We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever stayed in!!!”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #4 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever stayed in!!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I took my wife to Prague for a special occasion and wanted to stay in the best hotel I could. From previous reviews this was the obvious choice and I have to say, we were not disappointed. I have stayed in £600 GBP a night hotels before and this beat them hands down. The personal touch on arrival and throughout our stay was unrivalled and the location, under the castle walls, was a dream. If you want a hotel that feels exclusive, without having to pay outrageous prices, then I don't think you'll find a better hotel than this in Prague and perhaps, anywhere. It was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBriFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,668
    70
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
226
1,213
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I booked this hotel for a long overdue second honeymoon with my husband based on tripadvisor. Completely satisfied with this lovely lovely small, friendly, beautiful hotel. The service was unsurpassed [in fact we met new young enthusiastic desk staff every day and wondered if they bred them in the back somewhere...] The little touches were so special -- cocktails and snacks in the afternoon, the lovely little cakes left next to your bed at night, the attention to helping us plan out our tours daily. Can't really say a negative thing about it....it rocks!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaOlioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My wife and I checked into this hotel for a nice long weekend in Prague, and were not disappointed in anyway. This hotel is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed in, mostly due to all the staff who really do everything possible to be as welcoming and accommodating as possible. On arrival we were warmly welcomed, as well as upgraded, and given a beautiful room well suited to a romantic weekend away in Prague. Throughout our stay the hotel staffs were nothing but friendly and helpful. Both breakfast and Dinner at the hotel were enjoyable, and the rooms themselves are cosy warm and lovely. In all we could not find one single fault with this fine establishment and the staff. Highly recommend anyone thinking of going to Prague stays here :)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTravellingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2010

This hotel became part of our travel experience, never thought I'd call home and go on about the hotel.. It was such a warm and comfortable ambiance, exellent staff eager to please. Head Chef Pavel Sapik certainly knows what he is up to- top noch dinner with a grand view. I spent the minutes before falling asleep planning what to have for breakfast. (I normally skip breakfast) Recommend the transferservice as well- so worth it. We are already planning our return, and havent yet finished unpacking our bags.
The staff was brill, the room was perfect- all in all the most wonderful weekend we have ever enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KynningAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

This is a hidden gem. The rooms are very pretty, though our bathroom was a tiny little bit dated, the hotel has so much charm and nothing is too much for the wonderful staff. The turn down service (with cake!) is lovely, as is breakfast, the view and the little cobbled street that ends at the door to the hotel. We felt as though we were in our own home, with drinks and snacks being served in the small but perfect lounge at around 4pm.
A great location, wonderfully comfy beds and lovely staff- not to expensive.... lovely!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakinJonathan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 nights stay at the Golden Well. I booked it on the basis of the excellent reviews received on this site, as a special break to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We certainly weren't disappointed. The hotel itself is beautiful and is ideally located for exploring the main areas of Prague. The staff were very helpful and friendly; their service could not be faulted and they gave the impression nothing would ever be too much trouble. Their attention to detail is second to none.
The restaurant, where breakfast is also served, has amazing views over the city and is tastefully decorated. We ate in the restaurant on the evening of our anniversary, and whilst it is considerably more expensive than we would normally pay (a 3-course meal with wine for two was approx £150), we thoroughly enjoyed it.
When considering the location, the service and the quality of the hotel I feel the room rates represent good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyC_Stockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We arived in Prague and were met at the airport by a friendly driver who took us straight to the hotel in a clean Mercedez. The hotel has only 19 rooms but they are very nice. When we got to the room, we found a nice bottle of wine and and assortment of chocolates that were complementary.

The whole stay was filled with pleasant suprises and an amazing attention to detail. The staff is incredibly attentive.

This was without a doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellevue_WATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,689 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
816 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#4 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing