We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special hotel made wonderful by amazing staff and attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Special hotel made wonderful by amazing staff and attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at this small hotel towards the end of our Europe trip. We had stayed in some quite special hotels but what makes the Golden Well stand out is the staff and the little thoughtful surprises. We had just a GREAT check-in experience with Radek and also other wonderful staff interactions- Oxana was just a lovely restaurant waitress. The attention to detail is really quite special, several times a day you will be wowed with lovely thoughtful touches.
It is not perfect- the wooden floors mean that you will hear other guests moving in the next room and especially in the floors above. The position is a little difficult especially when approaching with a vehicle- GPS was not a real help and we had to ask for directions from local constabulary- some better signage might help.
Special mention must go to the restaurant- the view is special, the staff attentive and the chef is probably at Michelin 1-2 star level (?!)- we would have liked to explore the menu more on our stay.
Overall a great stay and a memorable experience.
We stayed in an upgrade room with a view.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrShhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    66
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
216
1,169
58
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Wonderful service and cozy room! What a delight to have such a nice respite from the huge weekend crowds in Prague!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

A very pleasant and confortable hotel. The room (superior category) was large, well funrnished with a supeb view on Prague (three windows). The staff is discrete but attentive and with good advices.
A special mark for the restaurant with a great and inventive cooking.
A minor critic : a choice for a lighter breakfast wiil be fine (presentty the breakfast is at 25 Euros, 15 if booked by advance)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

The fact that the chateau was given by King Rudolph to an astronomer friend of his (a contemporary of Galileo) is cool enough, but when you add the incredible views, restaurant, lovely rooms, and service, this hotel is second to none. It''s unique in Prague, just a touch away from the hustle of town but close enough to walk there quickly and is steeped in history. Beyond this, when we had a reservation problem because of a sketchy website we had booked through, the staff couldn't have been more gracious and helpful, going so far to help book us another hotel for the last night of our stay (as they were already booked). It is expensive, but for a splurge well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buppiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

First day at the hotel. Everything is smooth and perfect. Small hotel , very central though. Very different from most European hotels where service levels are low. When you check in you get a hot towel, with a drink and a snack. The snack today that was given - a chicken starter was one of the best I had. A 5 minute hotel tour is given when you check in. Decent drinks and snacks in the lounge in the evening. Excellent bathrooms and great toileteries to match that. Evening desset is ready when you are back. Even room service is quick.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mani123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

This hotel was truly best at everything: friendly staff, beautiful and quiet room, excellent restaurant with spectacular views of city, great location. They even parked our rental car safely for us during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rottrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

One of the main parameters that made our stay in Prague very exceptional was " The Golden Well Hotel". Appart from the overall perfect impression in terms of service, comfort, and location, I would like to emphasize on the following : a) The very detailed tour of the hotel, and the presentation of the facilities available, as soon as we arrived, together with a drink at the beautifuly situated hotel restaurant, overlooking the old town. b) The wake-up call in the morning accompanied by coffee of our choice and a hot croissant. I truly appreciated this gesture bearing in mind that breakfast was not included in the room cost. c) The afternoon complementary coffe or tea ,accompanied by assorted snacks at the very atmospheric library room.
The above and many more small details show a different attitude and a real proffesionalism. We realy thank the management of the hotel for a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lion1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing