We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look further...”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Highcloud Village
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't look further...”
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Perfect. That's the way a small, exclusive hotel must be run. It would be nice if a large international hotel would also have such a standard! I know none - and have been around the world a few times. We will be back soon. By the way, this was our fourth visit to Praha this year and the previous accomodations, albeit a bit lower in price, could not touch U Zlate Studné.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,621
    67
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
219
1,176
59
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed at in Europe - check out the other reviews and you can see that we are not alone in our views of this wonderful place. Everything is just fantastic from the airport shuttle, the welcome and tour, the rooms, the restaurant food, the service and the attention to detail and even the printer in the internet room so you can print your return boarding passes - how thoughtful. And there is the key to this hotel - it has been beautifully designed and laid out and a great deal of thought has been put into making your stay one to remember forever.
My wife and I have stayed in many top hotels in Europe and always choose smaller ones like the Golden Well because they know so much about how to provide individual care and attention for their guests and this hotel is just the best one at providing this service. At the end of the day, coming back to this hotel is like coming home to all your own comforts - champagne and finger buffet to refresh you before dinner and then a lovely Molton Brown bath (our favourite bathroom accessories) - what more could you ask for.

No wonder that this hotel has the Number 1 Trip Advisor spot for Prague - don't delay - go ahead and book now for the experience of a lifetime.

Very well done to all the staff and we definitely will return.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2009

My fiance booked the golden well as a suprise for my 30th birthday. When we arrived at the airport, a driver was waiting to take us to the hotel, and gave us a guided tour on the way! The staff at the hotel were the most friendly and courteous I have met in a stay at a hotel. The hotel and room were superb. The hotel itself is located quite central, and all of the major sights are within walking distance. We even arrived back to our room on the night of my birthday to find a hand-written card and a birthday cake from the staff! Thanks golden well (and my fiance) for making my 30th an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davemDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Firstly, our honeymoon started off at T5 Heathrow in the club lounge. We had the romantic package for the first 3 days of our stay with another 2 days tagged on so we were there from Monday to Saturday.

When we arrived in Prague, we were met by our driver as soon as we walked through the arrivals door holding a sign with our name. We were duly whisked away in an awesome Merc with blacked out windows and soon into our boutique hotel within half an hour. A porter was waiting at the end of the hotel ready to collect our bags from the car.

We were welcomed by Anastasjia who handed us refreshing towels and sparkly. After arranging our Aroma bath, Cheese and Wine and Chocolate Fondue for the various nights, she showed us around. Free Canopes and drinks between 4 - 6pm everyone. There's also free wifi in the hotel and laptop and printer in the concierge area. Handy for checking in online at the airport on the way back!

Our room (35) was awesome. Had the views over Prague. We could see the TV tower, national theatre, St Nicholas Church etc. Same view you would get in the restaurant. The room came with a safe, Samsung TV with Sky Sport 1 (which I loved but not the wife). Must TV channels were German. There is complimentary shoe cleaning service. Plenty of drawer and hanger space. No need to take toiletries as there is a vast array of Molten Brown products in the bathroom. Had a Jacuzzi, shower, and rain shower.

Our package came with Champers, Strawberries and Roses in the room. I won't spoil it but the bottle of poo is special.

Breakfast and evening meal (which you have to try at least once) was superb. The views are to die for. The service and food (being a bit of a foodie) was first class. If you have the Al a Carte, you have to try the Royal Breakfast and the Piemonte Scrambie Eggs. Big thank you and reccommendation to Andrea for being an excellent waitress and host. She was very attentive bringing us coffee and pastries in the morning, to serving us in the restaurant without being intrusive. Same goes to all staff.

Hotel is located up a quiet alley. Don't be scared though as it is near the british embassy, parliment building etc so there are plenty of police about. Ideal location to all the hotspot including St. Charles Bridge, St. Nicholas Church, Segway tours with Tomas. Look him up at pragueonsegway.com Thoroughly reccommended. Let him know that Craig and Gillian (just married and did the Old Town Tour says hello).

Sad thing is leaving this hotel as it was ideal and awesome. You can have a wake up call every monrning and have coffee brought up to your room. When we left, they arrange for the same driver and car to take us to the airport and drop us off right outside the terminal.

All we can say is that for a honeymoon destination, having the clean, crisp, cold air and lovely sites to take in, this hotel adds to the whole experience.

Again, big thank you to Anastasji, Andrea and Petra for making our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We have stayed in dozens of hotels and resorts around the world. This is by far the best hotel experience that we have ever had. The rooms are impeccable - more like staying in our own loft than staying in a hotel. The service is fantastic and the people are terrific. The location is right near the castle and the views from our room were excellent. The pillow menu was a special thrill. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eburns6624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
us
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My first time visiting this splendid city, I was looking for a hotel with excellent service, good amenities, and helpful staff, along with a good location. I found all of this and more at the Golden Well Hotel.
My first trip to Prague was hampered by a cold, so upon arrival, I was feeling a little out of sorts. However, Anastasia, one of the most lovely front desk personnel I have ever had the pleasure to meet, was so kind and helpful--after showing us around this gem of a hotel, she kindly offered myself and my husband a welcome drink (mine was a cranberry juice, lol), and the most lovely hors'doeuvres...all while recommending to us the sights and places to see while we were in the city.

After settling into our lovely room (ohhh--the most comfy bed and pillows--I miss that bed!)-- we decided on a late lunch, complete with spectacular views of the city rooftops. The food was exceptional--we had room service dinner and breakfast most days--I highly recommend thier heavenly French Toast--again, wish I had some here right now! :)

As I was still feeling under the weather later on that day, the hotel was so kind to send up some medicine and tea for me--also, their luxurious bubble bath with scrumptious Molton Brown products were jus tthe therapy I needed.

All I can say is that I was so sad to leave--their whole staff was so pleasant and friendly--when we plan our next trip to Prague, we will surely book at the Golden Well again...one of the best and nicest places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prague_bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

My mother and I stayed for a week in November and had a wonderful holiday. The hotel was charming as were all its employees. Convenient to everything - 5 minutes walk from the centre of Prague. Located in a cul de sac, The Golden Wells hotel was so quiet you wouldn't have known that you were in a city. Our twin room was very comfortable, with all amenities. The standard of hygiene was second to none - superb. Breakfast buffet was included in our stay and everything you could want was on the beautifully displayed table in the breakfast room. To sit enjoying breakfast overlooking the roofs, chimneys and church spires of Prague was breathtaking. Could not recommend it highly enough. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frewin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,021 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing