We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves all the stars and more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Deserves all the stars and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel based in Tripadvisor' s review and were not dissapointed. We are not used to high service hotels, where you feel afraid to be expelled if you sneeze too loudly. We feel as outsiders in such places, but the personnel in this one made us feel at home. The hotel sent a Mercedes to pick us up at the airport and my wife was ecstatic. We asked for a normal taxi when we left Prague but I regret this decision. The hotel service does not cost much more and you can be sure the driver won't take crazy roads to get more tics in the taximeter.
The personnel have always a smile and the willingness to help you. Room, bed, bathroom, internet service, the breakfast, the view from the room and the view from the restaurant. All perfect. Plus, the hotel is at the end of a little road and you feel like entering your own medieval mansion. From the hotel to the bridge is a relaxing and easy walk. From 3 pm to 5 you can relax in a special room that the hotel supplies with complimentary fruits, wine and cookies, and they have a good expresso machine that you can use for coffee or tea. There is also movies you can take for your room's DVD and a lap top with printer. It was the best decision for our first visit to Prague.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    66
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
215
1,164
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Marland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

My wife & I just returned from our trip to this wonderful & relaxing hotel. We had the pleasure of staying four nights at the Golden Well Hotel & this is our first ever review of any hotel after traveling Europe this last 10 years.

Every possible item or need was available to us during our stay. The room was beautiful, the bed awesome & a user friendly bathroom.

The restuarant could not have been any more romantic. Over the top food & good local wines. The view that is second to none, overlooking the entire city of Prague.

Finally, we could not say enough kind words about the staff. From the cleaning staff, the restuarant staff & the front desk staff, All WERE THE BEST.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostRetired54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

A lot about this hotel has already been written here in great detail. I will not repeat all that. Basically, I agree: it's all true. Yes, it is a very comfortable and nice hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. The same applies to the excellent restaurant. It's a small business, so they are able to keep it cosy and personal and 5-star, but then don't expect bargain prices.

In the afternoon we would meet with other guests in the lounge for a chat over a glass of wine. In a small place you get to know the other guests fairly quickly and this also contributes to the cosy athmosphere.

I hope they are able keep up the good work. This is a hotel I would like to return to.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

My family has stayed all over the world, and this is our favorite hotel. It is not cheap, but I never questioned the money spent. The service was exceptional and personable at all times. The breakfasts in the terrace restaurant were wonderful both for the food and the setting. The rooms were beautiful. The restaurant looking out over Prague was one of our most memorable dining experiences. Staying at the Golden Well contributed immensely to our overall visit to Prague and I cannot recommend it more highly. The only note I would make is that the website refers to the hotel as "The Golden Well" while in Czech it is only called "U Zlate Studne" so we had some confusion asking for the hotel, but this is the most minor of comments.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trailingwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

This hotel is exceptional. I cannot recommend it more highly. From the moment you walk in the door you'll be treated like royalty by its friendly and attentive staff. The rooms are distinctive & charming with first class bathrooms. The breakfast is varied and delicious, served in the top floor terrace with city views. There is a comfy guest lounge which is stocked with snacks and wine and has free internet access. The hotel is located a short distance from the Charles Bridge and all the major sights of Prague are in walking distance. It is everything a good hotel should be.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

Everything about this hotel blew me away. My fiance found the hotel on this website, along with 2 others in other countries, and I could not believe we got the level of service and luxury that we received for the price we paid. The breakfast terrace has a spectacular view of the city. The professionalism of the staff is bar none. My fiance and I were taken care of in every way, from restaurant reservations to directions around the city. The room itself was awesome, huge bed, insanely clean floor we felt like we could eat off of. And best of all the location of the hotel is perfect for walking around Prague. I recommend this for any couple looking for a romantic, luxurious, and affordable stay in Prague.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvf9884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

Everything was perfect. The room, the service, the view from the terrace., the food etc. All employees was very serviceminded and did everyhting to make us feel good. I can strongly recommend this hotel, both for friends and couples.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekend2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing