We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It should be kept a secret!”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We are keen travellers, and stayed for one week at the Golden Well. Seldom does one find such a wonderful place. Great hosts, first class restaurant with astounding views over the city. The rooms and bathrooms were impeccable, with great taste in every detail. The location, a hidden and discrete place with sloping streets to arrive. Another plus is the fact that one can walk right out of the dining room and be within the Castle gardens. We wish we could keep this hotel as our secret, but it would be selfish not to share it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CARLOS_MORALES_HENDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, Generální ředitel at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear CARLOS_MORALES_HENDR,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the site for us and we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the room and bathroom, attention to detail, location and the roof terrace with direct access to the Prague Palace gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

beautiful views near the castle. The outdoor rooftop restaurant had delicious food and a wonderful wait staff. We stumbled upon the restaurant and have recommended it many times. Definitely worth a visit to the Coda restaurant. Dress up and enjoy a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarleneBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a great stay here in this charming hotel, it is well-positioned, but away from the hustle and bustle of tourist Prague. The staff were excellent and our room was very comfortable and spacious. There were lots of nice little extra touches, such as fresh fruit put in the room every day and a little cake each evening on the bedside table. The breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice. We would definitely come back for another stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, Generální ředitel at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Mary J,

I am pleased to hear that the staff were excellent and the room was comfortable and spacious. We genuinely are interested in our guests and we want them to have a wonderful and memorable stay with us so I am pleased that you had a lovely time. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed breakfast in our delightful dining room.

I have passed your kind words to all the team who are indeed very grateful and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Prague.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I can only reiterate what other guests have said and emphasise that as well as the location of the hotel and its facilities, it is the staff that make it special. Nothing is too much trouble and I felt extremely welcome. I will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, Generální ředitel at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Carol N N,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your kind words to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Golden Well in a Grand Deluxe Room for 3 nights and the hotel did not disappoint! The location is in a quiet street and not a bad walk to Charles Bridge and the Old Town.

On check-in, Simon showed us around the hotel. We loved the entrance to the castle grounds from the terrace restaurant! The castle is just a few yards away from the hotel. Views of the garden and the rooftops from the room are breathtaking. We had lunch and dinner at the rooftop restaurant as well as room service and the food is one of the best we have had. Breakfast is amazing and we looked forward to it every day. The staff remembered our preferences... Wine bottle and cheese on arrival in our room was an added touch.

There was fresh fruit in the room everyday with a sweet treat in the evening.

Staff is helpful especially Blanka and Simon and everyone else. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Prague.

Room Tip: We paid extra to reserve Room 35 and had great views of the gardens and the rooftops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank travelerfamily14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, Generální ředitel at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear travelerfamily14,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on the site following your stay with us and it is delightful to hear that you loved your stay and enjoyed the little extra treats that we provide for our guests. We do work incredibly hard to make sure that we provide the highest level of service for our guests. How wonderful that you felt that you could not fault us.

We sincerely hope that you do make us your home away from home and that you will return in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Really beautiful rooms, incredibly warm and thoughtful service and the most accommodating restaurant with exquisite views of overlooking the city and your own secret entrance to the Prague Castle! They even went out of their way to make my birthday celebration extra special. Hightly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamjamyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, Generální ředitel at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear jamjamyeh,

It was our pleasure taking care of you during your very special birthday visit to the Golden Well Hotel. We were pleased to share such a special occasion with you and thrilled that we made it memorable.

Thank you for your lovely feedback which I have passed to each department and who really appreciate such lovely comments.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

At the close of a trip to celebrate our birthdays we stayed in the comfort and seclusion of the Golden Well Hotel. We could not have made a better choice. From the friendly, helpful and positive staff that greeted us after our pickup from the train station to the wonderful service at breakfast, we were very happy with all aspects of our stay. We stayed in a delightfully private room on the first floor and ate in the restaurant on the last night. It was a pleasure from beginning to end and we would return in an instant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, Generální ředitel at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear SandraJ64,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site following your birthday stay at the Golden Well Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable time with us and that you couldn't have made a better choice. I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly, helpful and positive and that you were well looked after during your stay.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed breakfast with us and that you liked your room as well as the restaurant with excellent views of the city of Prague.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,790 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 648 in Prague
3,209 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 648 in Prague
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £158 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing