We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Botel Racek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Botel Racek
Ranked #581 of 672 Hotels in Prague
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

After having arrived 6 hours later than planned due to adverse weather conditions, I was still able to eat in the restaurant which is open from 11am to midnight as was the bar. Good choices of traditional Czech food on the menu, well presented and service was very efficient. If you want burgers or typical English food then you won't find them on the menu. But be adventurous try something new, you ARE in a foreign country, beef or pork are still the same the world over.
Having been on other boats/cruise ships, the cabin was much bigger than expected, very comfortable, warm, with lots of storage space, TV and separate bathroom with shower. What more could I want? Except a kettle for making tea as I am a tea addict. But I soon got over that as every evening I would take my thermos flask to the bar where it was filled with tea so that I could take it back to my cabin.
The staff were always very friendly and their English was excellent which didn't stop me trying to use the very few words of Czech I had learned like "please", "thank you", good morning" ...
I found out a lot of information from them in particular about what to see, using the trams for which you can buy tickets from reception. There is a tram stop a short walk from the boat, the service is very frequent and the no17 will take you into the Old Town which is an excellent starting point to get to know Prague. Don't forget to buy a return ticket for later in the day! On my first day I forgot the return journey and it was a long walk back from the Castle but in the snow and walking by the river I was able to take a lot of night shots and some of them turned out really well.
Would I stay here again, a resounding YES.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
4 Thank Footloose101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    72
    83
    47
    44
See reviews for
41
130
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Went with friends for a 3 night city break. Rooms are small, clean,and practical. If you go on holiday and spend all your time at the hotel this is not the place for you, but if you want a good cheap comfortable base for your visit to prague then it is perfect. We bought 72 hour public transport passes for about £12 and used them to the max.
We found the staff to be friendly and attentive throughout our stay. We could not fit all the sights of prague into a three day trip and if IWe go back we would definately return to the Botel Racek

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martinjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

About an hours walk from the main touristy bits if Prague (charles bridge, old town square ext) but a pretty quick tram if you want, would be a pretty decent location if it wasn't for the fact that intermittently the river stinks, like practically retching stinks. Luckily you only notice this on the walk to and from the hotel, and in the "bathroom".

Rooms are tiny, bathroom Is tiny. A twin room consists of 1 double bed, which was actually pretty comfy. The heating comes on automatically in the night, with no way of switching it off which means you have to open the window and be greeted by all the wonderful city noises.

Service is poor at best but from what I read up about Prague hospitality its what I expected. We decided to eat dinner on the first night in the hotel, I ordered a chicken based meal, and the chicken was pink through and through. When we went to pay our bill there staff were sleeping/napping in the bar area on the sofas, and one was asleep there in the morning when we came down for breakfast.

Breakfast is barely continental, its cereal, bread, cheese and meats.

The people on the main desk are exceptionally moody.

And there were barely any other guests at the hotel

If you are the treat this as a b n b then its ideal really, as a hotel its pathetic.

Luckily when we travelled we literally used it for breakfast and sleeping so it didn't really affect out trip to much.

If your after cheap and cheerful go for it.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bow-peep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

I was traveling with a friend to Prague and other sites in Czech Republic. We booked the hotel because of low price and alleged location near the city center. Well, the price was indeed low, but certainly not good value. Well, it was about 15 min tram ride to the center.

The room that we stayed in was small and had no air conditioning at all. All the time the air was thick with humidity and we could feel our clothes getting slightly wet just keeping them in the room. There were no proper curtains to prevent the morning sun from boiling us alive, waking us up at 7 am every morning we stayed in the hotel. It was like staying in a tiny greenhouse with no plants.

All the noises from the hallway and other rooms can be heard loud and clear in to the room we stayed in.

The breakfast was a joke. If you want to start your day with lousy coffee and dirty tableware listening loud disco music in a hotel "restaurant", then head to Botel Racek for a great start for a day.

We asked the hotel staff, whom mostly were not even polite let alone helpful, if we could get proper curtains. They said no, because it would cost money. The shower and toilet facilities were tiny, poor and the faucet was malfunctioning and spaying the water all over the place. There were no hand towels in the room.

Only thing that saved us from completely destroying our holiday was the time we spent at other locations in Czech Republic. After four nights with same problems and flu like symptoms we both caught during our stay in Botel, we decided to leave, and found ourselves a better place nearer the city center and at almost the same price.

I wonder how the Botel Racek has guts to call themselves a 3 star accommodation. On the other hand I do not wonder at all why the hotel reception guy took the payment right at the moment we checked in. I won`t make same mistake again. I know that standards differ between the countries, but for what it`s worth, we are in EU! In my country you this kind of place would be immediately closed.

So, there are other, much better places to stay all around Prague with reasonable price, and I don´t mean anything luxyry. Just human friendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KardeHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

There are no double rooms - meanwhile we booked it! The room is small, with old furniture. The bathroom is a joke! If you go to tha bar, they' ll ignore you. The breakfast is disgusting! So, it's not a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAgent24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

I really recommend this hotel for anyone visiting prague. Prices r very good. very nice view. 10 minutes with tram and u r in the center

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodomoriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polkowice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

I recommend Botel Racek. Rooms were very clean, there was enough place inside for basic needs. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Going by foot to the Karlov Most takes about 30 minutes along the river and it's very nice walk. There are also trams very near to the Botel and it takes about 10 minutes by tram.
Staying on the Botel Racek is cheaper than in the City Centre. Prices are low, but quality of this place is enough and I plan to back there next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#260 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#584 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#464 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Hotel Slavia
Hotel Slavia
#545 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#591 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Botel Albatros
Botel Albatros
#302 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Racek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Racek

Property: Botel Racek
Address: Podolske Nabrezi 1180/5a, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #581 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Racek 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botel Racek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Racek Praha Prague
Botel Racek Praha Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing