We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great location”
Review of Betlem Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Betlem Club
Ranked #270 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2008

The Betlem Hotel is located in a quiet location in the very crowded old town of Prague.
I stayed in an attic room - quite charming - but if you are tall: ask for another room. It will be very hard for you to shower (if not impossible)! Rooms are clean.
Unfortunately the breakfast is very simple - too simple.
The price of the Hotel is very reasonable (66 euro for the attic room).

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LindaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2008

The Betlem Club hotel is ideally located in Prague. This hotel is within walking distance of just about everything you will want to visit. For those things a bit further out, public transportation is readily available. In regards to the hotel itself, I think it is a good value in spite of a few trade-offs.

On the positive note, the hotel includes an adequate free breakfast, just a notch below that of most moderate American hotels. Rooms are clean and spacious for the most part. I was a bit disappointed that the comfort of the beds was not what I am accustomed to in more moderate/higher level American hotels. However, this is a bit more of a value hotel and that is probably not a fair comparison. One thing to definitely keep in mind is that the attic rooms have very low ceilings, making them unacceptable for someone of even moderate height. Also, the low ceiling require a trade-off of tub with handheld shower rather than a standard shower. If you are close to six feet tall, I'd suggest you insure that you do not get an attic room.

The hotel has one public computer with internet and offers wireless internet service, but the wireless was not working during my stay and the hotel staff seemed to care little about this problem. This proved to be a major annoyance, so I would recommend asking the hotel prior to arrival if the internet access has been repaired as of yet.

There are definitely nicer rooms to be had in Prague at a higher price, but this hotel does offer a nice balance of location and value.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank sctraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We stayed at the hotel September 4th though the 6th 2007. The location of the hotel to Charles Bridge and the Old Town area was great. The hotel and rooms were clean. The breakfast was a good way to start your day. The free internet was a great perk. You can't beat the location. We would defiantly stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Great hotel in the middle of everything. Very close to Old Town and Charles Bridge. Clean, good breakfast and a very helpful and friendly staff.

No AC, so the summer is a little hot---You have to keep the windows open, so it gets a bit noisy. Other than that, it is a terrific hotel for what you pay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kalimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
17
Reviewed 5 February 2006

I stayed at the Betlem Club for a short break in January 2006. I stayed in one of the single attic rooms (the cheapest rooms). The room was small, but big enough for me and my suitcase, which was all it needed to be!

The bed was quite comfy, and my room had a fridge and a TV (albeit with limited English language channels). The shower in the en suite bathroom was really good. No tea-making facilities, which UK visitors might expect.

The receptionists and other staff were all very friendly and made me feel ever so welcome - on my first afternoon I asked for extra towels and these appeared very quickly in my room.

As several other reviews have said, the hotel's location is SUPERB - very central (and also very easy to find if you get lost in Prague's winding narrow streets, as there are plenty of brown road signs to direct tourists to the Bethlehem Chapel which is just over the square). Tescos is just five minutes walk away as well.

My one minor criticism of the hotel is that it got quite cold in my room in the evening/night (admittedly it was about minus-eight outside). However after long days exploring Prague on foot I didn't plan much apart from collapsing in bed so this wasn't a big problem.

All in all I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. I was a female travelling alone and felt completely safe and happy for my whole stay. I'll definitely be going back to the wonderful Prague, and staying at the Hotel Betlem Club!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2005

I recently spent some time in Prague at the Hotel Betlem. First thing that should be mentioned is the location. Couldn't be much better. Situated Very close to Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square & The Charles Bridge. The street it's on is fairly quiet too.

I stayed in a double room, which was modestly appointed, but more than adiquate. Modern bathroon, decent bed. The hotel staff was as helpful as I needed them to be and over all, I would recommend this hotel completely.

Their prices aren't the cheapest in town, but neither is the location. I never took a taxi or any other transportation, walking everywhere was easy.

Breakfasts were good, the room clean, and with bars, shops and places to eat a stones throw from the front door, very convenient.

As another review said that Prague was expensive, I wouldn't agree. It's not cheap, but compared to Rome, Paris or London...it's BY FAR the best deal going. One of, if not the most charming, romantic, fantastic cities in all of Europe. I can't wait to go back. Probably the best looking, most friendly women, over all, of any country I've ever been to as well. :)

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 5POINT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2005

Located in an old historic building across from the Betlem Church and next to a very cool bar, this hotel offers a true Prague experience. I stayed in the attic, which I found to be somewhat charming despite its small size and lack of A/C. The hotel offers a good complementary breakfast served in a historic dungeon room, where you will be joined by Americans and Europeans from all over. Overall, I found Prague to be rather touristy and overpriced in comparison to other European cities, so I didn't find this hotel to be an especially good value. But if you want to stay in a great part of town and in a place that offers an authentic experience, this is it.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank b2dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#86 of 646 in Prague
2,106 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
#199 of 646 in Prague
451 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bologna
Residence Bologna
#305 of 646 in Prague
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Prague Hotel
Old Prague Hotel
#271 of 646 in Prague
403 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#212 of 646 in Prague
553 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bene
Residence Bene
#242 of 646 in Prague
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betlem Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betlem Club

Address: Betlemske namesti 257/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £53 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Betlem Club 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the core of the historical centre of Prague. It is surrounded by the most important sights of Prague and places such as the Charles Bridge, the National Theatre, the Old Town Square, Wenceslas Square, the Royal Way and the Jewish Town. The hotel is in the quiet surroundings of Bethlehem Square, just opposite the Bethlehem Chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Betlem Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betlem Club Hotel Prague
Betlem Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing