We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, quiet and relaxing location, great service and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, quiet and relaxing location, great service and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We have spent 4 days in Prague with my wife and my parents in law and this hotel has been fantastic. I had been before in Prague in other hotels and I can say this is, by far, the best one I've stayed in the city.
The location is good, since you are far from the crowed points, so the sleep quality is perfect (apart from the excelent beds and pillow a-la-carte that the hotel offers), but at the same time you are close to almost everywhere in Prague (Castle is 10 minutes walking, Old Town Square is 15 min and Charles Bridge is just 5 min walking). We got a room with views to Prague city and views are incredible!
Service is very good and they can offer and solve you whatever problem you could have. There are a lot of small details the hotel provide to you that makes your stay really special!!
I would for sure recommend the hotel and I would for sure come back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMerenciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    66
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
215
1,164
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Great small hotel, excellent service, wonderful food and attentive staff. The location below the walls and gardens of the Prague Castle offers a respite from the busyness of a city center, and it is only a short stroll across the Charles Bridge to the center of town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkinsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

From the 20 minute personal introduction to the hotel (including drinks on the deck overlooking the city), to the: beautiful rooms, great food, in-room jacuzzi, fresh fruit in the room daily, complementary bottle of wine in our room upon arrival, personal iPod in our room, a lounge with computer internet access, daily happy hour with free cocktails and snacks, incredible restaurant, helpful concierge, oh and did I mention the breathtaking views and private entrance to the old castle... this is one of the greatest gems hidden away in Prague and all of Europe! If you want a giant international chain, stay at the nearby Oriental Mandarin. But if you want an intimate magnificent experience reflective of Prague's own tastes and warm people, stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary11577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Golden Well to celebrate our Wedding anniversary. We booked last minute having to change our travel plans to Paris. I selected the romance package which I feel offered good value. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived until we left. The restaurant is great we enjoyed the tasting menu with wines. If you are going to Prague this is a great hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

There is nothing this hotel won't do to make your stay an exceptional one. The location is fantastic. It's a bit hard to find (tucked round the corner of an ever narrowing laneway), but the directions to it are easy enough to follow. From your first greeting by the reception staff you realise the customer's needs have been carefully thought through. Each night, the turn down service places a fresh bottle of water and a beautiful miniature dessert by your bed. No simple chocolates on the pillow here.
Breakfast is in the dining room (or terrace as the weather permits) where you are greeted with the most marvelous range of freshly prepared goods (yoghourts, pastries, breads etc). As well as this you are presented with an extensive selection of cooked breakfast options. If you don't like any of these, the staff encourage you to ask them to prepare something you would like instead. (Don't ask for vegemite. It's probably one step too far for even these perfectionists). We generally had such a yummy breakfast that we went without lunch. (Well, maybe a cake or something along the way.) Do take time to eat at the restaurant. The head chef here is nothing but amazing (It's not a 'hatted' restaurant - but appears in the Michelin Guide). Table service from the staff is just right as well. Not too cloying and not at all distant or difficult to locate when needed. (Do you hear that Sydney waiters?...) When comes time for you to reluctantly leave, you are able to leave your luggage at the hotel (nothing new) and when you return for your transfer (as we did) you have the option of using a fully equipped bathroom adjoining the guest lounge! (very impressive when you have 28hrs travel ahead of you). The down side of this hotel? It's not located in the easiest part of the town (it's up against the castle wall) and if you have walking problems then it'll be a challenge too far. However, it does have one fo the best views over Prague from the restaurant and terrace above and you do get your own 'shortcut' to the castle area from the terrace. (After the castle guards lock the gate to the terrace at around 6pm it will take you close to 15 minutes to walk to the castle). We liked the location because it was within walking distance to the old city via the Charles Bridge (about 10 - 15 minutes0, but it was far enough away fromn the crowds to be a quiet haven. Next time we're in Prague we wouldn't consider staying at another hotel. As Molly Meldrum would say. "Do yourself a favour..."

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanPopely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

My wife and I had not been to Prague before, so we wanted to stay somewhere nice and at a good location. After reading the reviews I selected the Golden Well Hotel. What a joy. The staff are excellent, the hotel is wonderful, and the breakfasts get you set for the day. The room I wanted was not available, so the hotel upgraded us for the 1st night, then moved our luggage for us. There was nothing to fault in the service or the facilities. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daitoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We decided to stay at the Golden Well Hotel during our honeymoon in October 2010 and were more than impressed. All the fantastic recommendations we have been reading on tripadvisor about this hotel are certainly true and it is definitely something one needs to experience to realise. Not only was the view from our hotel just magical, the service was absolutely fantastic, the room extremely luxurious and every member of the staff there were always more than willing to go that extra yard to make sure we were happy.

We loved the breakfast, the personalised newspapers and certainly also miss the turn down service and daily desserts delivered to our rooms. If we went back to Prague, we will definitely stay at the Golden Well again.

Thank you Golden Well for making our honeymoon extra special, and also thank you for the lovely "happy honeymoon" cake.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing