We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay, but in-house place could be quieter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, but in-house place could be quieter”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

It's very nice small hotel in one of most quieter and magical quarter in Prague. The view and the restaurant is magnificent, breakfast is extremely good (€12-15 per person extra, but it worth it). It have all amenities of modern hotel (and all of them working well) yet it's very small and charming place with more personal spirit.

My only negative is that even it's on very quiet street, in-house loudness is quite big. You can hear neighbouring TV, voices, chairs moving, cleaning restaurant in the night/preparing in morning etc. But if you don't mind this, it's one of the best places to stay in Prague.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    66
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
215
1,168
58
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Today is my second day at the Golden Well Hotel and I must say that the overall experience here is out of this world, my room is spacious, quite and charming, The bed and pillows are truly sublime, the bath large and hot, dressing area and closets are oversized and the service could not be better by any stretch of the imagination. The hotel driver picked me up at the airport in a beautiful new Mercedes, the front desk staff spent nearly one hour with me on an orientation that included a tour of the fabulous restaurant. I had a great dinner last night in the hotel only to be followed by a sensational breakfast today. It is not often that you consider the risk of being so spoiled - I had to ask myself if I had sinned by being so spoiled at U Zlate Studne? I consider myself to be extremely jaded and accustomed to the absolute best, but my standards just got higher after a few days at the Golden Well..

Robert Mann

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2011

This is absulutelly the best hotel in Czech Republic. My stay was soooo fantastic. Hotel staff were unbelievably professional, Grand deluxe room was gordeus, restaurant had best meals and the view.... was incredible... I can storongly recommend because this is really the best hotel that I have ever been in and I am looking forward to get back.
I felt like in fairytaile as a princess... just amazing experience!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sona12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I travelled to Prague personally to make a business trip to Brno, I was picked up in Prague by my business partner for a 2 hour drive south. I advised the hotel and asked for bus/train timetable for the return trip checking on how it would work coming back from Brno alone. I determined to take the 8pm train that would get me back to Prague around 11.30ish, as I wanted to make my way back to my wonderful hotel and bed after a few drinks with business colleagues. Unknown to me, after a few too many drinks in Brno, I boarded a train 4 hours later than expected and made my way back to Prague, unbeknownst that the hotel were concerned that I had not arrived by midnight so they sent out the hotel driver to the train station (both of them) to see if they could locate me. (they didnt).. I arrived back at the hotel around 4.30am to quick happy smiles from the team concerned for my safety (being a female business person travelling alone). The fact that they cared so much they sent out a hotel driver for me...was amazing to say the least. one night I wanted to watch a dvd and the receptionist suggested a few movies.. I watched all 3 and all were fantastic., The Ipod in the room is preloaded with fantastic music (I wish my collection was this good.. and the service and suprises continued.

When I asked what I could see, they had the smarts to ask me, what sort of things I like...why send me to something if I have no interest in it..they tailored 2 days of site seeing for me, included a few hip bars, some nice restuarants and a great walk.. and ensured I knew how to dial the hotel in case I got lost... PERFECT.. I did.

nothing is every too small, too mundane or too hard for these people... and they do it with a smile everytime. I will not ever go anywhere else when I go back to Prague. There is simply no need.

I am well travelled and have stayed in so many hotels many luxury and 5 stars..., nothing comes close to the Golden Well.. my only regret... not taking my partner.. it is the most beautiful city and the most romantic rooftop bar outside.. to watch the skyline by... they even supplied me a few blankets to snuggle under while I had my nightly glass of wine outside in the cold (with the heaters on and with my blankets it was just beautiful)..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lostinmanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This is one of the very best hotels I have stayed in. Mrs CW was enchanted!

U Zlate Studne is a small hotel made up of three old houses (Tycho Brahe once lived in one of them) high up underneath the castle walls in a very quiet nook of Mala Strana, with excellent views from the rooms and from the restaurant. It is perfect for a relaxing break, and it is very pleasant to be able to escape back to it after the bustle of the Old Town or the Castle.

The rooms and bathrooms are beautifully presented and kept spotless. The staff are superb, from the pick-up at the airport (barely more expensive than a taxi) to the welcome at check-in and right through the stay. Nothing is too much trouble.

There are all sorts of little treats - small things, but adding a good impression: nibbles and drinks in the lounge between 4 and 6; free bottles of water (replaced whenever emptied); little cakes from the restaurant by the bedside at night. And internet use is free!

Add to this one of the best restaurants (and best restaurant views) in Prague and you have perfection. The food at breakfast is superb, and dinner is worth every Czech Crown!

I had been staying at the Four Seasons earlier in the week for a business meeting. The Four Seasons is a great hotel. U Zlate Studne loses nothing in comparison and has an atmosphere lacking in a large hotel.

If all of this sounds effusive, it's because the place deserves it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The Golden Well is definitely in our top five hotels list. The view from our window (Grand Deluxe room 32) was simply stunning, staff displayed an impeccable level of service, the breakfast was truly delicious and the restaurant again offered the amazing view, the room was elegantly furnished as well as being warm and cosy (it was minus 15 degrees during out stay in Prague) and the location was excellent - right under the castle, even with its own private entry/path.
We loved the little flourishes involving food and drink such as an evening treat of a dessert morsel delivered to our room, complimentary drinks and canapes served in the lounge between 4 and 6 each day (the hot mulled wine was perfect after a long day of sightseeing) and a bottle of wine and cheese platter on check-in.
We truly loved our stay in such a beautiful, historic, romantic hotel and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in a once-in-a-lifetime kind of establishment to fully enjoy picture-postcard Prague!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle_Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Before booking 2 rooms at The Golden Well for 3 nights over the Christmas holidays, I researched the heck out of Prague hotels. I'm so glad that Tripadvisor reviews convinced me that this was the place to be. I want to retire here...renew my wedding vows here, eat my last meal on earth here...it's really that perfect. If you are lucky enough to find yourself planning a trip to Prague, you should look no further than The Golden Well for accommodations. I envy you!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Socalesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
2,971 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
2,428 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 670 in Prague
666 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing