We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in lovely location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botel Racek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Botel Racek
Ranked #572 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel in lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We got this hotel as part of a deal well what can I say food lovely staff helpful and friendly they couldn't do enough for us will be returning

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dazburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    72
    82
    45
    43
See reviews for
40
128
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

myself and my fiance booked this botel as we just really wanted a place as a pitstop to sleep at night. the view was nice from the window as you could see swans and ducks. however we stayed at the botel for 4 nights and our bed sheets were not changed onece...:( however there had been a person in everyday to clean the room so dont understand why this wasnt done. we was a bit dissapointed with the breakfast as there was not much variety, we thought we'd give the breakfast a second chance the next morning, we went up to the breakfast room at about half eight there was no where to sit because the tables hadnt been cleared we stood there for a while but no-body came so we left. overall 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

7 - 12 Sept 2011
As my title says, I might have been able to give a better raiting if we stayed 2 nights but this place really started to grate on my nerves.
We had a top floor room (there were 2 floor below us), non-smoking, so facing away from the river towards the shore. BUT, the whole place is smokey! We were in room 7 and the window opened nice and wide to help clear the smoke.
We were interested in staying on a boat and realized that the rooms would be small. They were in fact pretty small, the bathroom however was VERY small. The shower is extra small with small toilet and small sink. The fan comes on automatically and is very loud. Taking a shower was challenging in the provided space and left water around the bathroom.
Our room faced the gangway entrance to the botel - the area was quiet but there were people on the gangway smoking and chatting all night, not to mention the loudest ducks we have ever experienced. Sound travels from other rooms, you could hear their bathroom fans being turned on and the windows opening. My Mom had a hard time sleeping with the noise, but not a problem for me.
The TV did not work, nor did we ask for someone to fix it.
Carpet needed cleaning in our room.
Breakfast was also wearing. The coffee, as mentioned here in other reviews, is AWFUL! Ick! It is a murky brown colour and tastes awful. They also supply water, some sort of juice (only one of four days it was orange juice, so we brought our own), tea, milk and cream. Runny yogurt, a cheese and a cold meat, bread, jam and butter, cereal. People bring their own extras like nutella and juice.
Breakfast tables were not well cleared and when people cleared their own tables the table they put their dishes on was seldom cleared away.
I liked the location and the ease of getting to the Charles bridge or Wenselas (spelling?) square - either about 15 minutes and only one tram away.
Chose a different hotel - you can do better than this place!

Room Tip: Choosing a different hotel will get you a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We choose this hotel for the low price and location. It was in a boat , something that excited us. We are family with two teenagers an booked a 4 bed room. The room was small and the toilet more smaller. They gave us a room looking in the back side . Out of the window there was only a smal lake with dirty water.
The personel was rude an unkind. I wante to buy an all day ticket for the transportation an they wanted to charge me 130 coronas while the oficial price is 110. The exchange of money is a real stealing. They sell 20 coronas for 1 € and when i came to pay for the room they wante to count 27 coronas for 1 €.
The breakfast was midle but we have to wait a lot if a pate got empty. The bar-restaurand was closed the most hours of the day. The internet is available only in the loby an if you want to see something you must be crouded with many others in a small table.
I dont recomend it if you have a litle more money to spend or you are a backpacker to go only for sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maik49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Our stay in this hotel was a tragedy... We were offended as soon as we walked in to this place. Very narrow minded staff made comments about age difference between me and my husband. When we walked into our room, there were coffie stains all over the place, dirty douvet and mouldy bathroom. There was even a green mould over the toilet roll! Extremely unhigenic. For so called warm breakfast (every day the same for 5 days - bread, ham, cheese, egg) the only warm thing was coffie which was so weak and decafeinated didnt remind coffie at all. Neither by smell nor by colour. Whenever we have asked the staff about anything (like a real coffie) they were extremely rude and unhelpful. The only nice person was the chef. Except him no one ever smiled on us, and the staff made us feel like intruders. Wouldnt reccomend to anyone unless you want to experience hollidays from hell! Youth hostels have better standards.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Someone2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Upon arrival the lady on reception did not seem to know what she was doing and appeared very surprised to see us! She could only offer us a smoking 'double' room or a non smoking twin (though I did specify double with easytobook.com). We regrettably chose the smoking double as my girlfriend and I like to share the same bed. The room stank horribly and turned out to have 2 single beds pushed together, with 2 single sheets! (Also I should mention the sheets were disgusting and didnt even fit the beds)
The staff were unfriendly and rude, the night barman constantly looked very unhappy to have to get up from watching television with his friend and serve us a drink, and one evening we caught him pointing and shaking his head at us to what looked like the hotel manager (who also stared and scowled) when we asked for a dessert menu after a meal!!
The hotel staff didn't provide enough bowls/plates or cutlery at breakfast, but that didn't matter too much as there was never enough milk for all the guests, so we couldn't have cereal anyway. Breakfast was supposedly served until 10am, however the staff started taking the food away at 9.45am which left some guests visibly disappointed and probably hungry.
After the extra charge to our bill ripping us off, this is definitely a hotel to avoid in our opinion

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reemslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, NZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

the toilet/ shower smelt like sewerage and wafted into the room, my mattress and linen were covered in gross stains and there was dirt and dust and dead bugs on the floor. The staff were really rude and extremely unhelpful. The room rates were really cheap so I guess you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michellebarrry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#247 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Praha 10
Hotel Slavia
Hotel Slavia
#530 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#588 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#576 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#457 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Botel Albatros
Botel Albatros
#300 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Racek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Racek

Property: Botel Racek
Address: Podolske Nabrezi 1180/5a, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Racek 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotelopia so you can book your Botel Racek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Racek Praha Prague
Botel Racek Praha Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing