop was by far the best of our entire two week stay in Europe. If you are considering a stay in Prague and want to have the perfect hotel experience - The Golden Well will not disappoint!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Samantha E,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Golden Well Hotel and many thanks for your kind words. It is great to hear that your experience with us was most enjoyable and that you truly appreciated every aspect of your stay. I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of the team here and especially with Ivan who gave you such a warm welcome and care.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,668
    70
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
226
1,213
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were expecting a great experience and we were not disappointed. The service given by the staff was exceptional, the rooms and amenities the best we had over a 5 week holiday. We were just so happy. We had to depart at 3.30AM and the night staff were very helpful. Of course the location is great right under the wall off the Castle with its private entry. This hotel will not disappoint. By the way - The breakfasts were great with a view of Prague to suit.

Room Tip: There are only 19 rooms, they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear David B,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Golden Well. It is through comments like yours that we strive to achieve even higher level of service, and provide our guests with the most exquisite experience while staying with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the breakfast and that your stay with us was the best of your 5 week holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Golden Well 4 years ago and it was wonderful then. It's just as great, if not better. We had our favorite room (#35) again which is spacious and offers a wonderful view of the gardens below Prague Castle and of part of the castle itself. Our friends had room #33 which seemed somewhat larger than ours and had a good view of Prague over the rooftops.

The breakfast was terrific which a good selection of hot made-to-order items as well as a cold buffet which is quite extensive.
We also had a delicious dinner on the terrace with an unobstructed view of Prague. While it's fairly expensive, it was a great dining experience.

I once again highly recommend this as one of the best (if not the best) hotels in Prague.

Room Tip: Room 35 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear JIMCHI,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your second stay at the Golden Well Hotel with all of our TripAdvisor friends. It is fantastic to read that your second visit is even better than the first one. The chef will be delighted to know that you found our breakfast to be "terrific" and dinner "delicious".

I hope that on your next visit to Prague we will have the opportunity to pamper you even more.
We all look forward to your next visit to the Golden Well Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at attic room, the view from the room is amazing! We saw the whole view of Prague. Also, the location is great, just under the castle. There is a shortcut between the hotel and the castle, very convenient. The staff are kind and helpful. Last but not least, the breakfast and the bread are so delicious, there is a variety of salty and sweet breakfast for choosing. We had a great time at Golden Well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linlinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Linlinch,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the Golden Well Hotel and how delightful to hear that you had a great time here with us! We certainly work hard to achieve this and it is rewarding and reassuring to receive such comments as yours. We are small and intimate and do have a very dedicated team who want to make your stay memorable to I am thrilled that we did this for you.

I do hope that we will have pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Golden Well is a hotel on an entirely different level than most because the staff are absolutely committed to offering outstanding service every step of the way. We have stayed in many, many fine hotels, yet the Golden Well distinguishes itself in the finer points of customer service. The rooms and views are stunning. The breakfast is outstanding! We also had an marvelous dinner there one evening. The location in Prague is ideal for convenient access to all the major sites, but is quiet. We were able to leave our windows open at night and slept wonderfully. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends and look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Linda S,

Thank you for your review on Golden Well Hotel following your recent visit with us and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are a small classic boutique hotel in a very prime location and indeed a beautiful neighborhood, close to the iconic sites as well as some wonderful pubs and bars. I am delighted that you managed to enjoy breakfast with us as well, as you call it, a marvelous dinner. Thank you for your kind words about the service and staff which I have passed to everyone and thank you also for your recommendation.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Fabulous stay, had booked the romantic package for 2 nights in the Tycho Brahe suite- from the pick up at the airport, through the wonderful meal at the restaurant, all the extras to the drop off at the airport, couldn't speak highly enough of the whole experience. Very personal and fantastic staff and hotel. Definitely visit here!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulHof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After 5 glorious nights at this hotel, we decided that on our next trip to Europe we will come back to Prague just to stay here.

I will echo what so many others have said here - the staff, the service, the location, the rooms - everything was perfect. I have stayed at many nice hotels. The reason this one is the best is the combination of the quality of the staff, the rooms, the fact that as a boutique hotel it offers a more personalized service, and the city of Prague. Oh, and the restaurant - cannot forget the restaurant.

I recommend getting the included breakfast, which is huge and very good. We never had to have lunch. The waitresses were very attentive.

We spent every evening lounging on the sofa on the bar terrace, drinking wine and looking at the views. For most of those nights we were tended to by Jiri, who served us wine, brought me blankets when it got colder and essentially made sure we wanted for nothing. One night we had dinner in the restaurant and on another we had it on this terrace, where we were the only people there. I simply cannot find the words to accurately describe how special and romantic this setting is.

Like so many other reviewers, I believe this hotel is the nicest place I have ever stayed, and likely ever will. Even if I don't want another visit to the city of Prague, I would come here to experience this hotel again. I wish Canada was not so far away...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Pat Y,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your recent stay at the Golden Well Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you chose to join us for your Prague visit and that you had a perfect experience with us. It gives me great pleasure to know that our boutique hotel offered you a true Prague experience and that you felt right at home in the traditional atmosphere of the hotel.

Our Executive Chef will be thrilled to learn that you found the food in Terasa Restaurant to be to your satisfaction and that the breakfast was a great start to the day. We invest greatly into the training of our staff and I am thrilled that you noticed the professionalism and level of care shown by my team; I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of the staff here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Well Hotel soon!

Kind regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,689 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
815 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#4 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing