We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast NOT fresh, and very overpriced hotel”
Review of Clementin Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clementin Old Town
Ranked #115 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast NOT fresh, and very overpriced hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Our first night was terrible - we were in room 103 with a huge generator on the wall facing our window. The loud motor came on every 2 minutes for 60 seconds and this continued throughout the night. We were shattered the following morning and asked to change rooms. Our new room was right up in the attic - quieter, but again with no view other than the backs of other houses - it felt like we were in a prison, because although the room was clean, it felt very small and basic. Also, if there had been a fire, we would have had no chance at all of escape.

Breakfast was a joke. Tinned pineapple in syrup on day 1. Left over tinned pineapple again on day 2. Tinned peaches added to the left over pineapple on day 3! Wrinkly old apples and oranges were the only 'fresh' fruit on offer, and we were there for 5 nights. Those same old apples and oranges didn't change at all throughout our stay, and no one ate them because of course they were wrinkly. Fresh salad was a small plate of cucumber, tomato and yellow pepper, and by day 3 the yellow pepper had turned brown on the edges, and it was STILL being put out!

Out of desperation my husband and I went out and bought our own fresh fruit at the market to have for breakfast. Breakfast consisted of cheap jams, juices and cuts of ham and cheese; boiled eggs which were added to left over eggs from previous days; scambled egg which was rubbery and dry. Old breakfast cereals which were just topped up, rather than throwing out the old cereal first and bread... need I say more?

For the price we paid, we expected far more, certainly not this stingy and mean offering. The dining room was small, dark and depressing and open to the kitchen where we could see pots, pans and plastic containers as we tried to eat our breakfast. The receptionist made no effort to be friendly and approachable, and we were woken every night by crouds of drunken revellers, so even though the location was central, it backfired because of the nightly disturbances.

We finished our trip in the south at the beautiful Stekl Hotel in Hluboka, which looked like a chateau. It was the same price as the Clementin, but our room at the Stekl was huge and beautifully furnished and decorated; the breakfast was a banquet, and the hotel staff were incredibly kind, helpful, and friendly!!

Our advice - avoid the Clementin, it is a waste of money!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruhi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    132
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
42
206
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Great little hotel: location couldn't be better for exploring Prague on foot. Very reasonably priced, with a good buffet breakfast. Staff all excellent: polite, helpful and cheerful. Small but comfortable rooms; you know it is small when you book, but the location and the staff more than make up for the lack of space. Would definitely stay there again if we return to Prague.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

our room is a two storey one located on the 2nd floor. very clean and well-decorated room. perfect if you re looking for a hotel that makes you feel like home.

bed sheets r sooo fresh and clean with a lovely floral scent.

outside is a lovely little garden. i jus keep my door wide open to enjoy the fresh air.

staff r helpful and friendly. wifi connection is perfect.

one downside is that there is no lift. you have to carry ur luggage to climb up staircases. but this is not a problem at all when other things are sooo satisfying. :))

Helpful?
Thank yanyeelucia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed for four nights in March.
When we arrived we couldn't believe how nice the room was for the price we paid.
We had a lovely view over the street from the second floor.
Breakfast was good, The lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful with idea of places to visit and directions.
If you stay here you won't be disappointed,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevanjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Fantastic place to stay, very nice decor, great location very friendly and helpful staff. Great buffet breakfast, for a fair price. Great attention to detail with quality fixtures and chattels. Location you could not get any better right next to the metro and old Town Square. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbyJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The Hotel Clementin was very clean, comfortable and so close to main attractions in Prague, breakfast was very basic, lady at reception very helpful marking out on our map suggestions of where to visit. Should we visit Prague again we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Jane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Wonderful hotel, very nice decor,great location in the center of the old town. Friendly staff, very friendly service, delicious breakfasts and a superb location for a very fair price. I would definitely book this hotel again if I ever return to Prague!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiseleRoosLaDiosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Aurus
Aurus
#143 of 649 in Prague
365 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#135 of 649 in Prague
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 649 in Prague
466 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#206 of 649 in Prague
513 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#82 of 649 in Prague
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clementin Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clementin Old Town

Property: Clementin Old Town
Address: Seminarska 176/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#115 Family Hotel in Prague
#182 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clementin Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of the Hotel Clementin inherently belongs to Prague history, where the first mention dates back to 1360. Rarity is the minimum width of the house (3.28 m), making it the narrowest preserved house in Prague. Take the advantage of the ideal hotel location on the medieval Royal route, connecting the most beautiful places in Prague - Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Prague Castle for many centuries. In the heart of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Clementin Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clementin Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing