We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2008

We started our honeymoon in this hotel and were sorry we haven't booked it for longer. The hotel knew it is our honeymoon and we got a fantastic room with a city view, flowers and fruit were prepared in our room and of course bottle of sparkling wine wasn't missing. We got a really nice welcome letter from the staff and everybody was really friendly. The hotel is aware that they have good reviews but are still doing the best to keep them and to make your stay really special and unique. I loved our night in this hotel with a great breakfast and walk in the gardens of the castle afterwards you can enter through a private door.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone who is looking for something romantic, and doesn't want to stay in a big crowded hotel, wants to have some privacy and stay in a special place, hidden from prague tourists crowds.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LF_Strasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2008

I booked five nights at the Golden Well as a birthday surprise for my girlfriend. Having seen the positive reviews elsewhere I was hoping for a good experience - and my expectations were exceeded. Everyone at the hotel was a delight and everything about our stay was superb from the moment we were collected at the airport to when we were dropped off for our return.

I don't really have anything to add to what the vast majority of reviewers have already said on here. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite, the room was lovely, with a fantastic view and the restaurant breakfast was splendid with an even-more-fantastic view (and well worth a forking out for an evening meal too).

Where the Golden Well truly excels is in the attention to detail. The concierge room had food and drink (including hot wine!) in the evening and was a good space to meet other guests. The ipod player in the room was a nice touch, as was the free dvd library for those nights when you want to retire early. And I don't want to spoil any surprises for any future visitors, but every night brought a new treat for us. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DanWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

I booked this hotel for a surprise two night stay in Prague for my girlfriend and I. The main purpose of the trip was to get engaged and as such, the boutique nature of the hotel really appealed.
I'd been following the comments written on TA for several months and my hopes and expectations were high. We were not disappointed!

The level of service (from our airport pickup to Tomas and Ayman at the hotel) was absolutely superb.

The top quality room, breakfast, concierge services and additional touches (welcome drink, dvd library, pillow menu(!) etc) all contributed to a fantastic, memorable stay that entirely befitted the nature of our trip. Add all this to a location that is central to all of Prague's main attractions (and still quiet!) and you have a top- class hotel in every respect.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LeeStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

My boyrfriend and I recently made a short trip to Prague. We had read so many great reviews of the Golden Well hotel that we were almost expecting to be slightly disappointed after all the hype. Suffice it to say that we were not disappointed in the least!

The location is near the Prague Castle in Mana Strana, and it is a bit away from the centre (about a 20 minute walk). The room was cozy, the restaurant was decent, but the best thing about U Zlate Studne really is the staff! Everyone was really warm, friendly and eager to make our stay as happy as possible. We checked out at 4 AM, and they actually packed breakfast for us. Warms my heart :) I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank madiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We stayed at the golden well for 7 nights and were very pleased with this hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Staff were friendly and accommodating, all spoke reasonably good English and service was excellent. A complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates upon arrival was a nice touch. Breakfast and the restaurant are very good with a decent selection that should suit most tastes. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to all major sites. Overall this is a very nice hotel, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SHJMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

The Golden Well is decorated in good taste, beautifully furnished without being overdone. The service and the staff are of the same caliber, efficient, happy, helpful, kind and even generous people. The place is so comfortable you have to force yourself to go and walk the streets of Prague. One key element is that it is small, no glass elevators, no large windy lobbies. I take my hat off to anyone who can find a hotel that could rival the Golden Well in Prague. It has a nomination from Johanson´s, the Conde Nast travel gurus on the wall in the lobby. A totally no-risk choice for even the most demanding hotel experts.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhw111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

My husband and i stayed here for a 3 night break to celebrate our wedding anniversary.From the moment we were picked up in a luxury car to the moment we were transfered back to the airport it was a truley fantastic experience.The golden well is the best hotel we have ever had the pleasure in staying in.the room was outstanding and the views to die for.The food was superb and the service through out the hotel was second to none.Many extra special touches such as complimentary finger snacks and drinks between 5pm and 7pm.Turndown service of an evening,shoe shine service.The whole of the staff realy go out of their way to be so helpful and friendly.We have already booked for the same time next year at the golden well.Prague is such a wonderful city to visit.Cant wait till next year.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jacquijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,996 reviews
Hradčany & Letná
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nové Město (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 646 in Prague
1,005 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £196 - £536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing