We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best hotel we have stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Can't say enough positive things about this hotel. We stayed in Prague at the end of our 5 week trip and decided to treat ourselves by staying somewhere nice so decided on the Golden Well as recommended by Trip Advisor. Fantastic location just below the Prague Castle with views across the city. Hotel actually has a gate that allows you to enter the gardens of the castle. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and the restaurant at the hotel is first class. There was no problem in catering for our vegetarian diet. The night was cool on the terrace restaurant so they provided wool rugs for our legs and had outdoor gas heaters going so the fantastic view could be enjoyed in comfort. The most comfortable beds with a pillow menu to choose from. Complimentary internet was very useful and every afternoon they had drinks and snacks for guests in a communal area. All this included in your hotel rate. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMA0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    66
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
216
1,169
58
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Golden Well is a well located, charming hotel. The food is very good, especially dinner which was excellent. Our dining experience was enhanced by the beautiful view from the restaurant, which overlooks Prague. The crowning hallmark of Golden Well is the exceptional service. It became clear right from the start of our visit that the staff takes a sincere and personal interest in ensuring that guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. In our case, my son and I had taken an overnight train from Krakow to Prague and arrived at Golden Well, a little bleary eyed, at 7:30 am. Knowing that check in was not until much later in the day, we showed up only planning to drop our bags off at the hotel before heading back out. However, Ayman, who was at the front desk that morning, gave us a warm welcome, advised us that two rooms had been vacated very early that morning and that he would immediately send housekeeping up to ready them for us so that we could have an early check in, get showered, rest etc. While waiting he had us relax in the restaurant and set us up with coffee, juice and coffee cake. When he was able, he joined us, provided a city map and some tour suggestions then gave us a brief hotel tour before guiding us to our rooms. By 8:15 we were all set in our very comfortable rooms and at no time did any staff betray even the slightest hint that our early arrival was in any way inconvenient . I should note that I am not sure that they can always accommodate such an early arrival, but it was an example of how eager they are to please.

In short, we would highly recommend Golden Well. Since there is a similarly named hotel in Prague, ensure that you are booking with the correct one and that your taxi driver (or whoever is providing transport) has the specific address.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

Tucked away in the diplomatic and governmental area of Prague, the Golden Well is a cute little gem of a hotel. It's tiny all around (narrow common areas, narrow halls, narrow steps, small spaces) but they make good use of the space. (Although the room we were in was a fairly decent size). The bathroom is modern and clean. The restaurant is on the top level and has a lovely panoramic view of the city. Breakfast is good, although a bit limited in options. Dinner was delicious. The staff is extremely curteous and friendly. There's also a back entrance to the castle from the hotel from the very top floor. The hotel has a lovely decor and feel to it. Overall an excellent experience.

This is not a hotel for those who value a modern, business or ultra convenient situation. There is no gym/spa, only one computer, no business center, etc... try the Four Seasons instead but expect to pay an exhorbitant price. We had a small lunch there and it come to over $80 USD with no alcohol and no entrees - only two snacks.

One important note that I have not seen in any review and is good to know in advance: It's not the easiest hotel to find as it is tucked away so well - in the tiniest of streets up a cobblestone hill with not very good signage. We were looking for a sign saying "Golden Well Hotel" but did not see one. Instead we only found a sign saying "U Zlate Studne - Terrace" which we thought was just the street name or possibly a restaurant of some sort. It's also not possible for the taxi (or in our case our rental car) to make it all the way up the hotel's entrance, so just be forewarned of that as well. I do not mention these as complaints at all, simply tips and things to be aware of.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

While agreeing with other revewiers about the excellence of this hotel, I am surprised no one has mentioned the difficult access (perhaps someone has - I have to admit I haven't read all 400+ reviews!) There is no vehicular access to the hotel and our taxi dropped us at the end of the alley leading to it, leaving us with a 50-metre or more walk uphill on cobbles with our baggage! I assume we could have avoided the problem by arranging for the hotel to meet us at the airport, but there was no mention in the hotel's literature about the difficult access. Apart from this, we had an excellent stay at the Golden Well and heartily recommend it to other travellers. (It is very expensive, though).

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceiniog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Hi...Although there are certainly more than enough great reviews of this hotel to advise that this is an excellent place to stay, I just wanted to chime in with one more. From the excellent pick-up at the train station (and I mean right after exiting the train, avoiding the crowded terminal) to the orientation (and free drink!) upon arrival to (in my case) review a city map and advise about sightseeing plans and pointing out how to navigate the city (you can see everything from their terrace), my stay couldn't have been better. And while the more seasoned travelers here might not be as impressed with the multitude of little things they do to make you feel welcome, I certainly was!

Next to the Castle, but only 10 minute walk to Old Town (or maybe 15 if you get lost easily like me), location is excellent.
Service, from the first inquiry email to walking down the cobblestone road to leave for the airport, was impeccable (including recommended room to select...room 35...awesome). Well, maybe the leaving part wasn't so great (haha).
The restaurant was awesome, including the view at dusk and into night, with the lights of Prague below you.

Overall, a wonderful time and will definitely visit again (and someone can explain what a "pillow menu" is...wow)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugger003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

The service and staff are fantastic. We were pleasantly surprised with the room size, since most rooms we have stayed in while in Europe were small. The food at the restaurant was tasty and adventurous (asparagus sorbet). The location is perfect, but definitely wear comfortable shoes. The staff did everything to make us feel special and very welcome. Our package included a full breakfast, a dinner one night, appetizers and drinks were available every night, the metro pass was great, but the museum pass was not very useful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcsaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

This hotel is so amazing. The location is within easy walk to the Prague Castle as well as the Charles Bridge. The staff is very accommodating and there to help you with every need. The restaurant has an incredible view of the city of Prague and the food is outstanding. Sitting up on the Golden Well Terrace and eating dinner with an incredible view of Prague was a delightful way to end a busy day of sightseeing. The rooms are plush in every way. Look into their romance package for a honeymoon or special anniversary celebration. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing