We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean affordable outstanding location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Pension Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Church Pension Prague
Ranked #63 of 368 Prague B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean affordable outstanding location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

In 2009 I led a group of college students and stayed at this pension. This month I returned with my wife and colleagues. Nothing has changed! This Pension is clean and has affordable rooms. The location is ideal - a few blocks from the subway. However, the best aspect about this pension is the manager, Jaroslav. This Christian man went above and beyond what Americans would consider hospitality. I have also lived in Czech for a year and truly value individuals like Jaroslav. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
15
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The location was very good, very close to everything Tram and Metro, restaurants and the main shopping street also the old town square all are reachable on foot. It was my 1st time in Prague its really charming city you can reach all main attractions on foot even the castle.

We had an apartment for four persons with two rooms for five nights, I was expecting to clean the room on 2nd day but nothing happened even in the 3rd day when I asked for it they informed me that they will do but when back I found only clean towels with the old used ones and they just clean the garbage. When I complained they informed me it’s their policy and they are pension not hotel. My reply was it’s not logic!!but OK as it’s your policy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is very well located, closed to the Tram stop, next to many stores, restaurants and from 10 to 15 minutes walk from the downtown. The staff is very friendly. In the same street you will find the restaurant "U Balbínů" and there you can have good beer and good food!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScepticalChymist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stay here when i was in Praque and wanted a inexpensive accomodation, since i was travelling by myself and would be walking outside most of the time. The people who worked there were really friendly and helpful. The room is very simple with windows and the bed was comfortable. The shared shower is often wet but that is probably due to people who dont know any better when sharing a common space. I felt secure and the best part it is so centrally located that you can visit many areas of Praque from here. The tramways are a couple minutes nearby.. .I would definitely recommend this place if you are on a budget but also want to be near all the sights.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeninbrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is right near the heart of the city, only a few minutes walk and you are at Charles Bridge. The room was clean and comfortable, it had its own shower with a shared toilet. the shower needed updating as the shower head didn't fit on the wall so you had to balance it on the tap. Also the manager is quite a character and very helpful. Excellent value for the location. We didn't have the breakfast. The room was nice and cosy and it was very quiet so we had a great sleep. Also we got a set of keys each which gave us more freedom if one person wanted to go back before the other. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Do not go to Church Pension if you are looking for luxury hotel. But if you just need a clean, quiet place to stay in a very good location, then this is your choice. Also the staff is very, very friendly and beds are really good.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to take room with shared bathroom. At least at the time of our visit we always found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We flew in/out of Prague, so we stayed at Church Pension at the beginning and the end of our trip, and we wouldn't change it.

The hotel is very modest, but clean. The rooms are comfortable and the beds are amazingly firm. The bathrooms and showers were always clean. One of our 2 rooms had its own shower, so you only shared the toilet. It is on the 4th &5th floors of a building, where the entrance is within a courtyard. There are two gates to get to the courtyard (which are locked later at night, and watched by a security guard 24/7). There is a code to one gate and a key to the other, which also unlocks the building. Each floor has a lock, but uses your room key. In total, in the middle of the night, there are 5 locked doors from the street to your bed, which you need 2 keys and a code. Midday, you just need your 2 keys to unlock 2-3 doors.

The Pension is family run and is, I believe, a non-profit for their church. That being said, they were welcoming to all guests. The family was so nice to us, and very upbeat. They were helpful and great hosts.

The location is a 10-15 min walk walk to many locations. It was easy to get to the underground, but difficult to find the first time. With my iPhone, I was able to look it up on my map, and then, even without my data turned on, I could use the GPS to find my way around. (Just look it up so the area caches when you have wifi)

The price was great and I would stay here again.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Aparthotel Davids
Aparthotel Davids
#30 of 368 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Praha 8
Davids Apartments
Davids Apartments
#28 of 368 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Unie Pension
Unie Pension
#87 of 368 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Oasis Prague Apartments
Oasis Prague Apartments
#24 of 368 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
HOLIDAY HOME - Hotel, Pension
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Pension Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Pension Prague

Property: Church Pension Prague
Address: Jungmannova 22/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Church Pension Prague 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Church Pension Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing