We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever. Blood on blankets.”
Review of Botel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Botel Admiral
Ranked #248 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever. Blood on blankets.”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I went for some days to Prague recently with my girlfiend(NOV 2013) and I had a very bad experience. The botel was not very well located, is very old and it looks like everything have dust. The room was tiny, as you are in a boat of course; but even tho that, we agreed to stay a night.

The worst part comes after, we woke up on the morning and when we took off the blankets we realized they had plenty huge spots with dry blood. My girlfriend almost puked.

I went right away to the reception and the guy instead of saying sorry said "Well, we're going to change the blankets, but this things occurs everywhere". When I argued about that answer he kept saying that "he has been on 5 stars hotels along the world and that is normal". He kept defending his point and even not exclude us the charges of the night.

It was the worst experience I've ever had in any hotel and I've also been in either 2 or 5 stars hotels and this don't happen. And if we had the bad luck to happen, we expect a better answer from the people in charge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdeasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    89
    53
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
105
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

It is not 15 minutes walking, is mora than that. You have to walk for not friendly plces, a little dark. The service was not friendly, 2 of 3 persons in the front desk were not polite. The room was smal and i liked it, but the bathroom was not so clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serika1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very plush reception, restuarant and bar area giving you the feeling that you could be on an old fashioned cruise ship. Think Titanic. However the actual bedrooms did not match and ours was quite frugal. Warm, clean and comfortable it was but there was no feeling of the luxury outside of our door. The thick carpet in the corridor was replaced by a thin blue effort. The net curtains were poorly fitted and the curtain did nothing to stop the light pollution at night. The towels were of a good quality but we only got a small bar of soap each. No little bottles of shampoo etc. Therewas no hair dryer either. I have received better supplies in a lower rated hotel so it was a surprise. Being woken by the sound of ducks was fun in the morning. Breakfast was good offering continental, cereal and poached eggs and sausage as choices. We walked easily to the funicular, castle and Charles bridge but there is also a good choice of trams and metro at the top the one of the side streets as well as a small shopping centre. We didn't have an evening meal there as it was a little too posh for us. I wanted to experience cafe/pub life and chose to eat at a local pub selling homely dishes. Be wary of changing money. Always ask how much you will get before you hand your money over as I was legally conned by Western Union in Republic Sq. the advertised rate was 26 crowns but I only received 19 to the euro as I was changing a 'small' amount (100 euros).

Room Tip: Room 8 looks toward the far side of the Vltava rather than the road and brewery
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The service on board has been excellent starting from the staff at the reception to the waitresses and cleaning staff. Always friendly, polite and careful.

Though the rooms aren't as big as normal hotel rooms due to the fact that the hotel is a boat, they've used the space wisely. There is enough space for storing.

The botel isn't moving as you would expect. We went in December and the heating on board was very good.

During a 15 minutes walk to the city centre, one is surrounded by a beautiful old architecture.

For a very decent price, you get a very high quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wissembourg, France
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

If sleeping on a boat is one of your things, then definitely go there. Being a big boat it won't rock too much but will still keep the cabin its authentic atmosphere. Rooms are fine although not excessively big, as a cabin would be. The restaurant on top is rather quaint and we were a bit disappointed by the buffet breakfast that was supposed to be fantastic - then i suppose you should not arrive too close to closing time, otherwise there won't be much left. Apart form this all is very neat and quiet and nicely situated, next to an antique and organic market on the other bank and within walking distance to all city jewels. Also parking is free.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laure-Bülent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great location and a great place to stay. Swans sailing past the cabin window in the morning was a great start to the day! Buffet breakfast was nice. Cabins were a good size, with ensuite bathroom. Great view of the river from the cabin.

Room Tip: Cabins facing the river have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curlynettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a fantastic stay from start to finish. We used airport collection service, which worked wonderfully as our flight was delayed by a couple of hours, but our smiling, happy driver was ready & waiting for us. The Botel is very comfortable, rooms/cabins are as you would expect on board a boat (compact & bijou!), public areas were beautiful and all staff were very helpful & friendly. Would definitely recommend a visit

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Botel Albatros
Botel Albatros
#308 of 649 in Prague
623 reviews
Botel Matylda
#55 of 649 in Prague
561 reviews
Praha 8
Alwyn
Alwyn
#180 of 649 in Prague
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#354 of 649 in Prague
332 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#558 of 649 in Prague
278 reviews
Praha 5
Wellness & SPA boutique Hotel pod Lipkami Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Admiral

Property: Botel Admiral
Address: Horejsi Nabrezi 627/15A, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Admiral 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Botel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Admiral Prague
Botel Admiral Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing