We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really loved it staying on the river.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Botel Admiral
Ranked #257 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“I really loved it staying on the river.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed for a couple of nights in this hotel in May 2011. It was my first time staying in Boat hotel and I really loved the experience. It was wonderful to wake up and see the river flowing just outside your window and the views of the bridge and buildings and churches on the other side of the river are really nice. If one likes rivers / water and staying in a different type of accomodation - this is really the place to stay in Prague. On my part I was delighted.

Location: very good. It is of course on the river. It is close to public transportation (metro and tram) but if one does not mind to walk for 15-20 minutes by the river, one would easily arrive in town center by foot. The area is quiet and beautiful. It was nice to walk around and there are also many cafes, restaurants and a big shopping mall 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Rooms: they are standard boat cabis which meants not very large. I stayed alone in the room, so there was definitely enough space. However, even for two people it is ok to sleep there.

Breakfast: was my favourite part. The restaurant is on the top terrace with beautiful views of Prague. The choices are good and varied and the atmosphere in the dining room is very cheerful and cozy. The decorations are in "marine theme" and are very nicely done.
The restaurant seems popular with local businessmen for lunch / dinner. I ate there lunch which, though on a bit expensive side for Prague, was very very good quality. When I later moved to another hotel for corporate event I was attending, I still came back to this restaurant with my colleagues for lunch as I thought both food and ambiance were lovely and I wanted them to experience it.
Staff was nice and friendly; always greeting you and smiling.
My only little complaint was that there was no wi fi in the rooms, only in the hotel lobby. However, there were comfy arm-chairs and sofa there, and it was ok to stay for a while using their free wi fi.

Overall, I would definitely look this hotel up next time I am in Prague; as I had a very comfortable, pleasant and quite unique stay :).

Room Tip: The roomes facing the water / river should be lovelier than the ones facing the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anchi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    79
    44
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
94
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Admiral is located on the Vltava River in Prag. It is a stationary boat. There staff is friendly and helpful. The location cannot be beat. Within walking distance you will find the Charles bridge, Cross the bridge and you will be on the path to Old Town square, and then onto St. Wenceslaus Square. The shops and restaurants along the way are incredible. If you don't feel like walking back, you can hop on the metro or tram.

Room Tip: The rooms are small but quaint, ask fot the ones facing the river so you can watch the boats go by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CjayKotasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Great experience if you are looking to get away for a weekend with a special someone. However, it is a little far from the the center. But if you don't mind about a 15 to 20 minute walk, or catch a ride on local transportation, it's a great hotel. Breakfast was very good, and the restaurant wasn't bad either.

Room Tip: Hopefully you won't need anything from the front desk; it takes them forever to help anyone. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spdrcr_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Just returned from a two night stay in Prague, staying at the Botel Admiral. The Botel is in a fairtly central position, about 15 mins walk to the centre. The rooms, or cabins are small but fine for a couple of days, any longer and it would have been too small. My main complaint was that the room had obviously been let to smokers before us and smelt of cigarettes. Also the net curtains are either grey in colour or were dirty , However the price was fine, food fine and staff were OK.

The friend I travelled with had been to Prague twice before, once 8 years ago and once 5 years ago and she could not believe how the prices had shot up so massively. Drinks in most bars were as dear , or even dearer than back home, she said this was vastly different to her previous stays. I too, felt drinks were very expensive, as were taxis and food etc. I dont mind paying a fair price but we frequently felt a bit ripped off at paying at least £5 a drink and £10 for a short taxi ride.

Prague is a beautifil city with loads to see and do, we were unlucky with the weather, it was freezing and exceptionally poor for june, but that is no-ones fault. The botel is fine for a cheap place to stay, but is by no means luxurious. A good bar that was fairly priced in the square is Kamenny Stol, but the irish bar called Che's was a total rip off, we paid £20 each for about 5 drinks and the girl got really stroppy because we didnt tip her. She made us sit in a seat we didnt want and to share a table with strangers who blew smoke in our faces all night. We were watching England play so didnt want to leave and look for another bar until after the match, but it was a bad choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We first came to Prague in May 2007, and we were recommended Botel Admiral for accommodation. A friend of ours had stayed there and was very satisfied. From the very first moment we felt warmly welcomed, and all the staff was very kind. Unfortunately we had only planned a 4 day long stay in Prague, but it worked as an appetizer – we wanted more.
In May 2008 we returned to Botel Admiral for 5 days, and again we really felt good during our stay there. We had a bigger cabin this time, and we enjoyed all the facilities on board; we spent many hours on the deck terrace, and in the restaurant we had almost all our meals. Another good holiday.
We shouldn’t have been to Prague in 2009 – but we found ourselves standing in the reception again in June, and this time we had an apartment. We had booked it for 3 days, prolonged to 5, to 8, to 10 – and left after 11 days. It simply became “a holiday that we didn’t want to get home from” as a Danish travel agency says. We felt so good there, and we got to know some from the staff (restaurant and reception) and it was not easy to decide to go home.
In 2010 May we returned again – this time to celebrate a birthday. We brought our family for four days, and they felt the same about Botel Admiral as we do. There is a relaxed though professional atmosphere on board, and we all felt taken care of. It’s a sum of many small things; it’s nice to be recognized and the receptionist remembers the room number. It’s nice to be asked, if the day has been good. It’s nice to feel, that you are somebody – not just anybody. It’s nice to get a smile and a friendly word with the staff in the reception and in the restaurant. It’s nice.
When our family went back after four days, we stayed for another 7 days – again a holiday that we “didn’t want to get home from”.
So - we can definitely recommend Botel Admiral!

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonehovedet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

the boat is very central in prague and is very easy to acess all the main sights via walking or tram, the staff on the front desk very very friendly very happy to help, suggested tram routes and provided taxi service and tram pass at very reasonable rates. the rooms were very cramped and very dated, there was also an unpleasent smell as the previous guests had smoked in the room, the hotel is all smoking so when arriving back home i noticed all my clothes smelt of smoke. the food in the hotel resturant was lovely except the breakfast which was truely aweful, again the resturant was a smoking resturant which is not ideal. the clenlyness of the hotel varied, the windows in all cabins were disgusting, i imagine they r difficult to clean, there were also dust and cobwed issues in the room, the bathroom was fairly clean, again dated, very very crammed, the towels were replaced daily however the bedding was not changed for the duration of our four night stay. i would reccmnend this hotel as a cheap base for visiting prague, if u intend to spend time in the hotel this is not the hotel for u, views are reasonable but better at other botels.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy280789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

We stayed at the Admiral Botel as a part of a package deal. The guests seemed to be mainly German, Czheck and Scandinavian. The location is very good with just a few hundred meters to the main sights of interest. Trams and subway stations are close at hand, (use the "Andél" or "Karlovo náméstí" stations). The neighbourhood surrounding the hotel has a few mini market shops but the restaurants are located at the other side of the river (which only takes about 2 minutes to cross). The Hotel itself is a typical 3 out of 5 star Hotel. The included breakfast is very nice with 4 types of bread, sausages, 3 types of cheese, milk, orange juice, iced tea, coffee, eggs, vegetables, buttermilk serial and fruit. The restaurant has a nice view and a fresh feel to it. The tv has 3 czheck channels, 3 german ones and english speaking CNN. The staffmembers are so so, except for Tony who's great, you can even buy tram and metro tickets from him directly. The only downside to the Hotel is the lack of roomservice and the very dirty windows of the hotel rooms which look like old train-windows (looked a bit moldy to me).
Also, people talking in the hallways are easily overheard since the walls are quite thin. However the Hotel is a quiet one, and people above 35 seem to be in the majority, so the guests tend to be of the quiet type. The rooms are cleaned daily but the cleaners seem to overlook the art of vacuming. You get a bar of soap and towels with the room, but that's it. Enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — Price and View
  • Disliked — The Windows
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingNormands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Botel Albatros
Botel Albatros
#291 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Botel Matylda
#56 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Praha 8
Alwyn
Alwyn
#204 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#562 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Coronet
Hotel Coronet
#276 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Praha 5
D'Angelo Hotel
D'Angelo Hotel
#336 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Admiral

Property: Botel Admiral
Address: Horejsi Nabrezi 627/15A, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Admiral 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Botel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Admiral Prague
Botel Admiral Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing