We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper old world sophistication, oozes quality and personal service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Proper old world sophistication, oozes quality and personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

I had already decided on the hotel we were going to stay in for my wife's birthday and it was almost as an afterthought that I checked the reviews. I saw the headline reviews and the rating on the Golden Well and decided to check it out just for the sake of comparison.

Every hotel I looked at afterwards was a second best in comparison and so I booked in. Over a series of emails I agreed the details of the Romantic Escape package with the hotel and all was set. Everyone knows that to provide good customer service you have to not only meet but exceed the customers expectations. After the website, the reviews and the emails this wasn't going to be easy for the Golden Well as my expectations were very, very high. And they didn't meet my expectations. In fact they didn't exceed them - they completely blew them out of the water!

I'm not going to give the full details of everything them did for us to make the stay the single best hotel experience we have ever had. Some of the personal touches were so unexpected and so sweet that it would be a shame to spoil them for anyone else planning to stay there. But it was absolutely perfect. From the pick up at the airport to the personal email from the manager after check out it is pretty much impossible to improve on. Staff were there when we needed them and invisible when we didn't - immaculate service without the over the top "anything we can help you with / is everything to your satisfaction?" interference that you get in some chain hotels. The hotel itself was the same - immaculate and luxurious but no bling or nonsense. The whole thing was just end to end sophistication.

And that sophistication isn't cheap. In fact by Prague standards it's probably quite expensive. But value isn't about the lowest price and I had no problem with paying the bill at the end of our stay because it was the best value for money I have ever had in a hotel.

If you are looking for a romantic break then this is really the only hotel that you need to look at - nothing else will be as good!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewmcdonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    66
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
215
1,164
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

I don't think I can add any thing different to the excellent reviews already. We have just returned from celebrating our 25th anniversary at this hotel. We chose the romantic package and it was just as it said- romantic!! The hotel food is excellent. It is a fantastic memory sitting having dinner looking out over the roof tops of Prague. Excellent service and staff. We can recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Having just returned from a superb 3 night stay, I can only further endorse the many enthusiastic reviews posted here before me.

Having pre-arranged a Mercedes transfer from (and to) the airport we arrived at the hotel on a stiflingly hot Thursday afternoon to be greeted with extremely welcome cold towels. The check-in experience was a joy compared to the often curt and impersonal experience endured in many chain hotels - a half hour one-to-one affair which included a full hotel tour and welcome drink.

The location is second to none - in the shadow of Prague Castle, blessed with unparalleled views of the city, and no more than a 10 minute walk to Charles Bridge. The peaceful Mala Strana neighbourhood offered a welcome respite from the hurly-burly that is tourist Prague. The hotel makes great use of its location with both the breakfast room and terrace restaurant offering breathtaking vistas. We dined in the restaurant on 2 evenings and the standard was excellent if a little overpriced - perhaps you are paying a premium for the view. The hotel did recommend a nearly restaurant (Restaurant David) which was absolutely superb and well worth checking out. The breakfast could not be faulted.

Our room (no. 34) offered views of both the city and Petrin hill, and had a particularly spacious bathroom with cavernous corner jacuzzi bath. No effort was spared by the excellent staff in making our stay a memorable one, and there were some nice touches including champagne, strawberries and roses in our room on arrival (it was our Wedding Anniversary) and complimentary canapés and drinks at 4pm daily.

Undoubtedly one of the best hotel experiences I have had to date and one which I would wholeheartedly recommend to all!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quechyquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

From our initial communications with the hotel, through delivery to the airport after a four day stay, everything was exceptional. For a 30 Euro fee, you can reserve a specific room - on the recommendation of the concierge, we booked #35 -- fantastic view of royal gardens adjacent to the castle, as well as the city below. Well appointed, down to the music selection on the ipod by the bed. I would recommend this room to anyone. We also booked the airport pickup/delivery service and were pleased -- it made everything so easy. As others have noted, at least one dinner in the terrace restaurant is a must - good food and service; unparalleled view. The staff was consistently attentive and helpful. The location is perfect -- the castle is accessible through a private back gate; the Charles Bridge is a five minute walk. We were in six countries on this trip -- our visit to Prague was the highlight; and the Golden Well made it perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COBDeanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

The Golden Well Hotel enjoys an excellent location with stunning views over the city. The layout is reminiscent of a collection of houses with small courtyards on several levels which are joined at a central point housing the lift.

I recommend taking advantage of the transport that can be organised by the hotel for the trip from and to Prague airport. Not only is it efficient and comfortable (The car that met us was an E Class Mercedes) but the hotel is tucked away and I believe that we may have found it difficult to locate.

There is easy access to the Palace gardens from the top terrace, and Charles bridge is a little more that ten minutes walk down hill over cobbled streets.

The staff are attentive without being intrusive and the fabric of the hotel is finished to a high standard using traditional materials. Varnished oak has been used extensively throughout.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We just spent 6 nights in this boutique hotel and highly recommend it as it was the best hotel we've experienced. Besides being impeccably clean, the staff were pleasant, very accommodating, speaking perfect English and went out of their way to please us. Set high above all of Prague below the Castle walls, the views are breathtaking. The continental breakfast was excellent as well as the afternoon refreshments set up on the terrace made for a relaxing respite while looking out over the whole city.
This hotel is in a quiet area of Prague and the only drawback is the steep cobblestone hill to climb and no stand up shower, just a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoushig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

We stayed at the Golden Well July 8-11. Having read such great TripAdvisor reviews was the basis for our decision to stay here, although I have been disappointed in the past when choosing hotels based solely on reviews. I was not disappointed in The Golden Well – it was even better than I expected. I have traveled extensively and stayed at many great hotels, and I can easily say that the Golden Well is in my top three so far. The location is perfect, the views from our window and from the restaurant were amazing, and the service was top-notch. We booked a package deal which included a car transfer from the train station, a Prague Card for free/discounted admission to many sites and free public transportation, a discount at the hotel restaurant, and evening hors d’oeuvres in our room. The driver met us at the train station, even though our train was 45 minutes late. He was friendly and helpful. We arrived at the hotel at around 9:30 p.m., and Barbora greeted us with warm towels, cocktails, an informative review of the city map and a tour of the hotel. She answered all our questions and offered advice on things we would not have thought to ask about. Our room was beautiful, clean and comfortable, the bathroom had a jetted tub (no shower, just a detachable shower head in the bath, which worked fine) and they even offer to run a bath for you if, after a long day of sight-seeing, you want your bath to be waiting for you on your return. We ordered room service from the restaurant on the first night, due to arriving late and being exhausted and hungry. It was expensive, but delicious and promptly delivered. The hotel has a daily happy hour in the lounge where they serve drinks and hors d’oeuvres. We had dinner at the restaurant one night – I could have eaten there every night if it were not outside our budget! Wonderful food and service, and the view is surreal. There is a gate from the restaurant to the gardens of Prague Castle, so you can take a stroll before or after dinner and enjoy the views. All in all, it was a perfect stay, and we felt like everyone went out of their way to serve us and make sure we were happy. We dreaded leaving and will definitely return. Prague is a lovely city despite all the (other) tourists, and staying at The Golden Well definitely enhanced our experience and provided us with a quiet corner of the city to return to every night. It is a special hotel and it deserves the recognition and great reviews it gets on this site.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agua_de_lluvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing