We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Never having traveled to Prague before, we had never heard of this hotel and selected it based on the reviews here -- and it met all of our expectations -- we echo all the positive reviews of this hotel. Having breakfast every morning looking out over the spires of the Golden City was splendid, a quiet location away from the tourist throngs, yet within walking distance of all you would want to see. The hotel's restaurant is fabulous and is near other equally good restaurants. The staff was enthusiastic, always willing to help and smiling. A perfect place to stay in Prague.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YokohamaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    66
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
215
1,168
58
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Thanks Tripadvisor commentators! This hotel deserves its #1 rating. Set apart from the touristy areas, this hotel blends into the Castle's outer buildings (Actually it was the residence of the Roman Emperor when in Prague, if I remember correctly) The restaurants(s) have awesome views overlooking the city spires. The staff could not be more accommodating (although we don't ask for much). The only sour note to our experience was the dinner at the terrace restaurant. The food was good (not great), the view awesome (lucked out and saw fireworks in the distance), and service was great. BUT the price was way too much. We often spend $ 200.00 ( for two) at high end restaurants so this comment isn't about money. It just was over priced ($ 300.00 with one cocktail each) for what you received on the plate. I wish I would have listened to others but I often find people expect too much sometimes. In this case, I agree with their comments. There were other great meals in Prague. The hotel recommends DAVID and we had a really nice meal there. It was so good my husband left a generous 700 koruny tip. Have a great time in Prague!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinpair83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARDIFF
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I have just returned from a wonderful three night stay at theGolden Well with my husband .I originally stayed there with a girlfriend in Nov 2008, and had bored him rigid with stories of how wonderful it was . We arrived with much expectation, and we were not let down. The Golden Well offer their returning guests a considerable discount , and we were also upgraded to the Rudolf 11 suite , which was superb in every detail , with magnificent views over the city and beautiful gardens . It was my husband's birthday whilst we were there , and he received a beautiful birthday cake - your every wish is anticipated and catered for it is the most wonderful hotel , and it continues to be the best hotel we have ever stayed in . I could go on about this gem of a hotel, but would just be repeating my first review or that of hundreds of others . I didnt think it could surpass the first visit - I was wrong ! A first class hotel , superb staff and a beautiful city - unbeatable !!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshiretaffanproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

As noted herein by several other reviewers, we too booked the Golden Well because of its strong ratings and the highly positive guest comments posted to this website. While we expected the best, we were wowed by the experience. First, this boutique hotel's location in Mala Strana is within walking distance to many of Prague's important historical and cultural attractions. The hotel even has a private gate to the castle gardens. Prague has great public transit but walking about is easy. Second, views from Golden Well's resturant and its several comfortable balconies take in the rooftops and sights of Mala Strana and the spires and towers of Prague's cathedrals and buildings across the Vltava River - very romantic and inspiring. Third, while tastefully decorated and quiet, each room had an independent character, understandable given that the hotel is a remodeled historic home. The beds are as comfortable as a bed can be and the hotel even sports a pillow menu - a big hit with our daughters. All rooms have jetted tubs and more than adequate space. Each room has a DVD player and the hotel has a DVD library - watch Amadeus. It's a great flick and was filmed in Prague. Fourth and most importantly, the staff were over the top in assisting guests with any information or service that might improve upon their stay including recommending sights and excursions to suit particular interests, recommending and booking meals to please either palate or pocketbook, scheduling private or group tours, and going out of their way to give directions or just spend time with guests answering questions about Prague and the Czechs. Finally the Golden Well puts on a fine breakfast buffet spread and sets out complimentary afternoon treats and vino. TLM

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLMSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I had never used Trip Advisor before and had booked a different hotel in Prague but after reading all the great reviews, I decided to book the Golden Well and was certainly the right decision. The hotel is beautiful but the service is what really sets it apart. The staff is ready to accommodate any request you might have and the cleanliness is probably the best I have ever seen. We absolutely loved it and there is no question that we would stay there again if we ever visit Prague again in the future. The restaurant deserves a special mention. Its view is probably one of the best in town and the food is fantastic. Well worth a visit too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dansilber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We spent 4 days at this wonderful hotel. Had room 35, which was recommended by Robert, the general manager. Room was large and with a wonderful view of the Prague Castle gardens and (with a slight turn of the head) the entire city of Prague. Room also had an entryway with a desk in it and a nice bathroom. Most rooms do not have a shower, only a tub with a hand held shower- the hotel makes it very clear in their confirmations that with one or two exceptions, rooms do not have standard showers. A bit awkward to use, but it was a minor inconvenience for such a beautiful hotel with such a great location. It was absolutely quiet. Staff was extremely attentive. Free wireless internet was available in the room, although I had problems staying connected to it.

The hotel also goes under the name U Zlate Studne. Potential guests should be aware that there is another hotel in Prague called "U Zlate Studny (at the Golden Well)" which is in the very busy and noisy Old Town Square.

We can't wait to go back to Prague and stay at the Golden Well again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIMCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Loverly hotel. Very quaint, excellent location and first class service. Excellent choice to experience the beautiful city of Prague.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssegave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
2,971 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
2,428 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 670 in Prague
666 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing