We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and conveniently located”
Review of Metamorphis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metamorphis
Ranked #182 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable and conveniently located”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Spacious accommodations and walking distance to most major attractions. We stayed in 2 different rooms with our 15 year old daughter - there was plenty of room and buffet breakfast that is included is extensive. The second room was like a mini apartment - the only drawback was no separate shower - the tub had a hand shower, but no curtain or other enclosure.

Hotel staff is generally nice and helped with restaurant and taxi arrangements.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanG9141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    223
    58
    18
    11
See reviews for
117
303
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great base for exploring, just off Old Town Square.
Quirky, atmospheric decor.
Very comfortable.
Lots of noise from nearby club/bar.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0ring0ldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccab00
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I can only add my voice to the stream of excellent reviews. We stayed in this hotel in December 2011 in a large room with our two boys aged 8. The room was spacious and warm without being stifling, the beds clean and comfortable. I appreciated the modern bathroom. The location is more or less perfect, and really very quiet for a city hotel. The staff were really lovely and the breakfast excellent. If I returned to Prague I would only consider staying in two places and this is one of them. I can heartily recommend it as a great value hotel that does not feel like a compromise. Stay there!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Hotel is located close to old square and provides easy acces to everything by foot. Our room was on the top floor and had a very small attic window and the elevator only went half way. The room was extreemly clean and very traditional.

Only down side was the noise in that you could hear everything going on at the Irish pub down stairs and city cleaning crew was loud every morning.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The rooms were old fashioned, but comfy and nice old fashioned. The rooms were very big and it had a large walk-in shower that looks like it was built out of a closet. It is situated in a courtyard with views of the the old town clock. The staff were friendly and helpful. Only a small walk to major sites. Plenty of cafes right out the hotel in the courtyard to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. Free computer in the lobby. The only negatives was giving my key back to the lobby everytime I left and parking is expensive.( $30 euro per night )

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Enjoyed a 4 night break in lovely prague. Chose this hotel from the excellent reviews, wasnt disappointed only thing to echo along with everyone else is the noise. We were in room 42 top attic. Fantastic views, very clean, well equiped with a fab shower. Very quaint hotel.
We booked a double delux but this was 2 singles, not a problem but when I asked for a double duvet this didnt materialise. Had to put something behind the shutters to stop them from opening and try to block out the noise.
Location couldnt have been better, right behind the clock tower. Breakfast was good, quite steep steps down but lovely cave effect feel. Good service.
Eating - we eat at the fish restuarant right next to the hotel, absol lovely - not cheap but worth it. We also eat at Bellevue (fabulous), Barrock (good) and Kampa Park (fabulous) very good food with excellent service - def recommend all.
Visted the castle (amazing views) the national gallery and the national musuem - unfortunatly the musuem was undergoing renovation so it had moved across the road - didnt rate this at all, only 3 rooms of not a lot really - least we only paid 80c. As with all other reviews, check your change, always ask for a bill and watch your belongings... We had no problems and I was glad we chose Prague and this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the court yard on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dancer202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Having travelled to Prague many times, I knew of the Metamorphis and its good reputation (and location) but had never stopped there until now.
Booking via their web-site, and for a period just before main season began, we got a fantastic deal, including a free pick-up from the airport.
The hotel is in the ungelt courtyard just behind Tyn Church, and about a minutes walk off the Old Town Square.
Each room is spacious, and individually decorated. My room had a fantastic view across Ungelt to the Church. My companions room faced in the opposite direction, with a view of the equally historic CHurch of St Jakob.

Staff on the reception desk were always friendly and helpful with any advice that was asked for.
I found the cleaning of the rooms to be very efficient, too.

Breakfast was served in the adjoining Italian Vabene restauant - an excellent buffet style arrangement with plenty of bacon, eggs, sausage, toast, fruit, cereals, yoghurt and pastries - all you can eat! One word of caution - the restaurant is in the cellar and is reached by a quite narrow spiral staircase with 30 steps which older travellers, or people with some physical disabilities may find awkward.

Rooms on the `church` side of the hotel also face the Chapeau Rouge night-club - However, it was reported to me that the windows kept out any noise from that. This may be more of a problem in Summer, when travellers may want to keep the windows open. However, the rooms do have air conditioning - though I had no need of it during my visit.
Rooms facing Ungelt may have to contend with the jazz and blues coming from the club across the courtyard - though it tends to finish before midnight, so may only bother those not out sampling Prague's nightlife!

My only very minor complaint would be that (in our rooms at least) there was no socket for an electric shaver in the bathroom.

As for the reviewer complaining about paying 750 kc (about £25) for a car to the airport - if he can find a taxi that does it for less than this, he's doing very well. We were charged 250kc to go about a mile across town.
In contrast, the hotel has a very sylish and comfortable car that made the journey a pleasure.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually furnished and decorated, so they're all different.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#311 of 649 in Prague
130 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#217 of 649 in Prague
334 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#73 of 649 in Prague
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
1,476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,261 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis

Property: Metamorphis
Address: Mala Shtupartska 636/5 | Tyn/Ungelt Square, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Family Hotel in Prague
#153 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#155 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metamorphis 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metamorphis is situated directly in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, in the UNESCO listed area of Ungelt. The building history dates back to 9th century, formerly the building served as custom house during a florishing business period.The hotel offers accommodation in 32 rooms incl. appartements and suites, which are sensitively built into the former spaces. All of the rooms offer luxurious equipment and some of them offer stunning view of the Ungelt and the Tyn church. All of them air-conditioned, accessible by lift. The hotel offers a restaurant „Vabene“. Parking in the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metamorphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Hotel Prague
Metamorphis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing