We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service and amazing views”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Superb service and amazing views”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

The hotel is in a stunning location with views across the rooftops of Prague and a useful entrance from the beautiful castle grounds. It is only a short walk to the Charles Bridge, leading to the old town square and the more commercial areas beyond. The ancient architecture of the building has been sympathetically converted to accommodate guests without losing the atmosphere of a private dwelling. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed with a stylish en suite containing a whirlpool bath. We appreciated the efficient air conditioning on our return each day. My only minor gripe about the room would be the limited drawer space. We ate at the hotel restaurant only once, but it was worth the expense for the magical views and delicious gourmet food. Service from all of the staff was exceptional and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Prague.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cplazuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,648
    70
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
222
1,200
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2009

My wife and I are world travelers. We have travelled to most continents, and enjoy being pampered at very nice hotels. We can say unequivocally that our stay at the Golden Well Hotel was the best hotel experience that we have ever had.

The Golden Well Hotel is a small boutique hotel located in Prague (immediately adjacent to Prague Castle--with a secret door into the castle grounds). The views from the restaurant and outdoor cafe are amongst the best in Prague. The emphasis here is on service. The hotel staff will bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. We can cite several examples: 1. we wanted to purchase a special hand-made marionette (mass-produced puppets can easily be found in souvenir stores throughout the city); however, we wanted a hand-crafted marionette created by a skilled craftsman. The concierge researched the subject and set up an appointment for us to meet one of best marionette builders in the city. We were invited to their flat, and got a personal tour of their collection. 2. on our departure date, we had to leave at 6 in the morning. the concierge arranged for us to have a packed breakfast (gourmet sandwiches with fruits, drinks, and all sorts of goodies) for the morning departure. Furthermore, we had hot cappuccino prepared for our wake-up call.

The rooms and facilities were impeccably clean, rooms were spacious. All staff were very attentive to details, empahsizing the clients comfort.

This was the best hotel that we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler100003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

So much has been written about this hotel and I don't want to repeat it all so will just highlight what makes it stand out:

The location.
Convenient, yet quiet. Stunning views and access to the castle

The staff
Service was flawless. Attention to detail, superb. All very amenable and pleasant.

The building
Luxurious rooms and spotlessly clean.

The extras
Afternoon refreshments. Late check out arranged. Surprise cake delivered for birthday. Discount for future visits.

The negatives
Very few. Access may be difficult for some (cobbled lane). No shower in room.

Overall
Fantastic experience and hope to return. By far the best service we've ever experienced in a hotel (before, during and after our stay).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peig_Sayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Just returned from 3 nights at the Golden Well. Had the priviledge of staying at The Oriental in Bangkok 20 years ago when it was the consensus finest hotel in the world.
I think the same people must be running this place. Level of service and attention to detail are flawless. Rooftop restaurant, while pricey, has great food and service and a "to die for" view. Location is great-a short walk to Old Town and Charles Bridge but out of the Tourist hubbub, and just below the Castle property. Note that the shortcut to the Castle thru the gate at the rooftop restaurant is controlled by the Castle and doesn't open until 10:00.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tango009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We travelled to Prague from the UK by car, and so on arrival despite having stayed in a couple of other cities enroute, we were tired.

We had decided to chose Prague as a "Treat Destination" and therefore we trusted the comments on Tripadvisor and decided to book 3 luxury nights at this hotel. Truth is that we could have not chosen any better! The hotel was beautiful, the good care the staff took of us was unique, all the staff spoke very good English and, even the members of staff who didn't, tried their best and made us feel more than special. We felt like our happiness really mattered to them, and such attention to details and customer service is very rare to find in the present world.

The locations of the hotel is ideal for the town centre, just a short walk away, and the hotel itself is attached to the gardens of the castle, offering exclusive access for its guests.
The hotel's main door is magically hidden away, behind a very typical czech narrow street, so you can't drive your car up to the door. However, there is always help available: when we arrived a young man rushed to meet us and helped us with our luggage, and then took care of our car which was parked aways safely in an indoor garage near by.

The room was amazing and the view of Prague from any of our windows was indescribible. As the hotel staff was aware of the special occasion behind our trip, they sent to our room a cake to celebrate our honeymoon, accompanied by the most beautfiul note (which will be forever saved in our wedding box).

For the first night we decided to treat ourselves to a special dinner at the restaurant of the hotel and, although maybe a little pricey, it was perfect. The food was very good, the location unbelievable (especially when the city lights start to come up in the dark) and the staff were very attentive and truly pleasant.

We were very sorry to leave, but we will forever treasure these memories in our hearts: it was one of the peaks of our honeymoon and we would love to go back again. We would defenitely reccommend it! Thank you to everyone at the Golden Well!!!
Stuart and Debbie Wood

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodiesManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Can't say enough positive things about this hotel. We stayed in Prague at the end of our 5 week trip and decided to treat ourselves by staying somewhere nice so decided on the Golden Well as recommended by Trip Advisor. Fantastic location just below the Prague Castle with views across the city. Hotel actually has a gate that allows you to enter the gardens of the castle. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and the restaurant at the hotel is first class. There was no problem in catering for our vegetarian diet. The night was cool on the terrace restaurant so they provided wool rugs for our legs and had outdoor gas heaters going so the fantastic view could be enjoyed in comfort. The most comfortable beds with a pillow menu to choose from. Complimentary internet was very useful and every afternoon they had drinks and snacks for guests in a communal area. All this included in your hotel rate. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMA0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Golden Well is a well located, charming hotel. The food is very good, especially dinner which was excellent. Our dining experience was enhanced by the beautiful view from the restaurant, which overlooks Prague. The crowning hallmark of Golden Well is the exceptional service. It became clear right from the start of our visit that the staff takes a sincere and personal interest in ensuring that guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. In our case, my son and I had taken an overnight train from Krakow to Prague and arrived at Golden Well, a little bleary eyed, at 7:30 am. Knowing that check in was not until much later in the day, we showed up only planning to drop our bags off at the hotel before heading back out. However, Ayman, who was at the front desk that morning, gave us a warm welcome, advised us that two rooms had been vacated very early that morning and that he would immediately send housekeeping up to ready them for us so that we could have an early check in, get showered, rest etc. While waiting he had us relax in the restaurant and set us up with coffee, juice and coffee cake. When he was able, he joined us, provided a city map and some tour suggestions then gave us a brief hotel tour before guiding us to our rooms. By 8:15 we were all set in our very comfortable rooms and at no time did any staff betray even the slightest hint that our early arrival was in any way inconvenient . I should note that I am not sure that they can always accommodate such an early arrival, but it was an example of how eager they are to please.

In short, we would highly recommend Golden Well. Since there is a similarly named hotel in Prague, ensure that you are booking with the correct one and that your taxi driver (or whoever is providing transport) has the specific address.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,627 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
772 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing