We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why isn't there a 6 star rating?? There is an art in this sort of service”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why isn't there a 6 star rating?? There is an art in this sort of service”
Reviewed 1 December 2010

A truly memorable place to stay... we spent 5 weeks in Europe and this Hotel and these 4 nights were the highlight of the trip. Prague is a "must see" city, and the location of the Golden Well is fantastic; close to everything yet near the real life of the city where you can wander down the cobblestone streets and alleyways to your hearts content (but not necessarily for your feet! Luckily there are lots of shoe shops nearby if you forget your walking shoes). Say this after 3 weeks on cobblestones prior to this.

Service and atmosphere abound here and you are made to feel special from the moment you arrive - and attention to detail is amazing. Each day brings new surprises (can't tell you - you have to go and find it for yourself) but the little things they do are fantastic. Housekeeping staff are exceptional, and things like turning your bed down in the evening are a luxury I had only ever dreamed or heard of.. well it happens and with graciousness that is surprising.. and the other surprises that await you are ... just great

We took the opportunity to partake in the afternoon drinks, and this proved to be a great chance to meet new and interesting people from all around the world. Absolutely recommend this place for special memories.
Make sure you have at LEAST one meal at the restaurant and if can, go to the outdoor one - views are superb and out of peak season you may be lucky like we were ( the only people eating outdoors - as the weather was getting cooler) to have our own waiter and sommelier for the night - a truly magical experience. The night time vista over Prague is really special.

Absolutely make sure you have breakfast in the restaurant - start with the champagne if you want, but the choice of meals cooked to order is great... nothing is ever too much trouble. The restaurant staff go out of their way to please.

The sad day of leaving arrives, and the staff take the same care and attention to your departure as they did to your arrival - everything is made easy and realxed

it was easy to grow fond of all the staff here, since they were such an integral part of the experience of the Hotel and Prague. It is worth every cent you spend to experience this place, and I wouldn't swap these memories for anything.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    69
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
220
1,188
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

From the moment we arrived, via a spotless Mercedes which met us at the Prague Airport, we felt truly lucky to be guests at The Golden Well. Hidden away among the quiet streets of Mala Strana on the hillsides of Prague Castle, we were charmed throughout our five-night stay. Petr, speaking perfect English, gave us a thorough tour of the hotel, a wonderful renovation/restoration of an ancient building, with an abundance of elegant yet still cozy spaces. We were also delighted with the view from our 3rd floor window - overlooking the garden terraces of Prague Castle.

Loved: the daily cocktail reception from 4 to 6 p.m. in the intimate lounge on the hotel's 2nd floor, with complimentary wine and nibbles. Met some interesting fellow guests and enjoyed the conversations about mutual travels.

Loved: returning to our room each evening to find a different bite of dessert on a plate on each side of the bed, with a notecard reading: "Sweet Dreams."

Didn't quite love our quirky bathroom, which had a sloping ceiling over the bathtub, preventing a full shower. It did look charming, but was awkward.

Dined our last evening in the hotel restaurant, outdoors on the terrace at sunset, with its sweeping views of the iconic red roofs of historic Prague. Very expensive but perhaps worth it if the weather is cooperative. Loved the thoughtful heaters and lap blankets to ward off any chilly night air. The views are amazing.

Also: the neighborhood is very quiet, occupied primarily by grand government buildings, but within easy walking distance of local restaurants. Also, easy walking to nearly everything in the historic center, including the Charles Bridge and Old Town.

Use the "Secret Door" at the rear of the restaurant terrace, which opens to a shortcut trail to the Prague Castle. Also, ask for the location of what must be the world's safest ATM, just down the street: it is hidden behind vast wooden doors which open into the vestibule of the entry of a Parliment building. The entry, and thus this ATM, is guarded day and night, often with two guards outside, and one guard inside!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVETHATVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Tucked away on a quiet little alley minutes from the Prague castle and Charles Bridge, this charming hotel offers a bit of history with modern luxuries. From the moment we arrived the attentive staff showed us around the hotel, which included showing us the amazing view from the restaurant over all of the old city where they welcomed us with a local beer, then brought us our nightly treats at turn-down, offered to have warm baths waiting when we returned from our Christmas shopping, and even without prompting bubble wrapped our souvenirs while we were out touring the city. The hotel offers daily snacks and wine for guests, tea and coffee throughout the day, 24 hour concierge service, a fair sized gym for use at their sister hotel 5 minutes away, and if you just can’t make it out of the room, one of the largest DVD collections I have ever seen! Overall, an intimate hotel where the staff knows the hotel patrons, is waiting with impeccable service, and really made the visit to Prague a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelFWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We just got back from our "late" honeymoon in Prague. The Golden Well Hotel was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed at. It is a boutique hotel so if you have kids or are looking for complete anonymity you might want to find a large hotel chain. But if you are looking to be treated like royalty in a cozy personal atmosphere, this is the place for you.

The staff went above and beyond. The turndown service in the evening is an added touch. We loved the champagne cocktail hour between 4-6. It is a great way to converse with other travelers. Any excursion or question is immediately addressed by the well-trained staff.

We chose to include the a la carte breakfast and it was worth every dime! The restaurant has one of the best views in Prague. You can also order the breakfast as room service. T

We stayed in a deluxe room. The radiant tile bathroom floor was a great touch for cold November mornings. The king-size feather bed with down comforter provided a perfect sanctuary after a long day of exploring.

I've read some reviews that said that the location is not ideal. I disagree. Yes, we did have to walk 15 minutes or so to Old Town, but Prague in general is all about walking. Besides, the Golden Well is meters from Czech Parliament which means that there is 24/7 police presence and surveillance around the hotel. It definitely made us feel secure.

The Castle and Lesser town are a short walk away. The Lesser Town area has some very romantic and quaint restaurants that are more budget friendly than the uber tourist areas. This part of the city is much more quiet and relaxing as opposed to the hustle and bustle of New and Old Town. Then again, if you want the hustle and bustle, you are only a 15 minute walk away. For nightlife, we would usually walk to the destination and then take a taxi to our hotel ($10-$15) if we didn't feel like walking home.

The Golden Well is an absolute gem. I would not stay anywhere else in Prague.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLGrl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The Golden Well had received great reviews on Trip Advisor and so we were absolutely delighted to find everything more than lived up to expectations. We had asked to be collected from the airport and the trip into Prague was a delight. As noted by others the attention to detail is wonderful and we don't think that any other hotel has made us feel as special as the staff at the Golden Well. We had the customary tour of the hotel and then tea and coffee, whilst we were given the lowdown. Our room was beautiful, with a lovely comfortable bed and attractive furnishings and a cosy bathroom. The docking station was a a nice surprise and we could listen to our own music as we had brought our own I-pod. There was also a DVD player and the hotel had an excellent supply of DVDs available to borrow. We ordered an oil bath and this really added to our wonderfully romantic weekend. Breakfast was a beautiful spread and a cooked breakfast was available if you wanted: sparkling wine at breakfast was also on tap. My wife said the one thing about this hotel was that it was so good she didn't want to go out to see Prague! Another special was "tea-time", again with wine (or tea and coffee) served and tasty treats. This was all set out in a cosy room which lent itself to chats with other guests. I was particularly happy with free internet: why is it so many hotels charge extortionate rates for internet access? So to bring this to an end, if you want a wonderful break in a truly lovely hotel you cannot beat the Golden Well

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We sayed at the Golden Well in April for 4 nights over Easter. The earlier excellent reviews do not exaggerate how good this hotel is. Loved Prague, loved the Golden Well and it's restaurant with spectacular views over the city, thank you to all of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

This hotel is the Ultimate place to stay in Prague and is located right near Prague Castle. From the time we arrived nothing was too much. Atmosphere was great, service was excellent. I can't fault anything. Hotel facilities were fantastic especially the heated floor tiles in the bathroom, the breakfast room with the breathtaking views of Prague and the nightly turn down service with our little surprise each night. Do yourself a favour if your coming to Prague this is the place to stay don’t miss out on the opportunity to be pampered after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,573 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
739 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing